MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > Performance and Modifications
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 03-31-2019, 09:09 PM   #1
jamesrosy
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 12












2019 Yamaha R1 Dyno Tune?

Hi New Here...
Have a new R1 with Akrapovic slip-on and Y-Midpipe...
Whom do ya値l recommend for a dyno tune?
I saw there is one sponsor recommended... anyone else??

Thank you...
jamesrosy is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dyno tune slamcharger General Discussion (Moto Related) 7 12-12-2011 07:36 AM
DYNO TUNE! HtownStunta General Discussion (Moto Related) 14 02-13-2009 10:28 AM
Cost of a dyno tune????? kenneth3602 General Discussion (Moto Related) 20 12-11-2008 07:59 PM
Dyno Tune! Flat AF! weee Gryphin General Discussion (Moto Related) 25 06-07-2008 07:35 PM
dyno tune bluewave18 Performance and Modifications 12 10-30-2007 10:27 AM
Advertisement
Old 04-01-2019, 11:33 AM   #2
BryanE
CMRA #246
 
BryanE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: League City
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,084

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2016 R3 Race
2011 R6 Race
2017 Terracraft Super Trike
2001 SV650 Race
2014 Grom

Member Garage





MC Cycles, welcome to MH
BryanE is offline   Reply With Quote
Liked this post:
Old 04-01-2019, 11:36 AM   #3
Rod
Near Miss Racing Team #96
 
Rod's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Houston, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 2,154

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
R3 2015
TS185 74
EX250R 2010 "A" race bike
EX250R 2008 "B" race bike
150cc Rocketta Scooter "the "






welcome to MH
what Bryan said!!!
https://www.motohouston.com/forums/member.php?u=17817
832-964-3535
__________________
CMRA#672
Rod is offline   Reply With Quote
Liked this post:
Old 04-01-2019, 02:00 PM   #4
jamesrosy
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 12












Thanks ya値l... anyone else? That痴 really far for me; i知 on the South Side
jamesrosy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 02:07 PM   #5
BryanE
CMRA #246
 
BryanE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: League City
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,084

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2016 R3 Race
2011 R6 Race
2017 Terracraft Super Trike
2001 SV650 Race
2014 Grom

Member Garage





Not far if you want it right. Just Sayin!
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesrosy View Post
Thanks ya値l... anyone else? That痴 really far for me; i知 on the South Side
BryanE is offline   Reply With Quote
Liked this post:
Old 04-01-2019, 10:49 PM   #6
jamesrosy
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 12












Thanks... do I still need to get a PCV and also autotune? I知 assuming they will fix the popping and twitchy throttle? How many miles before I can run it hard? Some say 600 others 1000.... sorry for 21 questions lol...
jamesrosy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 07:52 AM   #7
Solracer
MotoHouston.com Owner.
 
Solracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kemah Area
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 31,848

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2015 Yamaha R1
2002 Yamaha WR250
2004 Honda CRF-50


Member Garage


You will not need a PCV or the autotune that you can get with it.


He flashes the ECU.
__________________
Chris
Solracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Liked this post:
Old 04-02-2019, 10:08 AM   #8
Dread6
BANNED
 
Dread6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 601

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
2009 Triumph Daytona 675
2012 Triumph Daytona 675R





Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesrosy View Post
Thanks... do I still need to get a PCV and also autotune? I知 assuming they will fix the popping and twitchy throttle? How many miles before I can run it hard? Some say 600 others 1000.... sorry for 21 questions lol...
MC Cylces
I've been looking around for almost a year because I do my own work I'm picky about who touches my bike. So I met the guy a few times and before had my 675R on his dyno, so now I'm going to go back to him for a tune.

Yes a reflash is suppose fixing the popping on decel and smooth out the throttle issues you Fly-By-Wire riders are having.

I have never heard of anyone or any tuner recommending taking it easy after a tune with only bolt ons. New clutches, new turbos, trans , engines, yes. but for an exhaust and filter you should be ready to punch it as soon as your bike is off the dyno .

I recommend checking over your bike before you get a tune, no leaks of any kind, clean and lube your chain, clean your air filter maybe change the oil and plugs. Clean out you air box as well.
Dread6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Liked this post:
Old 04-03-2019, 03:08 PM   #9
jamesrosy
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 12












Thanks i meant how many break in miles before I run it hard (above 6k in revs)
jamesrosy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2019, 07:02 PM   #10
Dread6
BANNED
 
Dread6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 601

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
2009 Triumph Daytona 675
2012 Triumph Daytona 675R





There isn't any for basic bolt ons.
Your are basically just letting the engine breath better.

I'm reaching here, the only thing I could thinking of for taking it easy is so your monitors and sensors can adapt to the new tune.
__________________
http://i288.photobucket.com/albums/ll171/NappyDread6/09%20Triumph%20Daytona/R8P1282m-M.jpg
Dread6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Liked this post:
Old 04-04-2019, 11:16 AM   #11
MCCycles
MCCycles Turbocharged
 
MCCycles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Spring
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 206

Experience: 8 years

Bike(s):
Turbo R1






Thanks for the referal's- OP I replied to your PM.

Also- my new number is 832 597 0769, I'll update that.
MCCycles is offline   Reply With Quote
Liked this post:
Old 04-05-2019, 06:59 AM   #12
testiesalmon
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 80












I haven't done it myself, but I hear good things about the Woolich system + Autotune. You can run the bike and update the map based on the logged AFR's. So no need for a dyno given enough time. Might even give a better overall map considering you can adjust for type of fuel, season etc.?
testiesalmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Liked this post:
Old 04-06-2019, 08:36 PM   #13
jamesrosy
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 12












Thanks everybody... went to see Chris ... he did an amazing job... the bike feels great...
jamesrosy is offline   Reply With Quote
Liked this post:
Old 04-11-2019, 10:36 AM   #14
MCCycles
MCCycles Turbocharged
 
MCCycles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Spring
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 206

Experience: 8 years

Bike(s):
Turbo R1






The issue with the auto tune is that you need a good base foundation to start from. A full street tune ultimately is always better, but, most bikes I tune these days are being tuned off a already built map I made on the street before.

👍🤗
MCCycles is offline   Reply With Quote
Liked this post:
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:53 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy