MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > General Discussion > Taking it to the Track
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 04-21-2009, 09:08 AM   #21
Pyrofallout
<<<< S.B.N. >>>>
 
Pyrofallout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Feedback Rating: (31)
Posts: 25,364

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by Irish View Post
Of course it was having trouble how the do you think I pulled a 1:35.7


I thought your bike had one of these on it:

flux capacitor
__________________
“A government big enough to give you everything you want, is big enough to take away everything you have.”
"The course of history shows that as a government grows, liberty decreases."
-Thomas Jefferson
Pyrofallout is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lap timer The Hulk General Discussion (Moto Related) 7 06-03-2014 03:45 PM
lap timer Ducsmine Taking it to the Track 2 04-15-2013 05:36 PM
Lap Timer Candie Taking it to the Track 11 06-18-2008 07:38 AM
LAP TIMER QUESTION Radar Taking it to the Track 8 09-06-2006 10:15 PM
anyone need a lap timer? CarbonJames General Discussion (Moto Related) 21 04-06-2006 07:44 AM
Advertisement
Old 04-21-2009, 10:10 AM   #22
HighsideDave
Member
 
HighsideDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 58












Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyrofallout View Post
I have rented them at least 4-5 other times (MSRH & TWS (Texas World Speedway)) from Pete and never had an issue except once when someone knocked over the beacon at TWS (Texas World Speedway).
Oh don't say that...
then I must actually be running 15min laps... darn...


Actually the beacon usually works OK for me at TWS (Texas World Speedway).
HighsideDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 10:24 AM   #23
Pyrofallout
<<<< S.B.N. >>>>
 
Pyrofallout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Feedback Rating: (31)
Posts: 25,364

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by HighsideDave View Post
Oh don't say that...
then I must actually be running 15min laps... darn...


Actually the beacon usually works OK for me at TWS (Texas World Speedway).
Yeah he usually places it on the left side between 2 and 3 at TWS (Texas World Speedway) and it works pretty well. I think someone took it out once when they ran off or went down so it was out a session but one of the cornerworkers went out and fixed it.
__________________
“A government big enough to give you everything you want, is big enough to take away everything you have.”
"The course of history shows that as a government grows, liberty decreases."
-Thomas Jefferson
Pyrofallout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 11:01 AM   #24
rc51eviltwin
Senior Member
 
rc51eviltwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ODESSA,TX
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 843

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 1











Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyrofallout View Post
Hey brandt, wouldn't someone really fck things up if they put their own beacon out there? Then if it hit Pete's beacon and someone else's beacon it would think that is one lap, when really it may have only been part of a lap?

This is assuming the beacon is compatible with the mini xt's which i believe many are.
split times.....actually better if your timer supports it....
__________________
CMRA #131 Novice
"Ramrod Racing" #13

IMG 29388 1
rc51eviltwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 11:08 AM   #25
Pyrofallout
<<<< S.B.N. >>>>
 
Pyrofallout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Feedback Rating: (31)
Posts: 25,364

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by rc51eviltwin View Post
split times.....actually better if your timer supports it....
and worse if it doesnt
__________________
“A government big enough to give you everything you want, is big enough to take away everything you have.”
"The course of history shows that as a government grows, liberty decreases."
-Thomas Jefferson
Pyrofallout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 04:57 PM   #26
rc51eviltwin
Senior Member
 
rc51eviltwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ODESSA,TX
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 843

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 1











yep,if you run them and every one is not compatible their screwed.......
oh,on the question from the OP,i have mine on the ram tube cover but wedged to be "level" when bike is straight up/down
__________________
CMRA #131 Novice
"Ramrod Racing" #13

IMG 29388 1
rc51eviltwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 05:20 PM   #27
smokinjoe
Señor Membero
 
smokinjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Woodlands
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 4,045

Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
Honor Cycle 5000
╯°□°)╯┻━┻



Member Garage





Send a message via Yahoo to smokinjoe
make sure you double check that it's on there good before you go out,, zip tie it down cause mine flew off somewhere out at msrh! it was rented and i only got one session with it so i didnt know what i was running... had to pay for the timer too

number 20 if anyone has seen it

<--if u look close its in the pic lol
__________________
smokinjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 07:41 PM   #28
mcd
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Cypress
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 884












I am thinking of making a mounting bracket for the timer that would mount right over top of the steering stem nut on the top triple. It would use the front tank cover mounting bolt.

Any input on if this would be a good place to mount the timer? Do I have to worry about mounting the timer at a certain height to catch the beacon beam, or is it a pretty wide beam?
mcd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 07:52 PM   #29
Pyrofallout
<<<< S.B.N. >>>>
 
Pyrofallout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Feedback Rating: (31)
Posts: 25,364

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by smokinjoe View Post
make sure you double check that it's on there good before you go out,, zip tie it down cause mine flew off somewhere out at msrh! it was rented and i only got one session with it so i didnt know what i was running... had to pay for the timer too

number 20 if anyone has seen it

<--if u look close its in the pic lol
i mounted mine the same place you have yours but i ran a zip tie thru it and strapped it inside the tail just in case it came off the velcro.
__________________
“A government big enough to give you everything you want, is big enough to take away everything you have.”
"The course of history shows that as a government grows, liberty decreases."
-Thomas Jefferson
Pyrofallout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 09:47 PM   #30
rc51eviltwin
Senior Member
 
rc51eviltwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ODESSA,TX
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 843

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 1











Quote:
Originally Posted by mcd View Post
I am thinking of making a mounting bracket for the timer that would mount right over top of the steering stem nut on the top triple. It would use the front tank cover mounting bolt.

Any input on if this would be a good place to mount the timer? Do I have to worry about mounting the timer at a certain height to catch the beacon beam, or is it a pretty wide beam?

it would be installed at a bad place IMHO.
fore arms will prolly be in the way ....
__________________
CMRA #131 Novice
"Ramrod Racing" #13

IMG 29388 1
rc51eviltwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 01:30 AM   #31
Pre-K
Senior Member
 
Pre-K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Tomball
Feedback Rating: (11)
Posts: 3,413

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2012 CBR1000RR
2014 Specialized








Quote:
Originally Posted by houseofpain View Post
beacon was in a bad location, when riding the "correct" race line.....there is absolutely no way the beacon can catch the lap timer. the beacon requires a certain distance from the lap timer and being that the beacon was right up on the wall, made it have some problems. pete will be putting the beacon on the rider's right at msrh from now on.
What he said...

And I was running the best I've ever run out there... I was none too happy I have no times to show for it.
Pre-K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 07:43 AM   #32
cdill35
717
 
cdill35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cypress
Feedback Rating: (5)
Posts: 9,586

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2014 Phoenix 921 Pro XP w/ Merc 250 ProXS
11 Yam Zuma 125
Specialized Stumpy







Get the xt Ultra or whatever they call it. much better imo. Save tracks, auto turn on, temp, time, date and all types of info. Mount the display on your tank, triple, gauge cluster or where ever...then you have like a 20" lead that you can place the reciever on the left or right side of your front fairings.

http://www.superbiketoystore.com/spo...imer-receiver/

Then, if you get really off at the people putting out transmitters, you can get your own. They sell those too. Its the same one that most timer rental people put out.

Or pony up for a GPS based timer.
cdill35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 07:54 PM   #33
mcd
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Cypress
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 884












It sounds like the problem was with the beacon placement, not my lap timer.

I like the XT mini lap since it is easy to mount, and can switch between bikes very easily.

I guess I am just going to leave it mounted in the same spot, and try it again next trackday.
mcd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 10:46 AM   #34
PropHead
Senior Member
 
PropHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Magnolia
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 169

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
Yamaha wr 250
BMW1150 GS
Yamaha tt 90
Suzuki GSXR 600






Quote:
Originally Posted by smokinjoe View Post
make sure you double check that it's on there good before you go out,, zip tie it down cause mine flew off somewhere out at msrh! it was rented and i only got one session with it so i didnt know what i was running... had to pay for the timer too

number 20 if anyone has seen it

<--if u look close its in the pic lol
The timer was found but don't know what kind of condition it was in yet; will let you know as soon as I get it back.

As Tony said we'll try putting it on the right side of the track next time if see if that doesn't solve this issue. Anyone who had trouble last weekend or even if you didn't, lap timers 50% off next time. Sorry guys, if only you'd slow down.
__________________
Pete

Last edited by PropHead; 04-23-2009 at 10:47 AM. Reason: spelling
PropHead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 10:47 AM   #35
Pyrofallout
<<<< S.B.N. >>>>
 
Pyrofallout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Feedback Rating: (31)
Posts: 25,364

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by PropHead View Post
The timer was found but don't know what kind of condition it was it yet; will let you know as soon as I get it back.

As Tony said we'll try putting it on the right side of the track next time if see if that doesn't solve this issue. Anyone who had trouble last weekend or even if you didn't, lap timers 50% off next time. Sorry guys, if only you'd slow down.
So you mean I can buy my next lap timer for only $50??




Just kidding Pete! Thanks for looking into the beacon issue for us and thanks for the sweet lap timer!
__________________
“A government big enough to give you everything you want, is big enough to take away everything you have.”
"The course of history shows that as a government grows, liberty decreases."
-Thomas Jefferson
Pyrofallout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 10:55 AM   #36
smokinjoe
Señor Membero
 
smokinjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Woodlands
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 4,045

Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
Honor Cycle 5000
╯°□°)╯┻━┻



Member Garage





Send a message via Yahoo to smokinjoe
Quote:
Originally Posted by PropHead View Post
The timer was found but don't know what kind of condition it was in yet; will let you know as soon as I get it back.

As Tony said we'll try putting it on the right side of the track next time if see if that doesn't solve this issue. Anyone who had trouble last weekend or even if you didn't, lap timers 50% off next time. Sorry guys, if only you'd slow down.
thats good news to hear! i'd like to swing by and pick it up whenever i can.. let me know when a good time would be
__________________
smokinjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 10:58 AM   #37
smokinjoe
Señor Membero
 
smokinjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Woodlands
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 4,045

Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
Honor Cycle 5000
╯°□°)╯┻━┻



Member Garage





Send a message via Yahoo to smokinjoe
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyrofallout View Post

Thanks for looking into the beacon issue for us and thanks for the sweet lap timer!

hey thats mine
__________________
smokinjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 11:46 AM   #38
Pyrofallout
<<<< S.B.N. >>>>
 
Pyrofallout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Feedback Rating: (31)
Posts: 25,364

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by smokinjoe View Post
hey thats mine
hey fark you. i paid pete $100 + tax for that bad boy. take it up with him.
__________________
“A government big enough to give you everything you want, is big enough to take away everything you have.”
"The course of history shows that as a government grows, liberty decreases."
-Thomas Jefferson
Pyrofallout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 12:34 PM   #39
Pre-K
Senior Member
 
Pre-K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Tomball
Feedback Rating: (11)
Posts: 3,413

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2012 CBR1000RR
2014 Specialized








RadioShack has some REALLY good velcro type stuff... it practically locks into place and the backing is super sticky (held timers tight through 2 crashes).

Its sold in clear strips about an inch wide and 3" long for about $4.
Pre-K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 02:53 PM   #40
Alstare_Gixxer
Crash Meister
 
Alstare_Gixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 203












Quote:
Originally Posted by cdill35 View Post
Get the xt Ultra or whatever they call it. much better imo. Save tracks, auto turn on, temp, time, date and all types of info. Mount the display on your tank, triple, gauge cluster or where ever...then you have like a 20" lead that you can place the reciever on the left or right side of your front fairings.

http://www.superbiketoystore.com/spo...imer-receiver/

Then, if you get really off at the people putting out transmitters, you can get your own. They sell those too. Its the same one that most timer rental people put out.

Or pony up for a GPS based timer.
I dig AIM Mychron light TG. Crashed at Cresson, somehow the face plate got grounded along with 2 buttons but never missed a beat, and still working after that.
Alstare_Gixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy