MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 10-23-2016, 03:52 PM   #1
CiciXie
C(:)3
 
CiciXie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 71

Experience: 1 year











Hooking up LED strip to the bike. Fuse Question

Yesterday my friend and I was cutting and making led strip for my bike. I think i may have 1 strip too many for my bike and the fuse blew when I first turned it on. It was on for a second and then it turned off.
I made sure all led strip work prior sticking it to my bike. I have a total of 9 strip. So i got another 1.5amp 250v fuse and turned the bike on again but this time disconnecting 2 led strip. It turned on fine (left if on for 3 mins). Then i put everything back to see if it'll power up all the strip. And it did! I left it on for about 4 mins and turned it off and was about to take it for a spin.
I turned on the switch and the bike and as i was about to get off my driveway the fuse blew again!

I'm pretty sure it's drawing too much current and it isnt able to handle it and i dont want to remove 1 strip. Now, i know nothing about electrical work. Yes the fuse blew for safety reason, but I think it'll be ok for me to go with a higher voltage fuse and it wont melt my power distribution module. Please advise. How can i bypass it without hardwiring it.



This is what I use http://www.fx-series.com/exclusive-p...on-module.html
CiciXie is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LED Light question tommy832 How To's and Q & A's 4 04-28-2010 06:56 PM
de-hooking a stingray Grinchy Off Topic 19 03-29-2010 03:43 PM
Need help hooking up accent LED lights! HoustonGixxer How To's and Q & A's 19 10-17-2007 11:02 PM
strap to lower bike for drag strip? Chris24 How To's and Q & A's 13 07-19-2007 11:34 PM
LED's and my bike RojerLockless General Discussion (Moto Related) 14 04-04-2007 03:15 PM
Advertisement
Old 10-23-2016, 05:48 PM   #2
Romeo36
Mother****ersi'llkillyou
 
Romeo36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: stinkadena
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 5,390

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
sv650,rc51,gsxr750,6oo,sdg107









Send a message via AIM to Romeo36
You need to just put a 5 amp in it. I wouldn't go higher than that unless you have double the lights then max would be 7.5 anything more and you will fry the wires before the fuse pops
__________________
Riding a Duc is kind of like, you may get a cramp in your wrist, but you keep on trucking because it feels so good.
Romeo36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2016, 05:50 PM   #3
Romeo36
Mother****ersi'llkillyou
 
Romeo36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: stinkadena
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 5,390

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
sv650,rc51,gsxr750,6oo,sdg107









Send a message via AIM to Romeo36
Yea oh and do yourself a huge favor and get rid of that fuse set up and wire in a mini fuse or blade type fuse. They are Easier to get ahold of
__________________
Riding a Duc is kind of like, you may get a cramp in your wrist, but you keep on trucking because it feels so good.
Romeo36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2016, 12:53 AM   #4
signpimp
Senior Member
 
signpimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 791

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2002 klx110









Send a message via MSN to signpimp
Max load for that transformer is 1 amp. You are trying to light up too many LED's with that small power supply. The safe thing would be to add another power supply and distribute the LED's. Figure out the wattage of each LED and do the math. That's the safest and best thing to do. Putting a larger fuse could cause problems if the power supply overheats and catches fire.
signpimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2016, 09:44 AM   #5
bumblebee
Yeah I'm flippin' YOU off
 
bumblebee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pearland
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 13,249


Bike(s):
'74 Suzuki GT380
'82 XS650 StreetTracker
'17 Triumph Thruxton R
'83 Yamaha Seca 900






Quote:
Originally Posted by signpimp View Post
Max load for that transformer is 1 amp. You are trying to light up too many LED's with that small power supply. The safe thing would be to add another power supply and distribute the LED's. Figure out the wattage of each LED and do the math. That's the safest and best thing to do. Putting a larger fuse could cause problems if the power supply overheats and catches fire.
+1
He's right. That unit is rated for 1 Amp.
If you are blowing 1.5Amp fuses then you are asking too much from it and are risking problems by using a larger fuse.

LED's to get everyone to look at your bike will seem like nothing when you see the attention a bike on fire gets! Ha ha
__________________
Asphalt is for racing... dirt is for growing potatoes. - J. Diester
When seconds count... the police are only minutes away.
Grow up and be a productive member of society already.
Bevo- "I lack skillz"
bumblebee is online now   Reply With Quote
Liked this post:
Old 10-24-2016, 10:48 AM   #6
Repth
Bermanently Panned
 
Repth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Austin
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 4,355

Experience: 2 years
Trackdays: 2

Bike(s):
'14 Street Triple R









Step 1: remove LEDs
Step 2: place in trash
Step 3: enjoy
__________________
Quote:
Being nice is something that stupid people do to hedge their bets
Quote:
Originally Posted by DvlRacer
Meh, I agree with his OP
Repth is offline   Reply With Quote
Liked this post:
Old 10-24-2016, 11:57 AM   #7
hondarider77
Senior Member
 
hondarider77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cypress
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 3,465

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
2007 cbr1000rr
2005 crf450r
2005 crf150f
2005 crf150f tarded
2008 r6






Send a message via AIM to hondarider77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Repth View Post
Step 1: remove LEDs
Step 2: place in trash
Step 3: enjoy
This!!!!!!!!
hondarider77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2016, 12:46 PM   #8
CiciXie
C(:)3
 
CiciXie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 71

Experience: 1 year











Quote:
Originally Posted by Repth View Post
Step 1: remove LEDs
Step 2: place in trash
Step 3: enjoy
nooo! I want to light up and be seen at night!
CiciXie is offline   Reply With Quote
Liked this post:
Old 10-24-2016, 12:51 PM   #9
Repth
Bermanently Panned
 
Repth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Austin
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 4,355

Experience: 2 years
Trackdays: 2

Bike(s):
'14 Street Triple R









Quote:
Originally Posted by CiciXie View Post
nooo! I want to light up and be seen at night!
I was mostly joking with my previous post, but auxiliary lights at night can actually be really distracting to other drivers. I hope that you're not putting others at risk for the sake of your own visibility.
__________________
Quote:
Being nice is something that stupid people do to hedge their bets
Quote:
Originally Posted by DvlRacer
Meh, I agree with his OP
Repth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2016, 01:23 PM   #10
hondarider77
Senior Member
 
hondarider77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cypress
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 3,465

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
2007 cbr1000rr
2005 crf450r
2005 crf150f
2005 crf150f tarded
2008 r6






Send a message via AIM to hondarider77
You can always do some toe approved hid headlights
hondarider77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Liked this post:
Old 12-12-2016, 11:49 AM   #11
CiciXie
C(:)3
 
CiciXie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 71

Experience: 1 year











please close this thread.
CiciXie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2016, 03:29 PM   #12
flipstyledsm22
Lets go fishing!
 
flipstyledsm22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Seabrook, Texas
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 5,687

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
1994 FLSTC Pro-Street Chopper
1964 Tote Gote
2003 GSXR600 - SOLD
2004 ZX6R - SOLD
1986 VFR750 - SOLD






Send a message via Yahoo to flipstyledsm22
Did you get it fixed Cici?

I have a total of 10 on my bike (180 kit). The brand is Florida Joe: http://www.joeflorida.com/
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solracer View Post
People have no idea that I'm walking around with dicks on my face.
Quote:
Originally Posted by gixxerbill View Post
I hate perma bans they are sooo...permanent.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CamelToe View Post
Alright who did it?
flipstyledsm22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy