Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back > News & Media > Motorcycle News & Media > Racing News
Forgot info?

Welcome to! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more


Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 06-28-2015, 05:50 AM   #1
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 140,684

MotoGP 2015 Assen race results

Rossi and Marquez battle it out making contact at the final chicane

VALENTINO Rossi wins race-long battle with reigning World Champion Marc Marquez at the Motul TT Assen.

Nine-time World Champion Rossi took his 111th Grand Prix victory to extend his Championship lead despite making contact with Marquez as they entered the final chicane.

Movistar Yamaha’s Rossi, starting from pole for the first time since Valencia last season, led the field into the first corner, but it didn’t take Marquez long to join in the party from third on the grid.

Marquez sat behind Rossi for the majority of the race before making his move and taking the lead into Turn 1 on lap 20.

Rossi responded with three laps to go to re-take the lead at Turn 10. The Italian put in his fastest lap of the race in an attempt to break away from the Spaniard. They were evenly matched into the final chicane.

Marquez made a move on Rossi that forced the Italian to run straight on through the gravel. Rossi managed to stay upright to take the chequered flag 1.242s ahead of Marquez.

Rossi’s Movistar Yamaha team-mate Jorge Lorenzo had a lonely race after a great start seeing him move from eighth on the grid up to third after the first lap. Rossi and Marquez pulled away from Lorenzo, but he eventually crossed the line in third 14.576s behind Rossi.

Ducati Team’s Andrea Iannone finished a furth four seconds back in fourth circulating the majority of the race on his own.

The battle for fifth was won by Monster Yamaha Tech 3’s Pol Espargaro as all four rider finished within 0.4s of each other. The Spaniard also finished top Satellite rider 0.105s ahead of CWM LCR Honda’s Cal Crutchlow.

Espargaro’s team-mate Bradley Smith crossed the line in seventh ahead of Repsol Honda’s Dani Pedrosa, who fought back after a crash in Warm Up and a disastrous start which saw him down in 12th after the first lap.

The Team Suzuki Ecstar duo of Aleix Espargaro and Maverick Viñales were next across the line in ninth and tenth respectively, ahead of Octo Pramac Racing’s Danilo Petrucci (11th) and the second Factory Ducati of Andrea Dovizioso in twelfth.

Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS’s Scott Redding finished 46.663s back from Rossi in 13th, while Loris Baz (Athina Forward Racing) took the Open class victory, and the final championship point that was up for grabs in 15th, just ahead of Aspar MotoGP Team’s Nicky Hayden who crossed the line in 16th.

Hector Barbera and Jack Miller crashed on the first lap. Barbera was taken to the medical centre for checks on his right leg, but has been declared fit.

Alex De Angelis, Eugene Laverty and Stefan Bradl also crashed out. Bradl underwent examinations and an X-ray at the Medical Centre to discover he hass a fractured scaphoid in his right wrist.

Race results:

1. Valentino RossiITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 40:54.037
2. Marc MarquezESP Repsol Honda Team 40:55.279 (+1.242)
3. Jorge LorenzoESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 41:8.613 (+14.576)
4. Andrea IannoneITA Ducati Team 41:13.146 (+19.109)
5. Pol EspargaroESP Monster Yamaha Tech 3 41:18.305 (+24.268)
6. Cal CrutchlowGBR CWM LCR Honda 41:18.410 (+24.373)
7. Bradley SmithGBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 41:18.479 (+24.442)
8. Dani PedrosaESP Repsol Honda Team 41:18.693 (+24.656)
9. Aleix EspargaroESP Team Suzuki Ecstar 41:20.762 (+26.725)
10. Maverick ViñalesESP Team Suzuki Ecstar 41:21.275 (+27.238)
11. Danilo PetrucciITA Octo Pramac Racing 41:23.075 (+29.038)
12. Andrea DoviziosoITA Ducati Team 41:23.455 (+29.418)
13. Scott ReddingGBR Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS 41:40.700 (+46.663)
14. Yonny HernandezCOL Octo Pramac Racing 41:43.342 (+49.305)
15. Loris BazFRA Athina Forward Racing 41:46.433 (+52.396)
16. Nicky HaydenUSA Aspar MotoGP Team 41:50.042 (+56.005)
17. Alvaro BautistaESP Factory Aprilia Gresini 41:53.894 (+59.857)
18. Mike Di MeglioFRA Avintia Racing 42:8.550 (+1:14.513)
19. Marco MelandriITA Factory Aprilia Gresini +1 lap
DNF. Alex De AngelisRSM E-Motion IodaRacing
DNF. Eugene LavertyIRL Aspar MotoGP Team
DNF. Stefan BradlGER Athina Forward Racing
DNF. Hector BarberaESP Avintia Racing
DNF. Jack MillerAUS CWM LCR Honda

Related Content

MotoGP 2015: Jerez race results
MotoGP Valencia test times - day one
MotoGP Valencia test times - day three
MotoGP Valencia test times - day two
Crutchlow: Honda are the team to beat

NewsBot is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSB 2015 Assen race two results NewsBot Racing News 0 09-20-2015 03:10 PM
BSB 2015 Assen race one results NewsBot Racing News 0 09-20-2015 03:10 PM
WSB 2015 Assen race two results NewsBot Racing News 0 04-20-2015 01:31 AM
WSB 2015 Assen race one results NewsBot Racing News 0 04-20-2015 12:50 AM
MotoGP 2014 Assen race results NewsBot Racing News 0 06-30-2014 04:06 AM

Thread Tools


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 PM. is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy