MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > General Discussion > General Discussion (Moto Related)
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 09-04-2007, 01:01 PM   #1
Metzzen1
Crazy Member
 
Metzzen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: pearland/friendswood
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 564

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
srad gix 6









Send a message via AIM to Metzzen1
Did my speed sensor go out?

04 gix 6. Everything was working fine before i went out of town. Fire the bike up today and the speedo is not working. all the guages work/lightup properly but the speedo always says 0. Ive checked the plug where the GPS connects to the harness and its fine. I didnt have time but tonight or tomoro i will pull off the cover and make sure the pickup is still ok. The gear position is still working cuz when i click it in neutral the light comes on. I think i may have a loose connection or melted through a wire somewhere, ill check when i have time.

do these sensors go out? if so can someone link me to where i can get one.
Metzzen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FI code is flashing / speed sensor problem flipstyledsm22 How To's and Q & A's 1 11-01-2011 07:36 PM
I see your high speed cornering and raise you a low speed corner... Hi-Side General Discussion (Moto Related) 22 07-22-2011 07:56 PM
GSXR Speed sensor rotor 03flamed600 General Discussion (Moto Related) 2 01-15-2009 05:35 PM
top speed run and high speed wheelies. CBR 1000 CarbonJames General Discussion (Moto Related) 4 08-19-2005 10:29 AM
Advertisement
Old 09-04-2007, 01:02 PM   #2
Solracer
MotoHouston.com Owner.
 
Solracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kemah Area
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 30,629

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2006 YZF600R
2003 Honda VFR800 VTEC



Member Garage


this actually happend to my car today...... then a CEL came on... WTF! lol
__________________
Chris
Solracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 01:02 PM   #3
level5
moving chicane
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 5,825












It could but hardly.
level5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 01:48 PM   #4
Ya Boy
Member
 
Ya Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: SW Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 92

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
Custom 99 R1









It's your speed sensor. Mine went out and it was the same symptons. I ordered one from Patrick @ Motorcycle Unlimited. Real easy to install.
__________________
[FONT="Comic Sans MS"]No need to stunt. Post up and play your position.
Ya Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 02:31 PM   #5
DvlRacer
cerca trova
 
DvlRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Feedback Rating: (53)
Posts: 16,644







Member Garage





If you don't replace it your bike won't gain any miles



Disclaimer: I do not reccommend doing this so your bike has less miles when selling it
DvlRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 10:58 AM   #6
Metzzen1
Crazy Member
 
Metzzen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: pearland/friendswood
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 564

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
srad gix 6









Send a message via AIM to Metzzen1
thats true dvl but i also wont know how much gas i have left....

ya boy, how much was it?
Metzzen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 11:34 AM   #7
Dub
Senior Member
 
Dub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 145












Paid $60 for sensor on my old scooter back in the spring. Another confirmation is that if you have self cancelling turn signals the cancel logic is typically generated from the speed sensor electronics.
__________________
Dub
Dub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 12:47 PM   #8
Metzzen1
Crazy Member
 
Metzzen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: pearland/friendswood
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 564

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
srad gix 6









Send a message via AIM to Metzzen1
i do not have self canceling turn sigs...... thanks tho

i guess ill get that sensor eventually....i mean its not causing any damage besides just not registering my mileage and stuff right? i have more important things to apply my $60 towards.... at the current moment.
Metzzen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 07:04 PM   #9
Slowkat
Nutty Buddy
 
Slowkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: North Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 791












Send a message via AIM to Slowkat
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solracer View Post
this actually happend to my car today...... then a CEL came on... WTF! lol

__________________
2003 GSX-R 750
Slowkat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy