Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back > News & Media > Motorcycle News & Media > Racing News
Forgot info?

Welcome to! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more


Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 04-20-2015, 02:42 AM   #1
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 140,816

MotoGP 2015 Argentina race results

Dramatic race sees reigning MotoGP World Champion crash out

MOVISTAR Yamaha’s Valentino Rossi took his 84th MotoGP victory in Argentina as Marc Marquez crashed out after clipping the Italian's rear tyre.

Track temperature was a huge talking point in the MotoGP paddock this weekend as riders were faced with the dilemma of which tyre choice to make as tyre-life was an issue last year. To attempt to combat this, Bridgestone released an extra hard option for the Termas de rio Hondo circuit.

Both Repsol Honda’s Marc Marquez and CWM LCR Honda’s Cal Crutchlow decided to switch to the hard compound rear tyre at the last minute. In contrast, Movistar Yamaha’s Rossi and team-mate Jorge Lorenzo went for the extra hard option.

Surprisingly it was Suzuki’s Aleix Espargaro who led the field into turn one on the Team Suzuki Ecstar GSX-RR, but it wasn’t long until Marquez resumed his usual position – leading.

The young Spaniard pulled out an advantage of 0.8s by the end of the first lap by using the using the extra grip of the hard tyre early on in the race to extend this lead to over 4 seconds.

36-year-old Rossi gradually carbed his way thorough the pack from 8th on the grid, mugging Dovizioso of second with 15 laps to go. With no-one else in his way, Rossi set his sights on Marquez who’s tyre performance was beginning to fade.

Lap-by-lap the Italian was becoming quicker than Marquez and it was visibly possible to see how close Rossi was to pouncing, but Marquez was not giving up without a fight.

The Italian slipped up the inside of Marquez before they both touched a couple of times which ultimately saw Marquez clip the rear tyre of Rossi’s bike and crash out of contention. Marquez’s frustration was clearly visible, but Race Direction ruled it was a ‘racing incident’ and therefore no further action was taken.

Rossi took the win by over five seconds with Dovizioso slotting into second. CWM LCR Honda’s Cal Crutchlow claimed the final podium position after battling with Ducati’s Andrea Iannone who finished in fourth.

Nine seconds back, Bradley Smith finished in sixth behind Jorge Lorenzo. Aleix finished in seventh after leading the race to begin with as younger brother Pol finished in eighth.

CWM LCR Honda’s rookie Jack Miller took the Open class victory finishing in 12th in his third race in the premier class.

Race results:

1. Valentino RossiITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 41:35.644
2. Andrea DoviziosoITA Ducati Team 41:41.329 (+5.685)
3. Cal CrutchlowGBR CWM LCR Honda 41:43.942 (+8.298)
4. Andrea IannoneITA Ducati Team 41:43.996 (+8.352)
5. Jorge LorenzoESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 41:45.836 (+10.192)
6. Bradley SmithGBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 41:55.520 (+19.876)
7. Aleix EspargaroESP Team Suzuki Ecstar 41:59.977 (+24.333)
8. Pol EspargaroESP Monster Yamaha Tech 3 42:3.314 (+27.670)
9. Scott ReddingGBR Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS 42:10.041 (+34.397)
10. Maverick ViñalesESP Team Suzuki Ecstar 42:10.452 (+34.808)
11. Danilo PetrucciITA Pramac Racing 42:15.850 (+40.206)
12. Jack MillerAUS CWM LCR Honda 42:18.298 (+42.654)
13. Hector BarberaESP Avintia Racing 42:18.373 (+42.729)
14. Loris BazFRA Athina Forward Racing 42:18.497 (+42.853)
15. Stefan BradlGER Athina Forward Racing 42:18.681 (+43.037)
16. Nicky HaydenUSA Aspar MotoGP Team 42:18.896 (+43.252)
17. Eugene LavertyIRL Aspar MotoGP Team 42:19.044 (+43.400)
18. Mike Di MeglioFRA Avintia Racing 42:19.452 (+43.808)
19. Alvaro BautistaESP Factory Aprilia Gresini 42:20.522 (+44.878)
20. Marco MelandriITA Factory Aprilia Gresini 42:31.880 (+56.236)
21. Karel AbrahamCZE Cardion AB Motoracing 42:39.015 (+1:03.371)
22. Alex De AngelisRSM Octo IodaRacing 42:44.088 (+1:08.444)

DNF. Hiroshi AoyamaJPN Repsol Honda Team
DNF. Marc MarquezESP Repsol Honda Team
DNF. Yonny HernandezCOL Pramac Racing

Related Content

MotoGP 2015: Qatar race results
MotoGP 2015: Austin race results
Podium finish for Rossi despite ‘destroyed front tyre’
MotoGP Valencia test times - day one
MotoGP Valencia test times - day two

NewsBot is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MotoGP Argentina Results 2015 NewsBot Racing News 0 04-20-2015 03:51 AM
MotoGP - MotoGP Argentina - Race Results NewsBot Racing News 0 04-19-2015 03:40 PM
MotoGP Argentina Qualifying Results 2015 NewsBot Racing News 0 04-19-2015 03:20 AM
MotoGP Argentina Friday Results 2015 NewsBot Racing News 0 04-18-2015 03:01 AM
MotoGP 2014 Argentina race results NewsBot Racing News 0 04-27-2014 04:10 PM

Thread Tools


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 PM. is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy