Welcome back to us :/ Our hosts data center was down for the entire day.
MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Off Topic (everything else) > Off Topic
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 02-11-2006, 02:40 AM   #1
Solracer
MotoHouston.com Owner.
 
Solracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kemah Area
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 28,903

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2006 YZF600R (Street)
2009 Iron 883



Member Garage


whats the longest distance that you can get out of your routers..... lol

After weeks of trying to get something going.....today it happend.

The apartments I live in will not let timewarner onto my property....there for no internet. And both DSL services are not availabile in my location..... so , whats a guy to do?.....

I went thru several setups...... spent alot at frys, returned 2 AP's and osme other junk because they didnt work. As of today this is what I have....


3 wrt54g's (hacked and power output is at 210mw, one is connected to my friends modem, one at my place, and the other in her garage acting as a repeater of the other two.

1 crappy (low gain) indoor antenna placed outside her garage, hooked to the middle router pointing in my direction.

linksysdistance

lol, if it looks far...its because it IS Im saying anywhere from 1000-1200 feet.

Im getting a modest 1.4 down .386 up

my lag times on CS are actually not bad or noticable at all.

I plan on either making or buying some high gain outdoor direction antennas in hopes to improve things.....but IM HAPPY WITH WHAT I HAVE.:icon_bigg
__________________
Chris
Solracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yo whats GOOD!!! from chicago lol R6Spartan Off Topic 7 04-07-2011 07:12 PM
from a distance bunxx Off Topic 3 02-07-2011 04:45 AM
whats the furthest distance you have walked? tonyt915 Off Topic 47 09-03-2009 08:27 PM
question about wireless routers Azylum Off Topic 12 01-10-2009 11:45 PM
whats this world coming to lol JRxGRUBZx Off Topic 1 05-23-2008 12:32 PM
Advertisement
Old 02-11-2006, 02:46 AM   #2
Din
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: dont talk about it, be about it.
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 2,160

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
GSXR with CHROME PACKAGE









internet is liek crack huh. geekin for it that bad and would do anythign for it.
Din is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 02:48 AM   #3
linjy2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: sugar land
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 1,178


Bike(s):
02 SV650S
08 WR250X
08 CBR600RR







Send a message via AIM to linjy2
haha very well done.
linjy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 02:56 AM   #4
Din
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: dont talk about it, be about it.
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 2,160

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
GSXR with CHROME PACKAGE









woudlnt it be easier jsut to move to somewhere with TW?
Din is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 02:58 AM   #5
train460
speed junky
 
train460's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Cypress Tx (cypress N Houston & jones)
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 2,379

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
88 v-max
05 Honda Goldwing
85 V-max (wifes)
05 Vtx 1300 (wifes)






Quote:
Originally Posted by Din
woudlnt it be easier jsut to move to somewhere with TW?
Or use the free internet at the library.
Or the MANY free hotspots around town now.
__________________
A man opens the door for u not because he is polite. It's so he can check out your .
Michael Hansen
Cypress Tx
88 v-max
train460 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 02:58 AM   #6
chasee69
ballin' outta control!
 
chasee69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Houston
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 6,892

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
CRF 50






dont they have internet that works anywhere in the city wirelessly?
__________________

ducatisignature
chasee69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 03:00 AM   #7
Din
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: dont talk about it, be about it.
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 2,160

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
GSXR with CHROME PACKAGE









Quote:
Originally Posted by chasee69
dont they have internet that works anywhere in the city wirelessly?
yeah verzion offers it . its liek 50$ a month.
Din is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 03:10 AM   #8
Solracer
MotoHouston.com Owner.
 
Solracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kemah Area
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 28,903

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2006 YZF600R (Street)
2009 Iron 883



Member Garage


well, I didnt really choose to move here, just kinda have to live here

library, Ive been doing that, but they have a connection, and use pentium 1 computers......

I needed something at my house where I can actually USE the internet


I dont live "in town" so the hot spots thing is out. This was my only REAL option....now, then time warner is allowed back onto the property.......im signing up for the 8 megs down package lol. Until then, this will do.
__________________
Chris
Solracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 03:12 AM   #9
zero4o3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 6,848












Send a message via AIM to zero4o3 Send a message via Yahoo to zero4o3
so why arnt they allowed on? and you dont need them to come on the in as long as there service is working in your area just got to pick up a modem
zero4o3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 03:21 AM   #10
Solracer
MotoHouston.com Owner.
 
Solracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kemah Area
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 28,903

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2006 YZF600R (Street)
2009 Iron 883



Member Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by zero4o3
so why arnt they allowed on? and you dont need them to come on the in as long as there service is working in your area just got to pick up a modem

TVMAX has all the lines, and are in contract with my complex


BTW, zero403, said it wouldnt work rofl
__________________
Chris
Solracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 03:25 AM   #11
zero4o3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 6,848












Send a message via AIM to zero4o3 Send a message via Yahoo to zero4o3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solracer
TVMAX has all the lines, and are in contract with my complex


BTW, zero403, said it wouldnt work rofl
i beilve what i said was, its not going to work with out mounting a antena on the out side, then i said hey those AP's you got wont make a diff cause they are weaker then the routers :P
zero4o3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 03:27 AM   #12
Moody
Holy Smokes!
 
Moody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 14,685


Bike(s):
281









Be a good boy now.... wouldn't want to have the wrong people knocking on your friends door.

Netstumbler
__________________

Open your eyes and reclaim the freedom you were born with. - Moody
Moody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 03:29 AM   #13
Solracer
MotoHouston.com Owner.
 
Solracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kemah Area
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 28,903

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2006 YZF600R (Street)
2009 Iron 883



Member Garage


when you roll down the street all you see is one router "Glacier" (which is WDS encrypted.) and for all anyone knows, she just wanted to extend her range so she could be on her laptop down the street at the park. lol
__________________
Chris
Solracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 03:59 AM   #14
Greenway Smokey
Super duper member!
 
Greenway Smokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Galleria
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 2,382


Bike(s):
'04 1200XL









Send a message via AIM to Greenway Smokey
So, what now? You stealing internte? drink it!@
__________________
If dwells inside us, like some people say, I sure hope he likes enchiladas, because that's what he's getting!
www.eat4sport.com
Greenway Smokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 04:36 AM   #15
cytukyl
Senior Member
 
cytukyl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Never Eat Sour Worms...heights area
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 2,584


Bike(s):
01 red/white R6 badass edition
1996 honda cbr f3 (sold)



Member Garage


man that is some sweet setup but what about those losers with wireless internet that "MIGHT" tag along for the ride???
__________________
I CAN ONLY PLEASE ONE PERSON A DAY-
TODAY IS NOT YOUR DAY.
TOMORROW DOESNT LOOK GOOD
EITHER.

cytukyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 08:49 AM   #16
SBK Pilot
non playa hatar
 
SBK Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Heights
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 5,570

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
:: 05 GSXR 750 ::

:: 07 GSXR 1K ::
:: 11 ZUMA 125 ::
stop listing what u sold here - nobody cares...






Quote:
Originally Posted by Solracer
3 wrt54g's (hacked and power output is at 210mw, one is connected to my friends modem, one at my place, and the other in her garage acting as a repeater of the other two.

1 crappy (low gain) indoor antenna placed outside her garage, hooked to the middle router pointing in my direction.

Im getting a modest 1.4 down .386 up

I plan on either making or buying some high gain outdoor direction antennas in hopes to improve things.....but IM HAPPY WITH WHAT I HAVE.:icon_bigg
good job man!... you're on track too - directional antennas are the next step...

however, since you're already getting 1.4/.386 - there's really no need to upgrade as many residential transfer rates are 2.0/.384. So you'd only be gaining .6 download for probably $200 in greenage. Unless she has something like 6.0/.768 THEN I'd invest in directionals.

something else to consider is Linksys has that new SRX technology which everybody appears to be stark raving mad over. check it out as well - you might not have to hack your output and risk frying it. Link here
SBK Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 08:50 AM   #17
BrutusTx
Guest
 
Posts: n/a







Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by cytukyl
man that is some sweet setup but what about those losers with wireless internet that "MIGHT" tag along for the ride???
Yeah, seems like that could be a big problem and wouldn't that effect performance?
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 11:09 AM   #18
Din
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: dont talk about it, be about it.
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 2,160

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
GSXR with CHROME PACKAGE









why not use the verizon anywhere broadband though?
Din is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 11:15 AM   #19
SBK Pilot
non playa hatar
 
SBK Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Heights
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 5,570

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
:: 05 GSXR 750 ::

:: 07 GSXR 1K ::
:: 11 ZUMA 125 ::
stop listing what u sold here - nobody cares...






Quote:
Originally Posted by cytukyl
man that is some sweet setup but what about those losers with wireless internet that "MIGHT" tag along for the ride???
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrutusTx
Yeah, seems like that could be a big problem and wouldn't that effect performance?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solracer
when you roll down the street all you see is one router "Glacier" (which is WDS encrypted.)
SBK Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 11:16 AM   #20
SBK Pilot
non playa hatar
 
SBK Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Heights
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 5,570

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
:: 05 GSXR 750 ::

:: 07 GSXR 1K ::
:: 11 ZUMA 125 ::
stop listing what u sold here - nobody cares...






Quote:
Originally Posted by Din
why not use the verizon anywhere broadband though?
it'sssssssssssssssssssss slowwwwwwwwwwwwwwww...

hey look... i can type like michelleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee...
SBK Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy