Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back > News & Media > Motorcycle News & Media > Racing News
Forgot info?

Welcome to! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more


Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 06-15-2015, 01:00 AM   #1
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 140,850

MotoGP 2015 Catalunya race results

Marquez crashes out denting his hopes of a third premier class title

JORGE Lorenzo takes his fourth consecutive win of the 2015 MotoGP season as his Movistar Yamaha team-mate Valentino Rossi claims seconds and Marc Marquez crashes out.

Lorenzo led from start to finish and the Yamaha duo dominated to make it the second 1-2 of the sason for the Factory Yamaha team.

Repsol Honda’s Marquez battled with Lorenzo for the lead in the opening laps, but crashed out at Turn 10 on only the third lap.

Marquez’s crash has now decreased Repsol Honda’s chance of winning the 2015 MotoGP Championship title as he is now 69-points adrift of Rossi. The 22-year-old has now crashed out of three of seven races.

Track temperatures reached almost 50 degrees and were the hottest recorded over the weekend, as the race at Catalunya got underway. Lorenzo led into the first corner as Team Suzuki Ecstar’s pole-man Aleix Espargaro dropped down to 9th after struggling with the GSX-RR from the start.

Lorenzo set a fast pace and by lap 4 had a 1.5 second lead over Rossi who later on went to try for the win.

The nine-times World Champion had to settle for second, 0.885s behind Lorenzo, who took his 37th premier class win to equal the tally set by British legend Mike Hailwood.

Marquez’s teammate Dani Pedrosa finished a lonely third 19-seconds behind Lorenzo – his first podium since undergoing arm pump surgery after Qatar.

Ducati Team’s Andrea Iannone claimed fourth after a great fight with Bradley Smith on the Monster Yamaha Tech 3 M1. The British rider crossed the line in fifth as the leading Satellite rider.

Maverick Viñales on the second GSX-RR took his career best finish in sixth position after being pushed down the order and out of the top 10 to begin with.

Scott Redding equalled the best result of his MotoGP™ career in seventh, with Stefan Bradl taking the Open class win in eighth.

Danilo Petrucci (Octo Pramac Racing) and Alvaro Bautista (Aprilia Racing Team Gresini) completed the top ten, as a number of riders crashed out on the slippery track surface.

Yonny Hernandez, Cal Crutchlow, Andrea Dovizioso and both of the Espargaro brothers crashed out and only 16 riders completed the race.

Race results:

1. Jorge LorenzoESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 42:53.208
2. Valentino RossiITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 42:54.093 (+0.885)
3. Dani PedrosaESP Repsol Honda Team 43:12.663 (+19.455)
4. Andrea IannoneITA Ducati Team 43:18.133 (+24.925)
5. Bradley SmithGBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 43:20.990 (+27.782)
6. Maverick ViñalesESP Team Suzuki Ecstar 43:22.767 (+29.559)
7. Scott ReddingGBR Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS 43:29.632 (+36.424)
8. Stefan BradlGER Athina Forward Racing 43:35.311 (+42.103)
9. Danilo PetrucciITA Octo Pramac Racing 43:42.558 (+49.350)
10. Alvaro BautistaESP Factory Aprilia Gresini 43:45.777 (+52.569)
11. Jack MillerAUS CWM LCR Honda 43:46.874 (+53.666)
12. Eugene LavertyIRL Aspar MotoGP Team 43:48.973 (+55.765)
13. Loris BazFRA Athina Forward Racing 43:49.040 (+55.832)
14. Mike Di MeglioFRA Avintia Racing 44:2.245 (+1:09.037)
15. Alex De AngelisRSM E-Motion IodaRacing 44:18.471 (+1:25.263)
16. Hector BarberaESP Avintia Racing (+1 lap)
DNF. Aleix EspargaroESP Team Suzuki Ecstar
DNF. Nicky HaydenUSA Aspar MotoGP Team
DNF. Marco MelandriITA Factory Aprilia Gresini
DNF. Andrea DoviziosoITA Ducati Team
DNF. Pol EspargaroESP Monster Yamaha Tech 3
DNF. Marc MarquezESP Repsol Honda Team
DNF. Cal CrutchlowGBR CWM LCR Honda
DNF. Yonny HernandezCOL Octo Pramac Racing

Related Content

MotoGP 2015: Mugello race results
MotoGP 2014: Motegi race results
MotoGP 2014: Sepang race results
MotoGP 2014: Valencia race results
MotoGP 2014: Jerez results

NewsBot is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MotoGP Catalunya Results 2015 NewsBot Industry News 0 06-14-2015 07:20 PM
MotoGP - Moto2 Catalunya - Race Results NewsBot Racing News 0 06-14-2015 07:40 AM
MotoGP Catalunya Qualifying Results 2015 NewsBot Industry News 0 06-13-2015 09:10 PM
MotoGP Catalunya Friday Results 2015 NewsBot Racing News 0 06-12-2015 01:20 PM
MotoGP 2014 Catalunya race results NewsBot Racing News 0 06-15-2014 01:50 PM

Thread Tools


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 PM. is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy