MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > General Discussion > General Discussion (Moto Related)
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 06-04-2009, 03:02 PM   #1
hotnanas
i rock knobbies
 
hotnanas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 8,881

Experience: 10+ years











Wideband Gauge

I am thinking about buying a wideband gauge for carb tuning. Is there any reasons that you guys can think of to talk me out of this purchase?

Furthermore, how helpful is the wideband gauge to carb tuning and jetting? I would only run the O2 sensor in the bung when tuning the different bikes.
hotnanas is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need GSXR gauge help anatram How To's and Q & A's 3 08-15-2012 02:33 PM
air gauge pester How To's and Q & A's 1 01-19-2011 11:34 AM
illumaglow gauge ??????? Spiderman Performance and Modifications 0 05-08-2009 05:49 PM
MY GAUGE LIGHTS KEEP GOING OFF PLEASE HELP!! projektsol How To's and Q & A's 6 05-08-2009 03:36 PM
Fuel Gauge neonelk How To's and Q & A's 1 12-06-2008 02:40 PM
Advertisement
Old 06-04-2009, 03:52 PM   #2
ZXALAN
UR NXT
 
ZXALAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: League City Tx
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 4,254

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
2000 Turbo-Hayabusa
2013 BMW S1000RR








Wide band is the only way to go...

Innovate, XD-16 and LC1 is what you want.
__________________

319hp@14lbs(pump gas), 435hp@29lbs(race gas)
Texas Mile Mar 09, 225.906mph, 8.82@168.43 w/1.63 60'-14.5lbs
ZXALAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 04:04 PM   #3
Scorpio
Twist the Grip, Let'r Rip
 
Scorpio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Shmearth
Feedback Rating: (6)
Posts: 12,292

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+


450x sumo (sold)
RC51 (sold)
Honda Grom 125(sold)

Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to Scorpio
I used an AEM - EUGO controller($250) to tune mine and it was a breeze.
Includes guage and only requires 12 volt power supply.
Scorpio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 04:08 PM   #4
hotnanas
i rock knobbies
 
hotnanas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 8,881

Experience: 10+ years











Quote:
Originally Posted by ZXALAN View Post
Wide band is the only way to go...

Innovate, XD-16 and LC1 is what you want.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomTom96 View Post
I used an AEM - EUGO controller($250) to tune mine and it was a breeze.
Includes guage and only requires 12 volt power supply.
can you data log with these? i like being able to see my changes graphed, but it's not a requirement.

i have been considering the AEM one and the dynojet Wideband Commander...

i will look into the others.
hotnanas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 04:11 PM   #5
ZXALAN
UR NXT
 
ZXALAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: League City Tx
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 4,254

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
2000 Turbo-Hayabusa
2013 BMW S1000RR








If you really wanted to be trick you could just get the Dl32 wideband datalogger but....it may be hard to package on a tard. Using a wideband that only has the gauge is hard because you have to be able to watch the gauge while you hammer it, then try to remember what RPM it did what at......with a logger, it records all the data...Since you're not really talking about anything REALLY fast, I think you could get by with the XD-16/LC1
__________________

319hp@14lbs(pump gas), 435hp@29lbs(race gas)
Texas Mile Mar 09, 225.906mph, 8.82@168.43 w/1.63 60'-14.5lbs
ZXALAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 04:13 PM   #6
hotnanas
i rock knobbies
 
hotnanas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 8,881

Experience: 10+ years











ya, i would prefer nothing too pricey too. i dont mind trying to remember what RPMs i was out, and heck, there are only so many jet circuits to mess with anyhow.

i think i may just get the gauged version.

i do plan on using this on several bikes...is that an issue?
hotnanas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 04:18 PM   #7
ZXALAN
UR NXT
 
ZXALAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: League City Tx
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 4,254

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
2000 Turbo-Hayabusa
2013 BMW S1000RR








..
__________________

319hp@14lbs(pump gas), 435hp@29lbs(race gas)
Texas Mile Mar 09, 225.906mph, 8.82@168.43 w/1.63 60'-14.5lbs
ZXALAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 04:24 PM   #8
hotnanas
i rock knobbies
 
hotnanas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 8,881

Experience: 10+ years











..
hotnanas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 04:26 PM   #9
ZXALAN
UR NXT
 
ZXALAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: League City Tx
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 4,254

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
2000 Turbo-Hayabusa
2013 BMW S1000RR








..
__________________

319hp@14lbs(pump gas), 435hp@29lbs(race gas)
Texas Mile Mar 09, 225.906mph, 8.82@168.43 w/1.63 60'-14.5lbs
ZXALAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 04:30 PM   #10
ZXALAN
UR NXT
 
ZXALAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: League City Tx
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 4,254

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
2000 Turbo-Hayabusa
2013 BMW S1000RR








LC1 just reads the reading from the O2 sensor, it has no display though...so you either need the gauge to display it or the logger to record the signal from the LC1, then hook your laptop up to the logger and pull the data and analyze it using Logworks 3.0.

Honestly, the gauge thing will be fine for what you want to do..... you only have the main jet, the pilot jet and sometimes a power valve to have to tune on a carb so.....this setup will tell you which way to go in your jetting.

I think the Innovate or the AEM would be fine. Stay away from DJ wideband commander though, the needles fluctuate way too much. Digital is better.
__________________

319hp@14lbs(pump gas), 435hp@29lbs(race gas)
Texas Mile Mar 09, 225.906mph, 8.82@168.43 w/1.63 60'-14.5lbs
ZXALAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 04:32 PM   #11
hotnanas
i rock knobbies
 
hotnanas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 8,881

Experience: 10+ years











thanks...ordering the AEM then. I really appreciate your help. Now to get bungs welded in all of my headers.
hotnanas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 04:46 PM   #12
Badzx14r
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: lagrange tx
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 4,746


Bike(s):
2many2list









User is banned

.
Badzx14r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 04:49 PM   #13
SexualChocolate
JapLac on 22s
 
SexualChocolate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Dickinson
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 5,197

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
998CCs of KING KONG...









Send a message via AIM to SexualChocolate
I had the LC1 (from Kinny, but sadly it went with Ike like the rest of my house).

I have used the GReddy A/F meter with success. It was pretty much dead on when compared to the reading via a SpeedPro (FAST) engine management system.
__________________
A few motorcycles, bicycles, and cars...and still in recovery phase

mybanner4a260100b5617
SexualChocolate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 04:53 PM   #14
hotnanas
i rock knobbies
 
hotnanas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 8,881

Experience: 10+ years











well i ordered the AEM one for $218. I think it will do what I need it to do...i'm installing a bigger carb on the ruckus this weekend and would like to jet it correctly.

Maybe I will break the 50mph barrier!
hotnanas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 05:20 PM   #15
ZXALAN
UR NXT
 
ZXALAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: League City Tx
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 4,254

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
2000 Turbo-Hayabusa
2013 BMW S1000RR








Quote:
Originally Posted by Badzx14r View Post
12lbs of vacuum at idle


What am I missing something funny?
__________________

319hp@14lbs(pump gas), 435hp@29lbs(race gas)
Texas Mile Mar 09, 225.906mph, 8.82@168.43 w/1.63 60'-14.5lbs
ZXALAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 05:24 PM   #16
maxgs
Guest
 
Posts: n/a







Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by hotnanas View Post
I am thinking about buying a wideband gauge for carb tuning. Is there any reasons that you guys can think of to talk me out of this purchase?

Furthermore, how helpful is the wideband gauge to carb tuning and jetting? I would only run the O2 sensor in the bung when tuning the different bikes.
I just ordered a wide band sensor for my data acquisition system. It will be here in two weeks. I'm pretty excited about it. Cost was about $350.00.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 11:18 AM   #17
hotnanas
i rock knobbies
 
hotnanas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 8,881

Experience: 10+ years











i just used the AEM uego wideband gauge, and it confirmed what I already suspected with my carb....

lean pilot circuit and rich main...

the gauges were very simple to install and use.

now the big question is....whats the optimal air:fuel ratio?


here are my readings:
82 main
32 pilot

0 throttle: 14.7
1/4 throttle: 14.7 - 15.5
1/2 throttle: 11.0-12.5
WFO throttle: 11.0-12.5

Last edited by hotnanas; 07-11-2009 at 11:20 AM.
hotnanas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 11:45 AM   #18
ArturoC
51% Geek, 49% SuperHero
 
ArturoC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Atascocita
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 23,248


Bike(s):
'99 GSXR600
'04 NSR 50
'09 Yamaha WR250X
'07 Triumph 675

Member Garage





Send a message via ICQ to ArturoC Send a message via AIM to ArturoC Send a message via Yahoo to ArturoC Send a message via Skype™ to ArturoC
Did you measure with the stock carb for a baseline reading?
__________________
Blog | Pics | YouTube
CMRA [Prov Nov]ice #404
Sponsors: D&D - GoPro - Amsoil
ArturoC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 03:18 PM   #19
hotnanas
i rock knobbies
 
hotnanas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 8,881

Experience: 10+ years











baseline for horsepower? or air:fuel?

regardless, no i didn't. I installed the carb a few weeks back, but I just installed my Leo Vince exhaust with the o2 bung today.
hotnanas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 03:33 PM   #20
maxgs
Guest
 
Posts: n/a







Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by hotnanas View Post
can you data log with these? i like being able to see my changes graphed, but it's not a requirement.

i have been considering the AEM one and the dynojet Wideband Commander...

i will look into the others.
I just bought a wide band a/f sensor for my RacePak G2X data acquisition system. Unfortunately it's larger that the bung in my Akra so I'll need to have some TIG welding done.

-Curt
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy