Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back > News & Media > Motorcycle News & Media > Racing News
Forgot info?

Welcome to! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more


Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 10-25-2015, 11:50 AM   #1
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 141,844

MotoGP 2015 Sepang race results

A race that couldve ended Rossis Championship title hopes

REPSOL Honda’s Dani Pedrosa wins the Malaysian Grand Prix, but is overshadowed by Valentino Rossi and Marc Marquez’s dramatic clash.

Pedrosa domainted the race at the Shell Malaysia Motorcycle Grand Prix to take his 51st Grand Prix victory Jorge Lorenzo finishing ahead of his title rival Rossi, which has now reduced the Doctor’s lead in the standings to just 7-points with one race left.

Pedrosa led from the start to win by 3.612s in hot and humid conditions at the Sepang International Circuit, but his victory was overshadowed by an incredible battle and clash between Rossi and Marquez that saw the latter crash out.

Race Direction reviewed the incident over and over and both riders were called for a meeting. Rossi was given three penalty points and will now start the final race of the season from the back of the grid.

Pole man Pedrosa led into Turn 1 from his team-mate Marquez and then Rossi. Lorenzo, who was starting from 4th, dropped back to sixth in the first corner, but recovered to put a double pass on the Ducati Team GP15’s of Andrea Dovizioso and Andrea Iannone before setting his sights on Rossi whom he caught on the second lap.

On lap three Marquez ran wide at Turn 15 allowing Lorenzo into second. Marquez found himself in a daunting position, against the man who claimed he’s helping Lorenzo win the title and that man is Rossi.

While Pedrosa and Lorenzo focused on opening up a gap on their teammates at the front, Rossi and Marquez started one of the battles of the season – a battle which will go down in history as one of the most controversial.

The two riders overtook each other allowing the two men at the front to disappear off into the distance. While Pedrosa was managing the gap at the front beautifully, Lorenzo had opened up a lead of 2.7s over Marquez in third by lap seven.

Rossi once again passed Marquez for third at Turn 10 on lap seven. Marquez immediately fought back through Turns 11 and 12 with Rossi then responding through Turn 13 before appearing to run Marquez wide on the exit of Turn 14 and making contact with the Spaniard after a couple of looks.

Marquez crashed out and was forced to retire from an incident that left the reigning MotoGP champion furious. This incident and subsequent penalties have now had a huge implication on deciding where the 2015 title ends up with.

Oblivious to the drama, Lorenzo had managed to open up a 5.6s gap to Rossi. At the front Pedrosa had managed his tyres and pace perfectly, extending his advantage on almost every lap. He went on to take his second win of the season by over three and half seconds from Lorenzo, who made it four podiums in a row and 11 for the season by finishing in second.

Rossi crossed the line in third a further tend seconds behind Lorenzo, but will have an incredible fight on his hands to lift his tenth title at Valencia after the penalty.

Monster Yamaha Tech 3’s Bradley Smith crossed the line in fourth after he started from 9th on the grid. A great battle was had with his compatriot Cal Crutchlow on the LCR Honda for the honours of leading Satellite rider. Smith eventually got the better of the Honda when Cal ran wide at Turn 15 with 9 laps to go. Smith crossed the line almost five seconds ahead of Crutchlow in fourth.

Octo Pramac Racing’s Danilo Petrucci pulled off his best MotoGP result in the dry as he finished in sixth whilst Aleix Espargaro won the battle of the Suzuki’s as he beat his rookie team-mate Maverick Viñales to seventh by just over a tenth of a second.

Pol Espargaro crossed the line in ninth after racing through the severe pain in his neck which was caused by a crash in Warm Up and by Hector Barbera.

Stefan Bradl completed the top ten, his best result since he made his debut for the Aprilia Racing Team Gresini at Indianapolis.

Race results:

1. Dani PedrosaESP Repsol Honda Team 40:37.691
2. Jorge LorenzoESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 40:41.303 (+3.612)
3. Valentino RossiITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 40:51.415 (+13.724)
4. Bradley SmithGBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 41:1.686 (+23.995)
5. Cal CrutchlowGBR LCR Honda 41:6.412 (+28.721)
6. Danilo PetrucciITA Octo Pramac Racing 41:14.063 (+36.372)
7. Aleix EspargaroESP Team Suzuki Ecstar 41:16.981 (+39.290)
8. Maverick ViñalesESP Team Suzuki Ecstar 41:17.127 (+39.436)
9. Pol EspargaroESP Monster Yamaha Tech 3 41:20.153 (+42.462)
10. Stefan BradlGER Factory Aprilia Gresini 41:22.292 (+44.601)
11. Scott ReddingGBR Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS 41:25.381 (+47.690)
12. Yonny HernandezCOL Octo Pramac Racing 41:29.803 (+52.112)
13. Hector BarberaESP Avintia Racing 41:30.051 (+52.360)
14. Toni EliasSPA Forward Racing 41:31.310 (+53.619)
15. Alvaro BautistaESP Factory Aprilia Gresini 41:31.322 (+53.631)
16. Nicky HaydenUSA Aspar MotoGP Team 41:39.122 (+1:01.431)
17. Jack MillerAUS LCR Honda 41:40.519 (+1:02.828)
18. Mike Di MeglioFRA Avintia Racing 41:42.766 (+1:05.075)
19. Eugene LavertyIRL Aspar MotoGP Team 41:47.568 (+1:09.877)
20. Anthony WestAUS AB Motoracing 42:02.440 (+1:24.749)

DNF. Andrea DoviziosoITA Ducati Team
DNF. Marc MarquezESP Repsol Honda Team
DNF. Loris BazFRA Forward Racing
DNF. Andrea IannoneITA Ducati Team
DNF. Damian CudlinAUS E-Motion IodaRacing

Related Content

MotoGP 2014: Sepang race results
MotoGP 2015: Mugello race results
MotoGP 2015: Aragon race results
Sepang MotoGP test times - day two
Sepang MotoGP test times - Day 2

NewsBot is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WSBK 2015 Sepang race two results NewsBot Racing News 0 08-03-2015 03:52 AM
WSBK 2015 Sepang race one results NewsBot Racing News 0 08-03-2015 03:52 AM
WSB 2015 Sepang race two results NewsBot Racing News 0 08-02-2015 12:00 PM
WSB 2015 Sepang race one results NewsBot Racing News 0 08-02-2015 11:21 AM
MotoGP Sepang 2 Test Results 2015 NewsBot Industry News 0 02-26-2015 08:21 AM

Thread Tools


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 PM. is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy