MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > General Discussion > General Discussion (Moto Related)
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 03-26-2009, 11:16 PM   #1
bioGuru
Aut inveniam viam aut fac
 
bioGuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Woodlands area
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 2,789

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
2008 Suzuki GSX650F - sold




Member Garage





FI bikes with a choke?

So I am reading "Motorcycling Excellence" in the hospital waiting room this morning while my daughter is getting her tonsils out. For those that don't know it is the book published by the MSF to help teach people the basics of MC riding, etc.

Anyway I am in chapter 2 where it discusses the basics of a motorcycle, where the controls are, etc. and on page 24 I see the following:

"Some fuel-injected bikes don't have a choke"

So I was wondering does anyone know of a FI bike that HAS a manual choke?

(Yeah, I know the computer adjusts fuel/ air mixture)
__________________
web banner 392x72

Motorcycling in itself is not inherently dangerous. But to an even greater degree than the sea, it is terribly unforgiving of any carelessness, incapacity or neglect.

Last edited by bioGuru; 03-26-2009 at 11:19 PM.
bioGuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best way to choke? NightShadow General Discussion (Moto Related) 27 01-03-2013 11:27 PM
Choke Cable Help zombiejesus How To's and Q & A's 13 07-27-2009 04:16 PM
f4i choke problem epofhouston How To's and Q & A's 6 03-12-2009 01:13 PM
choke on? blends How To's and Q & A's 12 12-13-2008 01:21 PM
why dont they make FI dirt bikes for motocross etc mekrew General Discussion (Moto Related) 8 02-18-2008 11:03 AM
Advertisement
Old 03-26-2009, 11:22 PM   #2
Intermission
Pure Awesome
 
Intermission's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sugar Land SS&M
Feedback Rating: (6)
Posts: 2,646

Experience: 4 years
Trackdays: 5

Bike(s):
2009 Kawasaki zx-6r
SOLD:2007 Kawasaki zx-6r
SOLD:1999 YZ-125
SOLD:2004 Can-o-Tuna

Member Garage


It's not actually a choke, but a throttle advance. Or at least that's my understanding.
My friend's dad's zx-12 is Fi and has a "choke" lever.
Intermission is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 11:23 PM   #3
level5
moving chicane
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 5,825












there are few bikes like gsxr 600-1000 that have choke, 00-03. 03-04 Kawasaki 636 that has it too. These are the bikes I am sure of there are others, just like these. Newer than 05 doesn't have it.
level5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 11:27 PM   #4
DvlRacer
cerca trova
 
DvlRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Feedback Rating: (52)
Posts: 16,446







Member Garage





I've had 4 bikes that were FI w/ "choke"

2 RSV's
1 919
1 Mean Streak 1600
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by rob78 View Post
nothing goes unmoderated....
"And so, this tiny metal deathtrap becomes known as the ultimate form of freedom. Like a steampunk cyborg, man and machine fuse to make a symbol of what you can become when style and speed matter more than safety and efficiency. Is it any wonder that some people just get mad every time they see a motorcycle go by? Because it challenges everything they have, while proving to them that they don’t have enough."
DvlRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 11:39 PM   #5
wever411
Gunt Puncher
 
wever411's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: League City
Feedback Rating: (8)
Posts: 7,570

Experience: 3 years











my busa has it
__________________
wever411 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 11:48 PM   #6
FlipSideUp
This Flip Rides Nekkid
 
FlipSideUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston - Memorial
Feedback Rating: (13)
Posts: 4,605

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'03 Honda 919 Hornet
'89 Yamaha FZR400 Trackbike
'83 Honda CB650SC Nighthawk
'07 Step-2 (ok, it's my daughter's)






The 919's got one, but as stated above, it's not really a choke, but rather a throttle advance. I've never had to use it.
FlipSideUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 11:57 PM   #7
tomLSTD
LSTD Mob Cappo
 
tomLSTD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 6,798

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 1






Member Garage





It's not a choke on FI and it's not a "throttle advance" per se either. It's an "enrichment circuit" and it feeds a bit more fuel decreasing air flow. So it's basically a choking throttle advance

Most of them still have the lever, and most still call it a "choke". Years of habit...
__________________
I am Tyler Durdin's bad attitude.
tomLSTD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 12:57 AM   #8
burnboy
upliftmofopartyplan
 
burnboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 3,609

Experience: 5 years

Bike(s):
2011 kawi z 1000









new bonneville's and thruxtons. or one or the other?
burnboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 08:54 AM   #9
v4lu3s
Senior Member
 
v4lu3s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Conroe
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 4,381

Experience: 4 years

Bike(s):
2003 CBR 600 F4i -- Sold




Member Garage


every Victory has it. i had always referred to it as a fast idle or cold idle lever...
v4lu3s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 10:22 AM   #10
B-Man
B-Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: South Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 231

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
2006 kawasaki Vulcan Classic 1500
Can-Am Spyder...








My Kawi 1500 has one, but the Spyder doesn't
B-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 10:37 AM   #11
bioGuru
Aut inveniam viam aut fac
 
bioGuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Woodlands area
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 2,789

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
2008 Suzuki GSX650F - sold




Member Garage





ok cool - since they were talking about controls I guess the lever that is in the same position does a similar thing even though its not technically a choke.

I skipped several generations of bike development but had assumed that the computers in the FI systems would take care of enriching the system as needed without user input.

thanks everyone!
__________________
web banner 392x72

Motorcycling in itself is not inherently dangerous. But to an even greater degree than the sea, it is terribly unforgiving of any carelessness, incapacity or neglect.
bioGuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 10:41 AM   #12
sbfuller
the crotch-rocketeer!
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Dickinson
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 15,920

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
2006 Hayabusa (totaled)2007 Hayabusa, 2004 CRF 50









my busa has one... i think it's just a fast idle lever... i have traced it out and it just goes to the throttle bodies, the same as the throttle does. I use it for real low speed cruise control, that's the only way i can keep the bike at 30mph!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by less_than_coop View Post
Its the stupidity. It gets added to our forum in normal and controlled doses which actually serves to the benefit of the website.
sbfuller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 10:42 AM   #13
Grinchy
Senior Member
 
Grinchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Seabrook
Feedback Rating: (15)
Posts: 15,535

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'prila









Quote:
Originally Posted by sbfuller View Post
my busa has one... i think it's just a fast idle lever... i have traced it out and it just goes to the throttle bodies, the same as the throttle does. I use it for real low speed cruise control, that's the only way i can keep the bike at 30mph!
correct
Grinchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 10:45 AM   #14
Pyrofallout
<<<< S.B.N. >>>>
 
Pyrofallout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Feedback Rating: (31)
Posts: 25,364

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





My friend's Duc 999 is FI with a Choke. When I first saw it I was like WTF?!
__________________
“A government big enough to give you everything you want, is big enough to take away everything you have.”
"The course of history shows that as a government grows, liberty decreases."
-Thomas Jefferson
Pyrofallout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 02:34 PM   #15
Vividkid
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 887












the older fuel injected gsxrs had a 'fast idle' selector.
__________________
sig
Vividkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:49 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy