MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Off Topic (everything else) > Off Topic
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 08-31-2012, 04:43 PM   #1
theManofRussia
Who dares, wins.
 
theManofRussia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Texas Tech
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 941

Experience: 1 year

Bike(s):
Honda CBR600RR
Specialized Epic S-Works
Specialized Rockhopper


Member Garage





How do you connect a sensor to a servo?

Hey guys, I'm working on a adding a thermostat to the bedroom of my apt: installing an optic sensor on a thermometer and connecting it via remote control to a servo attached to the main AC thermostat, so that when the temperature in the bedroom exceeds 70, it turns on.

Is there a device that actuates a motor when the sensor is triggered?
theManofRussia is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New investigations seek to connect Durst to other cases NewsBot Houston - Local News 0 03-19-2015 01:50 PM
servo buddy help oldman650r How To's and Q & A's 7 01-22-2015 01:49 PM
how does it connect to the dyno? The BeastMaster How To's and Q & A's 12 01-22-2015 07:53 AM
Marriott testing out new app to connect guests NewsBot Houston - Local News 0 06-17-2014 08:20 AM
exhaust servo. monstermanus General Discussion (Moto Related) 9 04-01-2013 06:09 AM
Advertisement
Old 08-31-2012, 05:29 PM   #2
BYRDMAN
WX MAN
 
BYRDMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (8)
Posts: 9,462

Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2015 KTM Adventure 1190
2007 KTM 300 XC smoker
2007 KTM 300 XC smoker


Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by theManofRussia View Post
Hey guys, I'm working on a adding a thermostat to the bedroom of my apt: installing an optic sensor on a thermometer and connecting it via remote control to a servo attached to the main AC thermostat, so that when the temperature in the bedroom exceeds 70, it turns on.

Is there a device that actuates a motor when the sensor is triggered?
Not sure how ur gonna do that? Seems like to much trouble for what ita worth. Ur gonna need to trigger the circuit that comes from the original thermostat to the mother board of the a/c system that starts the process of turnin on the a/c. I think its a 24v system but its been a while since I looked at a/c systems.
__________________
If you can read this, thank a teacher, because its in English, thank a soldier"

AMERICAN MADE WITH MEXICAN PARTS
BYRDMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 06:37 PM   #3
hotcknstrips
Bevo's royal guard.
 
hotcknstrips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tomball
Feedback Rating: (8)
Posts: 15,693

Experience: 7 years
Trackdays: 7

Bike(s):
09 Buell 1125CR









Sure, ask MH for "expert" advice.

Right BYRDMAN?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Godsuki
I am going to kiss your my friend!!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by NY Weird Lady
Mucus Membrane!
hotcknstrips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 07:48 PM   #4
Toe
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: seabrook tx
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 15,752

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
rc51 (sold)
TTR 125 :)
Buell xb12r (sold)
Ducati multistrada
BMW k 1600 GTL exclusive :)






User is banned

.
Toe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 07:50 PM   #5
Flynjay
Senior Member
 
Flynjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: League City
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 358

Experience: 5 years

Bike(s):
'07 Ninja 250 (sold)
'06 Ninja 650








It would be easier to just buy another thermostat for the bedroom and wire it into the first one. That way either thermostat can turn on the AC. You are adding inefficiency to the system and wasting power but your room will be the temperature you want.
Flynjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 07:51 PM   #6
Toe
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: seabrook tx
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 15,752

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
rc51 (sold)
TTR 125 :)
Buell xb12r (sold)
Ducati multistrada
BMW k 1600 GTL exclusive :)






User is banned

.
Toe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 08:07 PM   #7
gots2no
Steve
 
gots2no's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Pearland
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 957

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'94 Kawasaki ZX6
'78 Yamaha XS750E (sold)
'82 Yamaha Seca 750 (sold)
'82 Yamaha XT200 (sold)

Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by theManofRussia View Post
Hey guys, I'm working on a adding a thermostat to the bedroom of my apt: installing an optic sensor on a thermometer and connecting it via remote control to a servo attached to the main AC thermostat, so that when the temperature in the bedroom exceeds 70, it turns on.

Is there a device that actuates a motor when the sensor is triggered?
Maybe the servo could just open the refrigerator? ... or have the servo turn on the hot water in the shower, which would bring up the temperature to the thermostat, and viola, the a/c would come on!
gots2no is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 11:29 PM   #8
theManofRussia
Who dares, wins.
 
theManofRussia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Texas Tech
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 941

Experience: 1 year

Bike(s):
Honda CBR600RR
Specialized Epic S-Works
Specialized Rockhopper


Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by rc51rider View Post
Servo? What re you trying to actuate?

You could use a relay to remotely control the ac..

24v and ground out to the sensor then back to the coil of the relay, then reroute the thermostat 'start command" to a normally open set of contacts on the relay and vuala..
I'm thinking of something very simple: the servo, triggered by the sensor in the room, turns the AC temperature down to turn on the AC and turns off through a timing sequence.
theManofRussia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 11:36 PM   #9
theManofRussia
Who dares, wins.
 
theManofRussia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Texas Tech
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 941

Experience: 1 year

Bike(s):
Honda CBR600RR
Specialized Epic S-Works
Specialized Rockhopper


Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by BYRDMAN View Post
Not sure how ur gonna do that? Seems like to much trouble for what ita worth. Ur gonna need to trigger the circuit that comes from the original thermostat to the mother board of the a/c system that starts the process of turnin on the a/c. I think its a 24v system but its been a while since I looked at a/c systems.
To trigger the original AC circuit I just have to turn down the temperature using the servo, I just don't know how to get the signal from the sensor in the bedroom to that servo.
theManofRussia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 12:16 AM   #10
irishcarbomb
Member
 
irishcarbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Humble
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 76

Experience: 8 years

Bike(s):
2009 ZX6R
2005 ZX636 (sold)
1982 Maxim 750 (sold)







Something like this would be a cheaper and much easier alternative.

http://www.smarthome.com/30403A/Vens...-Rewire/p.aspx
irishcarbomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 12:42 AM   #11
green600
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: 77045
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 20,624

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 1











User is banned

.
green600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 11:29 AM   #12
bdmpastx
The Cripple
 
bdmpastx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Pearland
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 6,001

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2009 Nissan GTR - sold
2015 Nissan GTR





<--- Works at Honeywell Industrial Automation and Controls...
They also make thermostats with remote sensors just for this.

You can also hook up an outdoor sensor to sense the load so to speak of outside conditions. So if a cold front comes, the heat turns on automatically to keep the house at the programmed temperature.
__________________
Just the same way you are tortured by common sense, I am tortured as to why you have none.
bdmpastx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy