MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > General Discussion > General Discussion (Moto Related)
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 04-15-2009, 01:46 AM   #1
AYEELE
Yeah i can get it up
 
AYEELE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: houston
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 3,089

Experience: 6 years

Bike(s):
08 1000rr
silver 04 r6(stunt)
Black 03 600rr(sold)
White and pink 06 r6






how to use a radar and gps?

ok i was wondering if i bought a cheap passport and a cheap tomtom, and i wanted to use it on the rr. any ideas to mount and connect it to the battery? i know the suction cups wont dont sh*t so im guessing i need to drill it onto the windshield. anyone has done this or have any ideas how to? thanks
__________________
AYEELE is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radar Detector / GPS on windshield jptshadow Car Forum 9 07-07-2012 02:39 PM
Stand alone GPS or Smartphone GPS for bike? hotcknstrips General Discussion (Moto Related) 17 12-01-2011 10:57 AM
Radar vs GPS Ulric Off Topic 8 02-23-2011 12:54 PM
Electronic Goodies (radar detectors, laser veils, GPS) CDN_bacon General Discussion (Moto Related) 34 09-25-2009 10:30 AM
"My GPS proves your radar gun is wrong" ArturoC Off Topic 10 10-30-2007 11:55 AM
Advertisement
Old 04-15-2009, 07:38 AM   #2
thewrx
Guest
 
Posts: n/a







Member Garage





check our powerlett.com they have all sorts of electrical connectors for bikes.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 07:41 AM   #3
sbfuller
the crotch-rocketeer!
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Dickinson
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 15,916

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
2006 Hayabusa (totaled)2007 Hayabusa, 2004 CRF 50









is there a cheap passport? the only one i know of worth having is the 8500 or 9500 and those are $350+

and I made amount for mine on the busa... but i have a v1, and pyrofallout did the same on his r6 with a passport.

you can get or make a cheap hardwire setup to connect it to the battery. do some research on google and you can find it. may also want to check out radardetector.net I put a thread in there in the motorcycle area that shows my mount
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by less_than_coop View Post
Its the stupidity. It gets added to our forum in normal and controlled doses which actually serves to the benefit of the website.

Last edited by sbfuller; 04-15-2009 at 07:43 AM.
sbfuller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 07:44 AM   #4
Pyrofallout
<<<< S.B.N. >>>>
 
Pyrofallout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Feedback Rating: (31)
Posts: 25,364

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by AJ600RR View Post
ok i was wondering if i bought a cheap passport and a cheap tomtom, and i wanted to use it on the rr. any ideas to mount and connect it to the battery? i know the suction cups wont dont sh*t so im guessing i need to drill it onto the windshield. anyone has done this or have any ideas how to? thanks
oxymorons.

there is no such thing as a cheap tomtom or a cheap escort.



in all seriousness, unless you have something like a busa or a zx14 your gonna be seriously hurting for room to mount both.

I have a legalspeeding.com windscreen mount that holds my 9500i and a escort smartcord directwire running to my battery (fuses) and the control box mounted underneath the instrument cluster. I will try to get a pic for you this evening.

I don't use a GPS navi on my bike but what I have seen many people do is go with one that is flat (like not bulging out the back but maybe 11-1.5 in thick and get a tank bag with a window on the front. Run a hardwire to the battery (fused) and just plug it in and zip the tank bag up leaving just enough room for the wire.

That way your GPS is in the tank bag and out of the way but still visible. But like I said, your gonna be hard pressed to get both mounted behind the windscreen. I have a ZeroGravity double bubble on the R6s and there is no way in I could get a GPS in that tiny space along with my radar without causing clearance issues when turning.
__________________
A government big enough to give you everything you want, is big enough to take away everything you have.
"The course of history shows that as a government grows, liberty decreases."
-Thomas Jefferson
Pyrofallout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 07:58 AM   #5
houstonch73
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NW Houston
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 2,704

Experience: 10+ years











Send a message via Yahoo to houstonch73
User is banned

.
houstonch73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 08:05 AM   #6
Pyrofallout
<<<< S.B.N. >>>>
 
Pyrofallout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Feedback Rating: (31)
Posts: 25,364

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





just go pick one up at walmart if you want a 12v cig outlet. they are only a few bucks and come with lil covers. mudbug has one on his bike for his phone charger.

but if it is something like gps and/or radar that you plan to use on your bike regularly, get a hardwire and save yourself the trouble/dashspace/cutting your fairings/ect.
__________________
A government big enough to give you everything you want, is big enough to take away everything you have.
"The course of history shows that as a government grows, liberty decreases."
-Thomas Jefferson
Pyrofallout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 03:05 PM   #7
AYEELE
Yeah i can get it up
 
AYEELE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: houston
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 3,089

Experience: 6 years

Bike(s):
08 1000rr
silver 04 r6(stunt)
Black 03 600rr(sold)
White and pink 06 r6






thanks guys. well i meant cheap like a used one off off houston-imports.com. i see a couple for about 150-200. i was wondering about the wiring. where can i hide it on my rr?
__________________
AYEELE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 03:08 PM   #8
Pyrofallout
<<<< S.B.N. >>>>
 
Pyrofallout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Feedback Rating: (31)
Posts: 25,364

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by AJ600RR View Post
thanks guys. well i meant cheap like a used one off off houston-imports.com. i see a couple for about 150-200. i was wondering about the wiring. where can i hide it on my rr?
do you know where most the radar detectors for sale on HI come from?
__________________
A government big enough to give you everything you want, is big enough to take away everything you have.
"The course of history shows that as a government grows, liberty decreases."
-Thomas Jefferson
Pyrofallout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 03:12 PM   #9
sbfuller
the crotch-rocketeer!
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Dickinson
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 15,916

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
2006 Hayabusa (totaled)2007 Hayabusa, 2004 CRF 50









Quote:
Originally Posted by AJ600RR View Post
thanks guys. well i meant cheap like a used one off off houston-imports.com. i see a couple for about 150-200. i was wondering about the wiring. where can i hide it on my rr?
you can hide the wires with the rest of the wires that go to your speedometer
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by less_than_coop View Post
Its the stupidity. It gets added to our forum in normal and controlled doses which actually serves to the benefit of the website.
sbfuller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 06:43 PM   #10
AYEELE
Yeah i can get it up
 
AYEELE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: houston
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 3,089

Experience: 6 years

Bike(s):
08 1000rr
silver 04 r6(stunt)
Black 03 600rr(sold)
White and pink 06 r6






Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyrofallout View Post
do you know where most the radar detectors for sale on HI come from?
no?? im guessing from the owner?
__________________
AYEELE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 06:46 PM   #11
Pyrofallout
<<<< S.B.N. >>>>
 
Pyrofallout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Feedback Rating: (31)
Posts: 25,364

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by AJ600RR View Post
no?? im guessing from the owner?
try again. a huge number of the radar's for sale on HI are stolen ( I would bet a big percentage of everything sold on HI is stolen). Just me, but I'd much rather not roll around with stolen (much less something some cops don't like you having) in my vehicle.

My 9500i was stolen from my truck from a guy who sold TONS of radars on HI. We are talking several high end radars a week. Just FYI. Go legit, buy from an authorized dealer and get your warranty. It will come in handy when you need it. Not to mention I wouldn't want to send a radar in for an upgrade if the serial number may have been reported stolen.
__________________
A government big enough to give you everything you want, is big enough to take away everything you have.
"The course of history shows that as a government grows, liberty decreases."
-Thomas Jefferson
Pyrofallout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 06:47 PM   #12
Pyrofallout
<<<< S.B.N. >>>>
 
Pyrofallout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Feedback Rating: (31)
Posts: 25,364

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by sbfuller View Post
you can hide the wires with the rest of the wires that go to your speedometer
zip ties ftw. zip tie the wire to the cluster wires and just let enough wire come out to reach to the plug on the radar.
__________________
A government big enough to give you everything you want, is big enough to take away everything you have.
"The course of history shows that as a government grows, liberty decreases."
-Thomas Jefferson
Pyrofallout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 06:53 PM   #13
AYEELE
Yeah i can get it up
 
AYEELE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: houston
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 3,089

Experience: 6 years

Bike(s):
08 1000rr
silver 04 r6(stunt)
Black 03 600rr(sold)
White and pink 06 r6






Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyrofallout View Post
try again. a huge number of the radar's for sale on HI are stolen ( I would bet a big percentage of everything sold on HI is stolen). Just me, but I'd much rather not roll around with stolen (much less something some cops don't like you having) in my vehicle.

My 9500i was stolen from my truck from a guy who sold TONS of radars on HI. We are talking several high end radars a week. Just FYI. Go legit, buy from an authorized dealer and get your warranty. It will come in handy when you need it. Not to mention I wouldn't want to send a radar in for an upgrade if the serial number may have been reported stolen.
wow. i buy and sell from HI all the time but i never knew about the radars being stolen. i wouldnt bought it anyways. but thanks everyone for there in put. i should be having one soon
i was still wondering though about the wires. i know i can hide the wires under the speedo, but what about the rest that leads to the battery? should i tuck it under the fairing? or gas tank? i know doesnt reeally sound like a good idea lol
__________________
AYEELE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 07:10 PM   #14
Pyrofallout
<<<< S.B.N. >>>>
 
Pyrofallout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Feedback Rating: (31)
Posts: 25,364

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by AJ600RR View Post
wow. i buy and sell from HI all the time but i never knew about the radars being stolen. i wouldnt bought it anyways. but thanks everyone for there in put. i should be having one soon
i was still wondering though about the wires. i know i can hide the wires under the speedo, but what about the rest that leads to the battery? should i tuck it under the fairing? or gas tank? i know doesnt reeally sound like a good idea lol
my hardwire goes back behin the speedo then through the fairings where the ram air ducts are under the gas tank back to under the seat where the battery is. never had an issue. there is plenty of other electical wires underneath the tank. i just zip tied it in various places to keep it put.

edit:wait, that was for the lights. i'll have to look where i connected my radar i actually don't remember now that i think about it. I know i connected so that when the key is off there is no power going to the cord (for bike washing purposes)
__________________
A government big enough to give you everything you want, is big enough to take away everything you have.
"The course of history shows that as a government grows, liberty decreases."
-Thomas Jefferson
Pyrofallout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 07:40 PM   #15
chasee69
ballin' outta control!
 
chasee69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Houston
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 6,892

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
CRF 50






i have a passport 8500 for sale if you want pm me
__________________

ducatisignature
chasee69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 08:56 PM   #16
pelochas
Senior Member
 
pelochas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Stinkadena
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 234

Experience: 1 year

Bike(s):
2004 Kawasaki ZX-6R






now that i remember, i have a radar in my truck that i rarely use now so wondering if the it works behind the plastic windscreen and heavy duty velcro i have at work with super sticky 3m double sided tape. would be cool if it works then i just stick on and stick off when i needed back in the truck
pelochas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 09:01 PM   #17
nemesis
Member
 
nemesis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: westside
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 38


Bike(s):
2007 GSXR1000









This is what will work for sport bikes. Mounts in the steering head then you connect your ram mount instead of suction cup.

http://www.touratech-usa.com/shop/sh...ACDBRkU322B7E5

Touratech has all the ram mounts and wiring you may need. And they have the best prices on the GPS receivers. You can call them and they will direct you to what you may need because their is allot to look through. Lots of stuff for sport touring bikes.

You can have them send you a catalog. Honda dealers used to hand them out, check with them.
nemesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 09:24 PM   #18
puertorico600r
Senior Member
 
puertorico600r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 367

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
R6









i do bikes all the time at my shop send me a pm
puertorico600r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 04:33 PM   #19
gsxrjai
Sink or swim
 
gsxrjai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: North Houston
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 2,649

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
'03 GSXR 600 Sold
??? Not Sure ???








http://www.powerletproducts.com/

http://www.powerletproducts.com/shop...10/347#formtop
gsxrjai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy