Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back > News & Media > Motorcycle News & Media > Racing News
Forgot info?

Welcome to! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more


Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 06-13-2015, 09:20 AM   #1
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 140,801

IOMTT Lightweight TT race results

Lintin claims first TT victory but just misses out on claiming the lap record

IVAN Lintin won his debut TT in the Lightweight race on Friday from James Hillier by ust under four seconds with Michael Rutter grabbing third.

Both Lintin and Hillier smashed the old Lightweight TT lap record and were in the 120mph’s, but it was Hillier who was the quickest at 120.848mph and RC Express Racing’s second victory.

Hillier was once again the quickest to Glen Helen like he has been all week, with Lintin 1.5s behind. Ryan Farquhar, renowned for his Lightweight machines, was only two tenths of a second adrift in third and his team-mate Lee Johnston was almost level with him.

Dan Cooper and Michael Rutter were back in fifth and sixth respectively, but one of the pre-race favourite, Jamie Hamilton, was outside the top ten due to an issue with his pit lane limiter as he left the grandstand.

It was all change in Ramsey as Lintin moved up with a 1.7s lead ahead of Farquhar and Hillier. The Lincolnshire rider continued his lead to the Grandstand with an opening lap speed of 119.078mph which then gave him a 2.1s advantage over Faruhqar with Jonston and Hillier a further 1.4s behind in third and fourth.

Rutter and Cowton rounded out the top six, but Farquhar’s hopes of being victorious in his prime race as he was given a 30 second penalty for speeding in pit lane. Gary Johnson ran out of luck too and retired in the pits.

Glen Helen saw Hamilton take the lead. The Northern Ireland rider hadn’t taken his pit stop at the end of lap one, but Lintin was only three seconds behind. Hillier was five seconds back with Johnston still well in touch in fourth. Michael Russell came up to fifth, but yet hadn’t yet pitted. Rutter was still down in sixth.

Lintin was ahead again by the time they got to Ramsey by four seconds from Hamilton, Hillier only half a second behind. Johnston, Russell and Rutter were in fourth to sixth.

Hillier began to close in on the final lap to 3.9s as Johnston took to third. Hamilton dropped to fourth and made his pit stop as did Russell.

On the last lap Lintin’s lead was down to 3.2s and Johnston was out at Ballacraine which promoted Rutter to third, Cowton fourth, Cooper fifth and Hamilton sixth.

Hillier managed to pull the lead down to three seconds at Ballaugh, but Lintin responded and his advantage nearly became five seconds as the started the final climb up the Mountain.

Hillier claimed the lap record at 120.848mph but Lintin’s speed was almost identical at 120.845mph and he took his first TT victory by 3.8s. Rutter took a brilliant third on the Paton with Cowton a good fourth whilst the battle for fifth went all the way to the end, eventually going the way of Hamilton over Cooper.

Hudson Kennaugh was reported off at Braddan Oaks but was not injured.

Race results – top 10:

1. Ivan Lintin Kawasaki / RC Express Racing 57:06.070 118.936mph

2. James Hillier Kawasaki / Quattro Plant Muc-Off Kawasaki 57:09.945 118.802mph

3. Michael Rutter Paton / Paton/Team ILR 57:43.318 117.657mph

4. James Cowton Kawasaki / Stewart Smith Racing 58:05.032 116.924mph

5. Jamie Hamilton Kawasaki / Cookstown Burrows Engineerin 58:15.457 116.575mph

6. Daniel Cooper Kawasaki / SB TUNING 58:19.594 116.438mph

7. Michael Russell Kawasaki / Manx Gas by KMR Kawasaki 59:05.750 114.922mph

8. Mark Miller Kawasaki / Splitlath Group 59:53.262 113.402mph

9. Connor Behan Kawasaki / Emerald Road Racing 59:56.166 113.311mph

10. Daniel Webb Kawasaki / SGS/Manx Gas by KMR Kawas 59:58.353 113.242mph

Related Content

Isle of Man TT: Saturday's practice session
Lightweight TT results
IOMTT: Sidecar race one results
IOMTT: Supersport race two results
McGuinness wins 22nd TT in TT Zero race

NewsBot is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IOMTT Senior TT race results NewsBot Racing News 0 06-13-2015 10:00 AM
IOMTT Superstock TT race one results NewsBot Racing News 0 06-09-2015 11:10 AM
IOMTT Superbike TT race results NewsBot Racing News 0 06-08-2015 05:20 AM
IOMTT Sidecar race 2 and Lightweight TT results NewsBot Racing News 0 06-06-2014 10:40 AM
IOMTT Supersport race 2 and TT Zero results NewsBot Racing News 0 06-04-2014 02:10 PM

Thread Tools


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 AM. is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy