Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back > News & Media > Motorcycle News & Media > Industry News
Forgot info?

Welcome to! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

FREE MH Decals by MAIL!


Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 10-11-2015, 01:50 PM   #1
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 141,807

MotoGP 2015 Motegi race results

Valentino Rossi extends his Championship lead

REPSOL Honda’s Dani Pedrosa has taken his 50th Grand Prix victory at Motegi in Japan with Valentino Rossi in second allowing the Italian to extend his lead in the Championship.

The race started on time despite a two-hour delay to the morning’s Warm Up Session, but the track remained damp meaning all riders went for wets.

Rossi took the lead into Turn 1 only for Lorenzo to take him through Turns 3 & 4 for the lead. Lorenzo had opened up a 2 second lead by the end of lap 3.

Rossi was left to fight off the Ducati Team GP15 of Andrea Dovizioso during the early stages, but Dovizioso started to experience front tyre issues as a dry line appeared on track and began to drop back quickly.

By now Pedrosa had made his way up into fourth and was by far the fastest man on the track. On lap 11 the Spaniard passed Dovizioso as the Italian ran wide and started to chase down Rossi in second, who had a 2.7s advantage.

Lapping 1.5s faster that the two Yamaha’s in front of him, Pedrosa caught Rossi with 9 laps to go whilst Lorenzo struggled with his front tyre as it started to rip to pieces.

Rossi and Pedrosa went to hunt down Lorenzo, who had a 2.7s advantage. Pedrosa overtook him on the straight before the start of lap 17 to take the lead and the race victory.

The Repsol Honda rider came from sixth on the grid to take his 27th MotoGP win and first win since Brno in 2014 on a drying track at the Twin Ring Motegi.

Movistar Yamaha’s Rossi crossed the line in second just over 8 seconds behind Pedrosa to take his 14th podium of the season.

Rossi has now extended his lead over his team-mate Jorge Lorenzo to 18-points in the World Championship standings. Lorenzo finished in third despite struggling with front-tyre wear late on in the race.

Pedrosa’s team-mate Marc Marquez crossed the line in a lonely 4th nursing the broken bone in his left hand over 27 seconds adrift of Pedrosa. Dovizioso, who despite his tyre issues, held onto fifth.

LCR Honda’s Cal Crutchlow came out on top by just 0.404s in an excellent battle for sixth against fellow Brit Bradley Smith on the Monster Yamaha Tech 3 to finish as the leading Satellite rider.

Crutchlow passed Smith on the last lap to secure sixth, his best result since Assen. Smith crossed the line in seventh to make it 21-point scoring finishes in a row, but dropped down to sixth in the standings, 2-points behind Dovizioso.

Wildcard Katsuyuki Nakasuga rode brilliantly to finish in eighth for the Factory Yamaha Team ahead of Hector Barbera on the Avintia Racing Ducati.

Scott Redding completed the top ten ahead of Aleix Espargaro in 11th for the Ecstar Suzuki squad.

Nicky Hayden, who will be jumping ship to World Superbikes next season, was the leading Open Class Honda in 13th, with his Irish team-mate Eugene Laverty crossing the line in 17th.

Jack Miller crashed twice during the race for the LCR Honda team and was forced to retire.

Race results:

1. Dani PedrosaESP Repsol Honda Team 46:50.767
2. Valentino RossiITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 46:59.340 (+8.573)
3. Jorge LorenzoESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 47:02.894 (+12.127)
4. Marc MarquezESP Repsol Honda Team 47:18.608 (+27.841)
5. Andrea DoviziosoITA Ducati Team 47:25.852 (+35.085)
6. Cal CrutchlowGBR LCR Honda 47:28.030 (+37.263)
7. Bradley SmithGBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 47:28.434 (+37.667)
8. Katsuyuki NakasugaJPN Yamaha Factory Racing 47:35.421 (+44.654)
9. Hector BarberaESP Avintia Racing 47:39.339 (+48.572)
10. Scott ReddingGBR Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS 47:40.888 (+50.121)
11. Aleix EspargaroESP Team Suzuki Ecstar 47:51.302 (+1:00.535)
12. Takumi TakahashiJPN Team HRC 47:51.978 (+1:01.211)
13. Nicky HaydenUSA Aspar MotoGP Team 48:02.028 (+1:11.261)
14. Yonny HernandezCOL Octo Pramac Racing 48:04.663 (+1:13.896)
15. Mike Di MeglioFRA Avintia Racing 48:06.188 (+1:15.421)
16. Alvaro BautistaESP Factory Aprilia Gresini 48:11.274 (+1:20.507)
17. Eugene LavertyIRL Aspar MotoGP Team 48:21.991 (+1:31.224)
18. Stefan BradlGER Factory Aprilia Gresini 48:37.600 (+1:46.833)
19. Kousuke AkiyoshiJPN AB Motoracing 48:50.839 (+2:00.072)
20. Toni EliasSPA Forward Racing +1 lap

DNF. Pol EspargaroESP Monster Yamaha Tech 3
DNF. Jack MillerAUS LCR Honda
DNF. Maverick ViñalesESP Team Suzuki Ecstar
DNF. Loris BazFRA Forward Racing
DNF. Andrea IannoneITA Ducati Team
DNF. Danilo PetrucciITA Octo Pramac Racing

Related Content

MotoGP 2015: Mugello race results
MotoGP 2015: Aragon race results
MotoGP 2014: Sepang race results
MotoGP 2014: Valencia race results
MotoGP 2015: Le Mans race results

NewsBot is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MotoGP 2015 Aragon race results NewsBot Racing News 0 09-27-2015 10:20 AM
MotoGP 2015 Assen race results NewsBot Racing News 0 06-28-2015 05:50 AM
MotoGP 2015 Catalunya race results NewsBot Racing News 0 06-15-2015 01:00 AM
MotoGP 2015 Qatar race results NewsBot Racing News 0 03-30-2015 03:20 AM
MotoGP 2014 Motegi race results NewsBot Racing News 0 10-12-2014 03:20 AM

Thread Tools


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 PM. is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy