MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > General Discussion > General Discussion (Moto Related)
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 11-02-2019, 09:33 AM   #1
Japawhat02
02 Tona
 
Japawhat02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: P-land
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 7,437

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 3

Bike(s):
1997 XR400 TARDED









2nd gen sv650 gauge cluster

Going to look at a bike thats been down and has no gauge cluster. Anyone have one i could borrow/buy to make sure the bike runs.
__________________
2002 Brittish Rocket
Japawhat02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wtb sv650 gauge cluster The Trav Motorcycle Parts and Accessories 2 09-25-2009 09:15 AM
wtb sv650 gauge cluster/wtt taillight The Trav Want To Buy or Trade 0 09-23-2009 12:27 PM
F4i gauge cluster on a CBR F3?.. Help That_Boy_J How To's and Q & A's 3 05-29-2009 03:21 PM
Advertisement
Old 11-02-2019, 09:37 AM   #2
albertinhouston
Senior Member
 
albertinhouston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 1,579












U dont need a cluster to start that bike
albertinhouston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 09:42 AM   #3
albertinhouston
Senior Member
 
albertinhouston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 1,579












Side note 03's are unique to that year. Several little changes in 04 that SOME body parts do not cross over
albertinhouston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 09:44 AM   #4
Japawhat02
02 Tona
 
Japawhat02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: P-land
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 7,437

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 3

Bike(s):
1997 XR400 TARDED









Actually you do. Or you have to solder in a resistor. I doubt they are going to let me cut any wires.
__________________
2002 Brittish Rocket
Japawhat02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 09:45 AM   #5
albertinhouston
Senior Member
 
albertinhouston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 1,579












Resistor is in the ignition
albertinhouston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 09:47 AM   #6
Japawhat02
02 Tona
 
Japawhat02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: P-land
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 7,437

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 3

Bike(s):
1997 XR400 TARDED









Really? I must have read wrong somewhere. Maybe its the tip over sensor?
__________________
2002 Brittish Rocket
Japawhat02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 09:53 AM   #7
albertinhouston
Senior Member
 
albertinhouston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 1,579












Honestly I hope I'm wrong I have a gladius 650 I cant get to prime the fuel pump. It's a wrecked bike with no cluster. Hahaha.
albertinhouston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 10:46 AM   #8
albertinhouston
Senior Member
 
albertinhouston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 1,579












Starts right up no cluster
albertinhouston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 06:17 PM   #9
loosenoose
veteran novice
 
loosenoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: montgomery
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 4,617

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
sv650
cb300
fz1
vstrom
vfr800

Member Garage


you looking at this one?
https://houston.craigslist.org/mcy/d...011315388.html
DUUUUDE DID YOU SEE THAT PLATE? LOL
loosenoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 06:19 PM   #10
loosenoose
veteran novice
 
loosenoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: montgomery
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 4,617

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
sv650
cb300
fz1
vstrom
vfr800

Member Garage


also, albert, do you know that seller? dude has several sv's up. looks like he's doing what you do with ninja 650's
loosenoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 10:52 PM   #11
albertinhouston
Senior Member
 
albertinhouston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 1,579












Naaa I dont know him. It's funny bikes seem to cone in waves. I currently have 3 sv 650 and a sv 1000.
albertinhouston is offline   Reply With Quote
Liked this post:
Old 11-04-2019, 08:00 AM   #12
loosenoose
veteran novice
 
loosenoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: montgomery
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 4,617

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
sv650
cb300
fz1
vstrom
vfr800

Member Garage


sounds like a terrible predicament to be in lol
loosenoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 08:12 AM   #13
albertinhouston
Senior Member
 
albertinhouston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 1,579












Its is... I hate it. ;-)
albertinhouston is offline   Reply With Quote
Liked this post:
Old 11-04-2019, 08:53 AM   #14
Jae
Kilted Basterd
 
Jae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cypress
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 5,325

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
'06 Triumph Sprint ST
'08 GSX-R 600
several Hyosung mutts


Member Garage


I wouldn't think the 2nd gen sv's would need the cluster... seems like a change that would be made generationally, though I know Triumph did that with their 1050's around '07 (both of mine have been '06) when they changed the ECU and it required a "handshake" signal from the gauge cluster to allow everything to actually come on (fuel pump primarily, I believe).

So it's certainly not out of the realm of possibility, I'm just not well-enough versed in SV's to know when/if they implemented that sort of system. If they did, and it's anything like the Triumph system, the gauge will likely need to be of pretty close production date to the ECU in order to work.
__________________
Keeping the "F-U" in "fun"


Quote:
Originally Posted by gixxerbill View Post
There conclusions are soo foolish and idiot I can't even begin to take them seriously.
Jae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2019, 08:51 AM   #15
bob_1
Senior Member
 
bob_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SW
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 287


Bike(s):
2006 GSXR 1000









Quote:
Originally Posted by Japawhat02 View Post
Going to look at a bike thats been down and has no gauge cluster. Anyone have one i could borrow/buy to make sure the bike runs.
Jeremy, you don't need the gauges to get the bike running. The resistor is in the ignition and it has a separate tip over sensor. You should be good to go.

This is one of our older videos with no gauges.
__________________
(713)-933-7447, Will

I've got lots of parts
bob_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2019, 04:51 PM   #16
Japawhat02
02 Tona
 
Japawhat02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: P-land
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 7,437

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 3

Bike(s):
1997 XR400 TARDED









Thanks for the replies i decided to pass on the bike, as i have a couple projects in the garage already lol. Just seemed like a good deal and im a sucker for those.
__________________
2002 Brittish Rocket
Japawhat02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:28 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy