MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 05-10-2009, 11:21 AM   #1
Dreamer!!
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Hobby Airport
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 3,032

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
07 Ninja 250 (Sold), 93 CBR 900RR




Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to Dreamer!! Send a message via MSN to Dreamer!! Send a message via Yahoo to Dreamer!!
Volt Meter

first of all happy mothers day to everyone

okay now i'm almost sure i know how to use a volt meter, but i lost my old one then got a new one to test out my batter...everytime i touch the batter to test it...it sparks really bad...can someone tell me what i could be doing wrong?
__________________
[CENTER][IMG]http://img513.imageshack.us/img513/2174/48830454.png[/IMG][/CENTER]
Dreamer!! is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ok, why would you steal chevy volt wheels RACER X Off Topic 35 02-12-2013 01:56 PM
you are going to have you electric meter replaced to a "smart meter" urbanXJ Off Topic 31 08-02-2010 10:49 AM
Volt Meter Help Dreamer!! General Discussion (Moto Related) 6 03-25-2009 02:03 PM
on board volt meters? logan5 General Discussion (Moto Related) 15 01-14-2009 07:31 PM
An Australian man built up a 40,000-volt charge SE_Ryder122 Off Topic 3 09-21-2005 11:44 AM
Advertisement
Old 05-10-2009, 11:23 AM   #2
burnboy
upliftmofopartyplan
 
burnboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 3,609

Experience: 5 years

Bike(s):
2011 kawi z 1000









you may have it on the wrong current setting. ac vs. dc. or positive and earth cords are connected in the wrong place. touching the wrong cord to the wrong post
burnboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 11:24 AM   #3
Dreamer!!
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Hobby Airport
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 3,032

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
07 Ninja 250 (Sold), 93 CBR 900RR




Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to Dreamer!! Send a message via MSN to Dreamer!! Send a message via Yahoo to Dreamer!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by burnboy View Post
you may have it on the wrong current setting. ac vs. dc. or positive and earth cords are connected in the wrong place. touching the wrong cord to the wrong post
yea what i was thinking...do i run it on ac or dc...i tried both and the same thing happened, i dunno...is there a such thing as a faulty meter? lol
__________________
[CENTER][IMG]http://img513.imageshack.us/img513/2174/48830454.png[/IMG][/CENTER]
Dreamer!! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 12:04 PM   #4
Japawhat02
02 Tona
 
Japawhat02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: P-land
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 6,940

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 3

Bike(s):
2002 Daytona









dc. how many holes does it have to put the testers in.
__________________
2002 Brittish Rocket
Japawhat02 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 12:05 PM   #5
Dreamer!!
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Hobby Airport
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 3,032

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
07 Ninja 250 (Sold), 93 CBR 900RR




Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to Dreamer!! Send a message via MSN to Dreamer!! Send a message via Yahoo to Dreamer!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Japawhat02 View Post
dc. how many holes does it have to put the testers in.
has 3
__________________
[CENTER][IMG]http://img513.imageshack.us/img513/2174/48830454.png[/IMG][/CENTER]
Dreamer!! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 12:06 PM   #6
burnboy
upliftmofopartyplan
 
burnboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 3,609

Experience: 5 years

Bike(s):
2011 kawi z 1000









dc is the v with a straight and or dotted line. the ac is with a wave above the v. the cables have to be in the proper holes. if using dc in this case put the red wire in the hole with a v and a straight or dotted line. the black only goes in one hole. they are prolly color coded. a little spark could just be from initial cntact to the post. if it's shorting you would know.
burnboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 12:31 PM   #7
Dreamer!!
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Hobby Airport
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 3,032

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
07 Ninja 250 (Sold), 93 CBR 900RR




Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to Dreamer!! Send a message via MSN to Dreamer!! Send a message via Yahoo to Dreamer!!
is shorting when it sparks so much that the volt meter becomes hot? .tehe cause thats what its doing
__________________
[CENTER][IMG]http://img513.imageshack.us/img513/2174/48830454.png[/IMG][/CENTER]
Dreamer!! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 12:33 PM   #8
Charliebrown
Senior Member
 
Charliebrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: pasadena
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 5,914

Experience: 4 years

Bike(s):
zzr









Dude dreamer, what the hells been up.
Charliebrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 12:39 PM   #9
Dreamer!!
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Hobby Airport
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 3,032

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
07 Ninja 250 (Sold), 93 CBR 900RR




Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to Dreamer!! Send a message via MSN to Dreamer!! Send a message via Yahoo to Dreamer!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charliebrown View Post
Dude dreamer, what the hells been up.
nothing man, just getting back on the board...you sold your bike right? i've been trying to sell mine to get a car...my taurus' engine is focked...still turns and runs though
__________________
[CENTER][IMG]http://img513.imageshack.us/img513/2174/48830454.png[/IMG][/CENTER]
Dreamer!! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 12:41 PM   #10
Charliebrown
Senior Member
 
Charliebrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: pasadena
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 5,914

Experience: 4 years

Bike(s):
zzr









Dude get on aim, I got a car for you, im trying to sell my car for a bike.
Charliebrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 12:43 PM   #11
burnboy
upliftmofopartyplan
 
burnboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 3,609

Experience: 5 years

Bike(s):
2011 kawi z 1000









there is a fuse in the meter. dont blow it. i dont know why it's throwin sparks.
i dont know if a battery can short and cause a scenario such as you speak of. maybe more knowledge will chime
burnboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 01:08 PM   #12
Dreamer!!
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Hobby Airport
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 3,032

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
07 Ninja 250 (Sold), 93 CBR 900RR




Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to Dreamer!! Send a message via MSN to Dreamer!! Send a message via Yahoo to Dreamer!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by burnboy View Post
there is a fuse in the meter. dont blow it. i dont know why it's throwin sparks.
i dont know if a battery can short and cause a scenario such as you speak of. maybe more knowledge will chime
hopefully
__________________
[CENTER][IMG]http://img513.imageshack.us/img513/2174/48830454.png[/IMG][/CENTER]
Dreamer!! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 01:26 PM   #13
900rrSTUD
Member
 
900rrSTUD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Beaumont, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 27

Experience: 5 years

Bike(s):
2000 Honda cbr 929rr
1995 Honda cbr 900rr








Try the meter on a different battery
900rrSTUD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 01:33 PM   #14
Dreamer!!
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Hobby Airport
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 3,032

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
07 Ninja 250 (Sold), 93 CBR 900RR




Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to Dreamer!! Send a message via MSN to Dreamer!! Send a message via Yahoo to Dreamer!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by 900rrSTUD View Post
Try the meter on a different battery
no different one to try it on lol
__________________
[CENTER][IMG]http://img513.imageshack.us/img513/2174/48830454.png[/IMG][/CENTER]
Dreamer!! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 01:38 PM   #15
900rrSTUD
Member
 
900rrSTUD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Beaumont, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 27

Experience: 5 years

Bike(s):
2000 Honda cbr 929rr
1995 Honda cbr 900rr








then i'm no help...lol
900rrSTUD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 01:43 PM   #16
900rrSTUD
Member
 
900rrSTUD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Beaumont, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 27

Experience: 5 years

Bike(s):
2000 Honda cbr 929rr
1995 Honda cbr 900rr








sent you a pm...also take a pic of the meter and email it to me: cbroussard84@yahoo.com
900rrSTUD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 03:40 PM   #17
tef
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 121












Try the meter on a battery in a household item. Get the AAA's out of your remote or something. Any little non-dead battery will do (and won't spark like a big vehicle battery!) .The same setting will likely be appropriate for the battery from your remote as for the car. Once you touch the battery from the remote, you should get a reading of 1.x where x is something like 2-6. Once that works, you're ready to check the motorcycle battery.

Don't hold it on there a long time: if there's no reading, or if it doesn't make sense, you'll know right away.

Are you sure you don't have the meter set to measure resistance (ohms, the little horseshoe symbol)? You want to measure DCV, in the 20 or 100 range.

Like the last guy said, if you're not getting it, post up a photo of your meter, with the leads installed and set up like you think it should be to check a battery.
tef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 02:36 PM   #18
jdm_phunk
RideTillDeathDoUsPart
 
jdm_phunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Conroe tX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 297

Experience: 4 years

Bike(s):
05 CBR 600RR
50cC pocKet rocKet
95 Toyota Supra TT
95 ciVic






is the volt meter a high impedence? the meter it self is getting hot. then the circut board is prob shorted. most meters will only have a fuse to test amperage
__________________
"yea every morning I waKe uP I excellence.."

This IS the biKe racK. . . RighT??
jdm_phunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 02:40 PM   #19
CaligoneTx
Forest Gnome Tour Guide
 
CaligoneTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Valhalla
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 21,558

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
Triumph 675r
Ducati 748
Hyosungs (250r + 650r)
Honda 900rr
Suzuki Busa1300r (+2 bikes)






Send a message via AIM to CaligoneTx Send a message via Yahoo to CaligoneTx
^^^^bingo....

sounds like a cheap meter that is actually pulling a load from the battery instead of using its own power to test the voltage.


if you were on the wrong settings(amerage) its only gonna spark once before the fuse blows. If the terminals were swapped, the voltage reading would just be reversed.
__________________
triumphsig
CaligoneTx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 01:14 AM   #20
Mr.Jones
Senior Member
 
Mr.Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Channelview
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 458

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
02 f4i
09 Raider(dads bike)








You have one of the leads pluged in the wrong place. They normally have one that you cant use with power. On this meter you would not use the top hole to measure power. The black one would go in the "COM" hole and the red one in the "V.ohm.mA" hole

Click image for larger version

Name:	voltmeter-battery-pack1-005-320x332.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	16.9 KB
ID:	23792
__________________
mybanner495327b6488fddh3

Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways totally worn out shouting "HOLY T...WHAT A RIDE!"
Mr.Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy