Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back > News & Media > Motorcycle News & Media > Racing News
Forgot info?

Welcome to! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

FREE MH Decals by MAIL!


Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 09-27-2015, 10:20 AM   #1
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 140,795

MotoGP 2015 Aragon race results

The Championship title is still up for grabs

MOVISTAR Yamaha’s Jorge Lorenzo has taken his sixth win of the season ahead of Repsol Honda’s Dani Pedrosa and team-mate Valentino Rossi as Marc Marquez crashed out.

Lorenzo took his 60th Grand Prix career victory at Aragon after Marquez made a mistaken allowing Yamaha rider to take the lead into the first corner, Iannone in second.

Current MotoGP World Champion, Marquez, dropped down to third, but managed to makea move on Iannone to place himself second before setting off after Lorenzo.

Italy’s Rossi made his way through the field from sixth on the grid knowing he couldn’t let Lorenzo get away at the front due to the narrow margin in the Championship standings.

As Marquez reeled Lorenzo in, the young Spaniard lost the front at Turn 12 and crashed out of the Aragon Grand Prix which resulted in his fifth DNF of the year.

Marquez's crash moved Iannone up into second, but Marquez’s team-mate Pedrosa passed the Ducati man on the 3rd lap.

Rossi upped the pace and passed Iannone moving up into 3rd on the 4th lap despite lapping 0.3s slower than his team-mate. Monster Yamaha Tech 3’s Espargaro was involved in the battle for fourth with Iannone when he ran wide on lap 6 and dropped down to 11th.

By lap 8 both Pedrosa and Rossi started to lap faster than Lorenzo and the gap had been reduced to 2.6s.

With 10 laps to go the gap at the front was up to 3.3s, with Rossi still hanging onto the back wheel of the Pedrosa in third.

Rossi started to line up Pedrosa for a pass to secure a vital extra four Championshpi points by finishing in second.

With only 5 laps to go, Rossi made his first move into Turn 4, but Pedrosa immediately responded to re-take the Italian. Rossi tried again into Turn 1, but couldn’t get it stopped and this turned into a spectacular battle over the final few laps.

On the penultimate lap, once again Rossi made a move under braking into turn 1, but once again he could not get his M1 stopped and couldn’t make it stick.

Pedrosa managed to hold on through the final corner to take second by a marginal nine-hundredths of a second from Rossi whilst Lorenzo rode the perfect race finishing 2.6s ahead of the MotoGP field.

Ducati Team’s Andrea Iannone finished fourth despite re-dislocating his shoulder earlier this week. He crossed the line 16 seconds ahead of his team-mate Andrea Dovizioso who finished in fifth.

ECSTAR Suzuki’s Aleix Espargaro won the battle for sixth after crossing the line ahead of Cal Crutchlow and Bradley Smith. Pol Espargaro managed to fight his way back into ninth, while Yonny Hernandez on the Octo Pramac Racing Ducati completed the top ten.

Race results:

1. Jorge LorenzoESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 41:44.933
2. Dani PedrosaESP Repsol Honda Team 41:47.616 (+2.683)
3. Valentino RossiITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 41:47.706 (+2.773)
4. Andrea IannoneITA Ducati Team 41:52.791 (+7.858)
5. Andrea DoviziosoITA Ducati Team 42:9.255 (+24.322)
6. Aleix EspargaroESP Team Suzuki Ecstar 42:9.762 (+24.829)
7. Cal CrutchlowGBR LCR Honda 42:10.300 (+25.367)
8. Bradley SmithGBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 42:10.436 (+25.503)
9. Pol EspargaroESP Monster Yamaha Tech 3 42:11.385 (+26.452)
10. Yonny HernandezCOL Octo Pramac Racing 42:28.822 (+43.889)
11. Maverick ViñalesESP Team Suzuki Ecstar 42:29.188 (+44.255)
12. Scott ReddingGBR Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS 42:33.109 (+48.176)
13. Alvaro BautistaESP Factory Aprilia Gresini 42:34.688 (+49.755)
14. Eugene LavertyIRL Aspar MotoGP Team 42:35.204 (+50.271)
15. Nicky HaydenUSA Aspar MotoGP Team 42:35.297 (+50.364)
16. Hector BarberaESP Avintia Racing 42:35.655 (+50. 722)
17. Loris BazFRA Forward Racing 42:36.930 (+51.997)
18. Stefan BradlGER Factory Aprilia Gresini 42:38.339 (+53.406)
19. Jack MillerAUS LCR Honda 42:41.792 (+56.859)
20. Mike Di MeglioFRA Avintia Racing 42:44.540 (+59.607)
21. Toni EliasSPA Forward Racing 43:0.170 (+1:15.237)
DNF. Karel AbrahamCZE AB Motoracing
DNF. Danilo PetrucciITA Octo Pramac Racing
DNF. Alex De AngelisRSM E-Motion IodaRacing
DNF. Marc MarquezESP Repsol Honda Team

Related Content

MotoGP 2015: Mugello race results
MotoGP 2014: Sepang race results
MotoGP 2014: Valencia race results
MotoGP 2015: Le Mans race results
Sepang MotoGP test times - day two

NewsBot is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MotoGP - Moto2 Aragon - Race Results NewsBot Racing News 0 09-27-2015 08:10 AM
MotoGP Qualifying Results From 2015 Aragon GP NewsBot Industry News 0 09-26-2015 02:00 PM
WSB 2015 Aragon race two results NewsBot Racing News 0 04-13-2015 01:31 AM
WSB 2015 Aragon race one results NewsBot Racing News 0 04-13-2015 01:31 AM
MotoGP 2014 Aragon race results NewsBot Racing News 0 09-28-2014 01:30 PM

Thread Tools


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33 PM. is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy