MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Off Topic (everything else) > Off Topic
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 10-01-2010, 06:04 PM   #1
cedestech
.
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Feedback Rating: (12)
Posts: 8,300

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+











Pass word protect my modem?

Yeah, I know I am way behind the ball on this one...

I live out in the stick, my closest neighbor is about 100 yards away but aparently his ex son in law (that is a weird story) that moved in last month
has been mooching my broad band kicking me into FAP.

I have a linksys router, model WRT54GS.

How do I pass word protect it so only I can use it?

Ridicule me if you must but give me some info please....

cedestech is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TWS (Texas World Speedway) Turn 7, good pass or bad pass? ConcordEagle Taking it to the Track 9 11-01-2014 10:02 PM
Recovering word doc after ms word stops brandontx Off Topic 2 08-21-2012 07:55 PM
Buying Your Own Cable Modem Drumboy Off Topic 22 05-12-2011 02:23 PM
Your Word Vs. Cop's Word Htownz General Discussion (Moto Related) 49 04-22-2009 03:24 PM
cable modem Spanish Fly Off Topic 24 10-01-2007 04:40 PM
Advertisement
Old 10-01-2010, 07:45 PM   #2
Perf_White_GT
Probably Supported Obama
 
Perf_White_GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 3,414

Experience: 4 years
Trackdays: 3











In your brower window type

192.168.1.1 then press enter.

From there is will be pretty simple

consult the manual for other questions

Set up a password that is LOOOONG and complex, mix of letters and numbers..
__________________
"HATERS GON HATE" - FRANKLIN DELANO ROOSEVELT
Perf_White_GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 07:48 PM   #3
Perf_White_GT
Probably Supported Obama
 
Perf_White_GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 3,414

Experience: 4 years
Trackdays: 3











Or walk to his house and tell him that if you catch him using your internet for downloading gay you will kick him in the
__________________
"HATERS GON HATE" - FRANKLIN DELANO ROOSEVELT
Perf_White_GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 07:59 PM   #4
cedestech
.
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Feedback Rating: (12)
Posts: 8,300

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+











Thanks!

I named the router "Get your own..."

cedestech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 08:22 PM   #5
pester
Black olives matter
 
pester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Montgomery cty
Feedback Rating: (12)
Posts: 15,846

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
2007 yamaha fz6
1998 yamaha wr 400 motard



Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by cedestech View Post
Yeah, I know I am way behind the ball on this one...

I live out in the stick, my closest neighbor is about 100 yards away but aparently his ex son in law (that is a weird story) that moved in last month
has been mooching my broad band kicking me into FAP.

I have a linksys router, model WRT54GS.

How do I pass word protect it so only I can use it?

Ridicule me if you must but give me some info please....

when you finish protesting the modem let me know
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by honorsdaddy View Post
Technology has insulated the stupid from the rightful consequences of their actions - and exposed the rest of us to the damage they can cause.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1sickGixxer View Post
nevermind ima bumbass and ill get my wife 2 do it 2nite.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyt915 View Post
I know enough Spanish to stick you with a knife cabron
pester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 08:47 PM   #6
cedestech
.
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Feedback Rating: (12)
Posts: 8,300

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+











Yeah, I noticed that....
cedestech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 08:57 PM   #7
cedestech
.
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Feedback Rating: (12)
Posts: 8,300

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+











Actually I am still needing help.

How do I make it where anytime a computer trys to link to the modem it asks for a password?
cedestech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 09:07 PM   #8
shanecrow99
punoɹƃɹǝpun xıs
 
shanecrow99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: League City, TX
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 626

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
old skool
1978 Kawasaki KZ650
new skool
2006 Kawasaki Ninja 650r






Sounds like you just changed the password on the router and not the wireless network itself.

Log into your router and make sure you are running WPA2 as your wireless encryption. Once that is set - assign a password to it (write it down) save the settings and log out of the router.

At this point anytime anybody tries to join the wireless network "Get your own" they will be prompted to enter the password you wrote down. Once you have done this on your laptop XP will remember the password so you really only have to do it once unless you change the password to something different.

If all else fails then bring to work with you and I can set it up for you to lock your neighbor out for good.
__________________
I close my eyes, we'll kill all the light in Texas. If you hold on tight, maybe the darkness won't wreck us.
shanecrow99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 09:24 PM   #9
cedestech
.
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Feedback Rating: (12)
Posts: 8,300

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+











It's asking for a "WPA shared key".

And I have 2 WPA2, personal and enterprise?
cedestech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 09:30 PM   #10
shanecrow99
punoɹƃɹǝpun xıs
 
shanecrow99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: League City, TX
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 626

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
old skool
1978 Kawasaki KZ650
new skool
2006 Kawasaki Ninja 650r






Personal will do it. Turn that on and give it a password you can remember.
__________________
I close my eyes, we'll kill all the light in Texas. If you hold on tight, maybe the darkness won't wreck us.
shanecrow99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 09:35 PM   #11
cedestech
.
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Feedback Rating: (12)
Posts: 8,300

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+











Is that what it means by "shared key"?
cedestech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 09:36 PM   #12
bunxx
Saw 'em Off!
 
bunxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: sugar land
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 5,507

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 2

Bike(s):
duc 800SS
polaris ranger
yamaha rhino







Quote:
Originally Posted by cedestech View Post
Thanks!

I named the router "Get your own..."

bunxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 09:40 PM   #13
cedestech
.
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Feedback Rating: (12)
Posts: 8,300

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+











That did it!

It's a secured connection now!

Rat ...

cedestech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 09:53 PM   #14
eltejano
I smell pretty
 
eltejano's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Round Rock
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 6,549

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2004 CBR600RR
2002 F4i
2003 CBR600RR track







Yeah, that. I pass worded my as soon as I got it. You never know what people are downloading.
__________________
"The trouble with internet quotations is that most are just made up" - Abraham Lincoln
"Lord loves a workin' man; don't trust whitey; see a doctor and get rid of it." -Navin R. Johnson
Quote:
Originally Posted by cashtown View Post
tejano? Rape me
eltejano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 10:20 PM   #15
shanecrow99
punoɹƃɹǝpun xıs
 
shanecrow99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: League City, TX
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 626

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
old skool
1978 Kawasaki KZ650
new skool
2006 Kawasaki Ninja 650r






How did you know he was leeching your to begin with?
__________________
I close my eyes, we'll kill all the light in Texas. If you hold on tight, maybe the darkness won't wreck us.
shanecrow99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 10:29 PM   #16
cedestech
.
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Feedback Rating: (12)
Posts: 8,300

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+











I haven't gone into FAP for over a year and then I have twice this month.
I have been checking my useage records and saw that 100MB were used between
noon and 4pm this afternoon while I wasn't home and both machines were off.

My closest neighbor (mid sixty) doesn't have a computer but his ex son in law just
moved in last month and I suppose this router will make it over to his house but the
signal has to suck.

Thanks for the help!
cedestech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 10:42 PM   #17
shanecrow99
punoɹƃɹǝpun xıs
 
shanecrow99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: League City, TX
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 626

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
old skool
1978 Kawasaki KZ650
new skool
2006 Kawasaki Ninja 650r






Makes sense to me. Glad you got the guy on lock down now.
__________________
I close my eyes, we'll kill all the light in Texas. If you hold on tight, maybe the darkness won't wreck us.
shanecrow99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 08:57 AM   #18
cedestech
.
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Feedback Rating: (12)
Posts: 8,300

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+











I feel bad now...

Neighbor called last night to appologize for his house guest stealing my broad band...

Seems his ex-son in law noticed the router was named "get your own..."

cedestech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 09:00 AM   #19
urbanXJ
erect engorged member
 
urbanXJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pearland
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 16,704

Experience: 9 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2008 Versys









rename your network to FBI BRODBAND THEFT SURVELLANCE ECHO TWO
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by gixxerbill View Post
"... I say the govt puts something in the water that sterilizes all women..."
urbanXJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 09:40 AM   #20
gixxergirloh2
~*~*~*~*~
 
gixxergirloh2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: BAYTOWN on the eastside movin on up.........
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 3,914

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 5

Bike(s):
gsxr 600




Member Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by cedestech View Post
Thanks!

I named the router "Get your own..."

HA !!!!! thats what mine is named (kinda) !!!! get_your_own_wireless !!!!
__________________
MAN hold up....i got too much lean in my cup!!!
gixxergirloh2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:49 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy