MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > General Discussion > General Discussion (Moto Related)
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 03-23-2009, 08:43 PM   #1
maxgs
Guest
 
Posts: n/a







Member Garage





Converting Video for YouTube

If you are looking for a good way to compress your video for YouTube, I have a solution for you. There is a software converter that I think you'll really like. It looks a little complicated at first, but I can help you get set up.

You need to download a free program called Super from this link:
http://www.erightsoft.org/GetFile.php?SUPERsetup.exe

Once you have it downloaded and installed, you'll run the program and it will look like this:

SuperScreen

Select these same options except in the Video Scale, you likely want to select 640:480 instead. My camera will shoot in 720:480, hence why it's selected.

One other change to make is to right click within the screen and select "Output File Saving Management". Select the check box "Save each Output File in Its Respective Source File Folder." That way the newly converted file will be in the same location as the source file.

The program is easy to use. You simply drag the file into the "Drop a valid multimedia file here" box. Make sure the check box is selected and then press the encode button.

Don't pay too much attention to the progress bar, it will finish much faster than it appears. And, in the end, 10 minute files will be about 100MB or less and of great quality (HQ on YouTube).

Enjoy.

-Curt

Last edited by maxgs; 03-23-2009 at 08:48 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quite possibly the best video on Youtube ever. eltejano Off Topic 12 03-01-2012 10:24 AM
Does anyone have this video handy? Youtube took it down 675Raisinator General Discussion (Moto Related) 1 09-29-2011 06:11 PM
My first YouTube video... Big_E Off Topic 9 08-17-2011 07:13 PM
the most annoying youtube video ever urbanXJ Off Topic 4 04-22-2010 03:23 PM
Advertisement
Old 03-23-2009, 08:46 PM   #2
mekrew
naaaaaw i sayin
 
mekrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 9,778

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to mekrew
sweeeeeeeeeeet thanks
mekrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 08:49 PM   #3
Mr Richards
Insert Clever Quote Here
 
Mr Richards's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: League City
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 1,256

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
2005 Yamaha R1 (Street)
2005 Yamaha R1 (Track)



Member Garage





Thanks! I almost sent you a message asking what codec you encoded your video in yesterday.
__________________
I am a Nobody. Nobody is Perfect. Therefore, I am perfect.
Mr Richards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 08:55 PM   #4
maxgs
Guest
 
Posts: n/a







Member Garage





I actually don't use this program. I do my stuff through Corel's VideoStudio X2 Pro. It's a pretty good package. If I'm not doing and editing, I'll use the output directly from TrackVision, the package I use for the overlays.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 09:02 PM   #5
mekrew
naaaaaw i sayin
 
mekrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 9,778

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to mekrew
well 1st vid before u posted this looked good in quicktime but youtube fcked it up ... lets try again
mekrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 09:12 PM   #6
eugene
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SW Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,446












good write up
eugene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 11:27 PM   #7
GrayJ
Do a barrel roll!
 
GrayJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Victoria, Tx
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,403


Bike(s):
2004 SV650
1998 Shadow 1100
2005 CRF450R tard
2007 CRF50
Yamaha PW 50






That's what I have used for the blackberry, zune, ipod, and psp on all the conversions. Pretty sweet for a free program. Good heads up
GrayJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 12:47 AM   #8
maxgs
Guest
 
Posts: n/a







Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by mekrew View Post
well 1st vid before u posted this looked good in quicktime but youtube fcked it up ... lets try again
Did you get it working? The one I tested with the same setting worked. Here it is:

  Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 12:55 AM   #9
mekrew
naaaaaw i sayin
 
mekrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 9,778

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to mekrew
no this is what i just got

mekrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 12:56 AM   #10
mekrew
naaaaaw i sayin
 
mekrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 9,778

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to mekrew
i think i have to go back in premiere and mess with settings ... cause video from gopro doesnt come out 720/480 and thats default vid size

that vid above is the 300meg quicktime , then converted with your tool

edit ... and my audio codec is all ****ed cause sound is all jacked
mekrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 01:08 AM   #11
mekrew
naaaaaw i sayin
 
mekrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 9,778

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to mekrew
time to try again ... they come out of camera 5xx/3xx in size
mekrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 01:59 AM   #12
maxgs
Guest
 
Posts: n/a







Member Garage





Can you select that size? There is a 560:304 option. Hit the more check box if you don't see it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 02:01 AM   #13
maxgs
Guest
 
Posts: n/a







Member Garage





The video looks good on youtube in HQ mode. The sound is funky, but I think that's symptomatic of the go-pro.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 02:04 AM   #14
maxgs
Guest
 
Posts: n/a







Member Garage





OK, I see the issue. Certain segments of the video repeat. That's weird.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 02:09 AM   #15
mekrew
naaaaaw i sayin
 
mekrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 9,778

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to mekrew
ya well i think thats the gopro too ... cause even when i look at the source avi off the camera it does that ....

i hope i dont have a bad one
mekrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 02:10 AM   #16
mekrew
naaaaaw i sayin
 
mekrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 9,778

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to mekrew
ok now that HQ is loaded ya that looks fine to me .....

still sucks i have to double export ..... since i cant find a way to export from premiere and get a 55meg file that looks fine

also if u look close the sound isnt synced correctly ... and thats also straight from the source .... so i dont know if its my gopro or my SD cards
mekrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 02:15 AM   #17
maxgs
Guest
 
Posts: n/a







Member Garage





I think 10MB per minute is a pretty reasonable expectation for the compression. Much less than that and I lose a lot of quality.

If your go-pro is producing video that is repeating like that, I'd return it. You probably have a bad one. It's dumping the buffer twice. Very weird.

I have to use good SD cards with my camera. I use the black SanDisk cards, they have very high transfer rates.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 02:17 AM   #18
mekrew
naaaaaw i sayin
 
mekrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 9,778

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to mekrew
do u export straight from your editing software to your final render or do you use super to get it smaller ?

ya now thats where it gets tricky , do i buy a new SD card and test it or use the ones i have now and see if it does it again
mekrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 02:18 AM   #19
maxgs
Guest
 
Posts: n/a







Member Garage





I found this online regarding GoPro...

"Update 4/21/08:
GoPro customer service advised me to format the SD card as FAT16 rather than the FAT32 I'd been using. The problem is fixed. The videos are quite good for such a small/simple camera."
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 02:20 AM   #20
mekrew
naaaaaw i sayin
 
mekrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 9,778

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to mekrew
ah good find thanks ... formatted before the track as fat32
mekrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy