Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back > News & Media > Motorcycle News & Media > Racing News
Forgot info?

Welcome to! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

FREE MH Decals by MAIL!


Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 02-28-2016, 06:22 AM   #1
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 140,828

WSB 2016 Phillip Island race one results

Rea starts off the 2016 season in Champion form

REIGNING World Superbike Champion Jonathan Rea has started off the 2016 season with an incredible last lap victory over Ducati rider Chaz Davies by 0.063 seconds.

In his title defence, Rea took on Kawasaki team-mate Tom Sykes as they went into the Southern Loop almost side-by-side on the first lap. The group was led by the team Kawasaki team-mates with Davies launching himself from ninth on the grid to join his Ducati team-mate Davide Giugliano and Honda rider Michael van der Mark in the battle at the front.

Aprilia's WSBK rookie rider Lorenzo Savadori rounded up the lead group of ten, but it wasn't long before the Yamaha duo of Sylvain Guintoli and Alex Lowes joined Honda rider and former MotoGP rider Nicky Hayden in the battle with an eight rider freight train.

Sykes lead the group as the Ducati's duelled behind him and Rea. Flying Dutchman van der Mark joined in the fun with Sykes losing the lead to Rea and unfortunately dropping back down the pack to join Hayden, Lowes and Guintoli. The two Ducati riders were left to tousle with van der Mark in the lead group of four headed by Rea.

Rea led the way as war began behind him with the lead group becoming a trio as Davies and van der Mark proved they were the only two capable of keeping at the pace of the reigning Champion. Holding the lead but with both riders behind breathing down his neck, Rea kept his cool in a game of cat and mouse. Davies got closer and started to pressure the Kawasaki rider as he looked for ways to pass.

On that last lap, Davies pounced down the hill from Lukey Heights to take the lead just before the final corner, but Rea took the outside line and blasted around the Ducati through the final turn with the two bikes straightening up on the Gardner Straight with almost nothing between them.

It was the flash of green over the line first, as Rea’s punt outside gave him the pace to nudge the nose of the Kawasaki over the line first, separated by only 0.063 seconds.

Van Der Mark came home third behind the two of them, recording his fourth career podium in only his second season, whereas team-mate Hayden struggled to keep the pace in the latter stages of his debut and dropped back to 9th.

Local hero Josh Brookes made up for a difficult qualifying session to come home 10th and 2014 WorldSBK Champion Guintoli was the first Yamaha home in 6th proving what great potential the YZF-R1 has.

Leon Camier carried through his incredible form from practice to end the race 7th on the MV Agusta with Jordi Torres on his Althea BMW behind him in 8th ensuring there were six manufacturers classified in the top 10.

Yamaha’s Lowes crash whilst circulating well within the top ten, but walked away with no injuries just disappointment.

Race one results:

1. Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki Racing
2. Chaz Davies GBR Racing Ducati +0.063
3. Michael van der Mark NED Honda Racing +0.487
4. Davide Giugliano ITA Racing Ducati +0.647
5. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing +3.429
6. Sylvain Guintoli FRA PATA Crescent Yamaha +3.510
7. Leon Camier GBR MV Agusta RC +10.721
8. Jordi Torres ESP Althea BMW +11.539
9. Nicky Hayden USA Honda Racing +15.534
10. Josh Brookes AUS Milwaukee BMW +23.239
11. Roman Ramos ESP GO Eleven Kawasaki +23.411
12. Lorenzo Savadori ITA IodaRacing Aprilia +24.012
13. Karel Abraham CZE Althea BMW +37.281
14. Mike Jones AUS Desmo Sport Ducati +44.720
15. Sylvain Barrier FRA Pedercini Kawasaki +46.357
16. Dominic Schmitter SUI Grillini Kawasaki +1:08.238
17. Saeed al Sulaiti QAT Pedercini Kawasaki +1:08.299
18. Peter Sebesteyen HUN Team Toth Yamaha +1:30.771
19. Imre Toth HUN Team Toth Yamaha +1 lap
20. Markus Reiterberger GER Althea BMW +1 lap

DNF. Alex Lowes GBR PATA Crescent Yamaha
DNF. Xavi Fores ESP Barni Ducati
DNF. Alex de Angelis RSM IodaRacing Aprilia

Related Content

WSBK 2015: Qatar race one results
WSBK 2015: Qatar race two results
WSBK 2015: Sepang race one results
WSBK 2015: championship standings after Sepang
WSBK 2015: Sepang race two results

NewsBot is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WSB 2016 Phillip Island race two results NewsBot Racing News 0 02-28-2016 06:22 AM
WSB 2015 Phillip Island race two results NewsBot Racing News 0 02-22-2015 06:10 PM
WSB 2015 Phillip Island race one results NewsBot Racing News 0 02-22-2015 06:10 PM
WSB 2015 Phillip Island race 1 results NewsBot Racing News 0 02-22-2015 05:30 PM
WSB 2014 Phillip Island race 2 results NewsBot Racing News 0 02-22-2015 04:44 AM

Thread Tools


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12 PM. is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy