MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > General Discussion > Taking it to the Track
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 04-07-2009, 05:20 PM   #1
RoadracerNC
Former Dragon Slayer
 
RoadracerNC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Pearland
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 7,250

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 10+











Send a message via AIM to RoadracerNC
Quickshifter

This is probably, definetely, a repost. But I just needed someone to clarify for me.

To operate a quickshifter, do you need both a power commander and an ignition module? Or just the ignition module? I'm completely clueless and have heard conflicting theories.

Thanks!

-Adam
__________________
"The liberties of none are safe, unless the liberties of all are protected." -Justice William O. Douglas
NewSig2 1
RoadracerNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PK Power quickshifter bluewave18 General Discussion (Moto Related) 2 10-30-2008 10:45 PM
ignition module and quickshifter install gixxerman Taking it to the Track 8 09-03-2008 08:13 AM
Advertisement
Old 04-07-2009, 05:23 PM   #2
Candy
The Most Intolerable bish
 
Candy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: H-Town
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 4,209

Experience: 6 years
Trackdays: 7

Bike(s):
'06 GSXR 1000
'02 GSXR 750



Member Garage





Send a message via Yahoo to Candy
BOTH on my moto.
__________________
Bringing Color To A Face Near You
Candy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 05:27 PM   #3
solow
What type of gas is that?
 
solow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dickinson
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 375


Bike(s):
07' R6









I have read that some r6's have ran a qs with out a moudle. i tried and it did not work on my 07 r6. Have had the moudle for about a mounth now but have yet to set it up with the comp. You might try to look it up on r6-forum.com for more info.
solow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 05:28 PM   #4
rc51eviltwin
Senior Member
 
rc51eviltwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ODESSA,TX
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 843

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 1











both and still cross your fingers,after $800 (plus PC) mine still dont work........
__________________
CMRA #131 Novice
"Ramrod Racing" #13

IMG 29388 1
rc51eviltwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 05:34 PM   #5
RoadracerNC
Former Dragon Slayer
 
RoadracerNC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Pearland
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 7,250

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 10+











Send a message via AIM to RoadracerNC
Quote:
Originally Posted by rc51eviltwin View Post
both and still cross your fingers,after $800 (plus PC) mine still dont work........
What!

Get the fvck out of here. It still doesn't work.....

Whoa.....I'm not sure the $$$$ is worth the risk.
__________________
"The liberties of none are safe, unless the liberties of all are protected." -Justice William O. Douglas
NewSig2 1
RoadracerNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 05:37 PM   #6
ChuckR1
SlyGuys Pimp
 
ChuckR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 98

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
One sick '07 R1
I OWN SixerSlyGuys '06 R6
Any other bike that SlyGuy might buy in the future, I will OWN too.







Call 1-800-992-4993 and they can tell you. That's the number to dyno jet.
__________________
I OWN sixerSLYGUY
ChuckR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 05:45 PM   #7
07SLVRCBR
October '08 BOTM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Friendswood
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 4,064

Experience: 1-3 months

Bike(s):
2007 CBR1000RR









Get teh Bazaaz setup. It's better anywho
__________________
Support your site sponsors!!

See ya @ the track!
07SLVRCBR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 07:28 PM   #8
tomLSTD
LSTD Mob Cappo
 
tomLSTD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 6,798

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 1






Member Garage





I ran my PCIII with Quickshifter only. Easy setup, works well.
__________________
I am Tyler Durdin's bad attitude.
tomLSTD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 07:33 PM   #9
rc51eviltwin
Senior Member
 
rc51eviltwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ODESSA,TX
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 843

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 1











i had to run the ign module,pcIII and the quick shifter and the sensor.
4 pcs all together.
__________________
CMRA #131 Novice
"Ramrod Racing" #13

IMG 29388 1
rc51eviltwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 07:36 PM   #10
tomLSTD
LSTD Mob Cappo
 
tomLSTD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 6,798

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 1






Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by rc51eviltwin View Post
i had to run the ign module,pcIII and the quick shifter and the sensor.
4 pcs all together.
That may just be for your bike, IDK, but with mine I only had the PCIII and quickshifter.
__________________
I am Tyler Durdin's bad attitude.
tomLSTD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 09:20 PM   #11
Candy
The Most Intolerable bish
 
Candy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: H-Town
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 4,209

Experience: 6 years
Trackdays: 7

Bike(s):
'06 GSXR 1000
'02 GSXR 750



Member Garage





Send a message via Yahoo to Candy
Quote:
Originally Posted by 07SLVRCBR View Post
Get teh Bazaaz setup. It's better anywho
+1, I'm hearing all kind of good feedback about it!
__________________
Bringing Color To A Face Near You
Candy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 10:50 PM   #12
Jerran V
Senior Member
 
Jerran V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Med Center
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 475

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2006 GSXR 1000









It's for a fact bike dependent. Mine requires an ignition module, PCIII and a quickshifter...some only require the latter 2.
Jerran V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 11:22 PM   #13
Radar
Senior Member
 
Radar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Near Corpus Christi
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,045


Bike(s):
CBR1000RR









Inline 4's with 8 injectors require both PC and ingnition Module. When they are properly installed and set - up they are awesome!
Radar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 07:59 AM   #14
RoadracerNC
Former Dragon Slayer
 
RoadracerNC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Pearland
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 7,250

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 10+











Send a message via AIM to RoadracerNC
Hmm.....

If I got to buy all 3, I may just wait. Money can be better spent right now else where, like suspension/tires/seat time.

Thanks for the responses. Good knowledge!
__________________
"The liberties of none are safe, unless the liberties of all are protected." -Justice William O. Douglas
NewSig2 1
RoadracerNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 08:56 AM   #15
07SLVRCBR
October '08 BOTM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Friendswood
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 4,064

Experience: 1-3 months

Bike(s):
2007 CBR1000RR









The longer you wait, the better the Bazaaz is gonna be, RRNC.

I've not heard many bad things about it.
__________________
Support your site sponsors!!

See ya @ the track!
07SLVRCBR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 09:45 AM   #16
rc51eviltwin
Senior Member
 
rc51eviltwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ODESSA,TX
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 843

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 1











yeah i would spend the money on suspension and seat time WAY before quick shifter.
by the time you get ready, the bazzaz will prolly have all the traction control built in and for the same price if not less.
IMO the quick shifter's only advantage is consitency on lap times.
you still have to get lines,entry speed and all that good stuff down on your own.
of course i dont know how much experience you have.....
but they sound awesome down the straight aways.
__________________
CMRA #131 Novice
"Ramrod Racing" #13

IMG 29388 1
rc51eviltwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 09:56 AM   #17
07SLVRCBR
October '08 BOTM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Friendswood
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 4,064

Experience: 1-3 months

Bike(s):
2007 CBR1000RR









Quote:
Originally Posted by rc51eviltwin View Post
yeah i would spend the money on suspension and seat time WAY before quick shifter.
by the time you get ready, the bazzaz will prolly have all the traction control built in and for the same price if not less.
IMO the quick shifter's only advantage is consitency on lap times.
you still have to get lines,entry speed and all that good stuff down on your own.
of course i dont know how much experience you have.....
but they sound awesome down the straight aways.
Very good post, Twin. And I agree with the suspension a million percent. I just upgraded my shock (Ohlins) and forks (Ohlins carts) and HOLY CHIT!!! It is a totally different animal. Much more docile, much more planted, way easier to ride fast (except I'm not fast).
__________________
Support your site sponsors!!

See ya @ the track!
07SLVRCBR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 10:17 AM   #18
MadMax143
Senior Member
 
MadMax143's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chilton,WI (now)
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 117

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
A bunch of F2/F3s.









It is bike dependent as stated above...based off what I'm seeing for your bike, you need PC3, Ignition Module and Quickshifter.

Hopefully this link will take you to the R6 page...

http://www.powercommander.com/powerc...dl=123&yr=2006
MadMax143 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 10:20 AM   #19
RoadracerNC
Former Dragon Slayer
 
RoadracerNC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Pearland
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 7,250

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 10+











Send a message via AIM to RoadracerNC
Thanks for the responses guys!
__________________
"The liberties of none are safe, unless the liberties of all are protected." -Justice William O. Douglas
NewSig2 1
RoadracerNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 10:03 PM   #20
Radar
Senior Member
 
Radar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Near Corpus Christi
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,045


Bike(s):
CBR1000RR









One more thing to consider: The biggest advantage of the quick shifter for ME personally is reduced rider workload (physically).

Here's an example (not perfect - example, but you'll get the idea): MSR Houston. 17 corners Begin coming out of turn 1 ( 2 upshifts), go thru 17/16 then 3 upshifts on the way to the launch, maybe 1 upshift between the keyhole and the bus stop, then 3 upshifts on the back straight, then 2 or 3 upshifts between diamonds edge and the carousel.

Total upshifts per lap 10. For easy math call it 2 minutes per lap which is 5 upshifts per minute (average = 1 every 12 seconds). In a 20 minute session that is 100 times you have to twist your wrist / preload your shifter and shift. And heaven forbid use the clutch if you are living in the stone ages.

If you are riding with Buck or @ Harris Hill - it is multiplied x 1.5 (30 minute sessions) or you have to do all that 150 times per session. Take 100 x 8 sessions and you have to do this 800 times in a day or 1200 times if you are riding 30 minute sessions. Add that to the downshifts (quickshifter doesn't help here) and you have to go throught the motion 1600 or 2400 times per day.

With a quickshifter you eliminate 50% or as many as 1200 motions per day. You still have to gently mover the shifter, but no wrist snapping / clutch pulling or firm preloading of the shifter prior to the shift.

At the end of the day you will be much less fatigued - it really does make a big difference! That is the MAIN reason I have one.
Radar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy