MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Off Topic (everything else) > Off Topic
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 02-06-2006, 05:12 PM   #21
Hainess
Biggest Poser
 
Join Date: May 2005
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 531












DLP!! for TV!!! LCD for multi tasking like if u want PIP while surfing the web. Or if you want to blind urself with a 30+ inch computer monitor
Hainess is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Local Tv Parts - Samsung DLP Bulb mekrew Off Topic 6 08-09-2010 10:08 AM
Anyone need an LCD? 20" HP LCD for $99!!! Pyrofallout Off Topic 15 06-28-2009 12:22 AM
non DLP projection T.V. HELP bluewave18 Off Topic 4 06-24-2008 11:08 AM
Extended warranty on DLP big screens??? dopestatus Off Topic 2 02-06-2007 05:02 AM
LCD vs DLP zero4o3 Off Topic 2 03-10-2006 05:52 PM
Advertisement
Old 02-06-2006, 05:15 PM   #22
TxVrod
Senior Member
 
TxVrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Arlington, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 3,233












OH!! And make sure you get an HD Unit which has an integrated HD tuner - not one which is "HD Ready".
TxVrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 05:31 PM   #23
Petro
C'Mon... Building 7
 
Petro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 10,038

Experience: 10+ years
yup... plasmas dont last... go with lcd, theyre cheaper
__________________
Quote:
We must use terror, assassination, intimidation, land confiscation, and the cutting of all social services to rid Galilee of its Arab population.
David Ben-Gurion, Founding father of Israel
Petro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 05:37 PM   #24
TxVrod
Senior Member
 
TxVrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Arlington, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 3,233












Quote:
Originally Posted by p0opstlnksal0t
yup... plasmas dont last... go with lcd, theyre cheaper
Not only are there settings which can be set to keep the Plasma from burning in, but you're only going to reach that "lifespan" if you watch it for more than 10 hours per day. Plasma screens will last well past 60,000 hours nowadays - which is longer than most CRT's. Don't let any of that keep you rom going plasma.
TxVrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 05:45 PM   #25
fuknrobert
the necessary villain
 
fuknrobert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Hideout
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 14,959

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'04 R6, '05 70, '04 fiddy!









lol i don't plan on having my tv for 10 years :-x

i don't think i've had anything for 10 years...
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by bentgixxer
im not a midget , i was actually born with a type of dwarfism, but i took medication for 12 yrs to reach just 5'6"
fuknrobert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 05:50 PM   #26
TxVrod
Senior Member
 
TxVrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Arlington, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 3,233












Quote:
Originally Posted by fuknrobert
lol i don't plan on having my tv for 10 years :-x

i don't think i've had anything for 10 years...
Precisely! Why would anyone? Only my grandparents kept stuff that long.
TxVrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 05:59 PM   #27
Swift E
Senior Member
 
Swift E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Katy
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 11,046

Experience: 6 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
Triumph 675









I also hear that Plasma is limited on life.
Also, for the price of a 42" Plasma television you can get an HD DLP 62"
I'm not sure if the picture is going to be all that much diffrent.
__________________
obama1
I'll keep my freedom, my guns and my money and you can keep The Change!
Swift E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 06:00 PM   #28
Swift E
Senior Member
 
Swift E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Katy
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 11,046

Experience: 6 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
Triumph 675









Quote:
Originally Posted by TxVrod
OH!! And make sure you get an HD Unit which has an integrated HD tuner - not one which is "HD Ready".
That's the HD internal unit correct???
As oposed to being ready to run the HD box
__________________
obama1
I'll keep my freedom, my guns and my money and you can keep The Change!
Swift E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 06:04 PM   #29
RYAN5102
Senior Member
 
RYAN5102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 176












i say go with the plasma. i have two plasmas and an lcd for the garage. the plasmas are great, and the prices are dropping every day
__________________
ixgraf
RYAN5102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 06:43 PM   #30
bdmpastx
The Cripple
 
bdmpastx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Pearland
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 5,763

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2009 Nissan GTR - sold
2015 Nissan GTR





I got this one and it is awesome...
http://www.sonystyle.com/is-bin/INTE...0%22to80%22TVs
__________________
My wheelchair doesn't have chicken strips
sigpic
bdmpastx is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 06:45 PM   #31
TxVrod
Senior Member
 
TxVrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Arlington, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 3,233












Quote:
Originally Posted by Swift E
That's the HD internal unit correct???
As oposed to being ready to run the HD box
For "HD Ready", you need an external box. With an integrated hd tuner, it's all in there. Just plug and play.

BTW - for those who don't know, you can get HD signals over the air using rabbit-ears or an aerial antenna.
TxVrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 06:46 PM   #32
Swift E
Senior Member
 
Swift E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Katy
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 11,046

Experience: 6 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
Triumph 675









Sweet box.
What did you end up dropping on it?
__________________
obama1
I'll keep my freedom, my guns and my money and you can keep The Change!
Swift E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 07:10 PM   #33
zero4o3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 6,848












Send a message via AIM to zero4o3 Send a message via Yahoo to zero4o3
only reason i would get a plasma is to save space and hang it, if your not doing that go dlp, my brother has a 50 inch samsung dlp its sweet.

only thing i would say is, before you pick a tv figure out what your gonna set up with it, dvd player surround sound which ones, so you can make sure you get a tv that has what you need, ie how many hdmi ports you want i would want at least 2 hdmi and 2 componet hook ups with fiber optic sound and a vga port to hook my computer up to, but thats just me
zero4o3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 08:03 PM   #34
Swift E
Senior Member
 
Swift E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Katy
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 11,046

Experience: 6 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
Triumph 675









HDMI? HiDef (M) Inputs :????:
__________________
obama1
I'll keep my freedom, my guns and my money and you can keep The Change!
Swift E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 08:06 PM   #35
zero4o3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 6,848












Send a message via AIM to zero4o3 Send a message via Yahoo to zero4o3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swift E
HDMI? HiDef (M) Inputs :????:
media input

just make sure your tv DOES NOT have any DVI inputs they are a thing of the past and you will never use them
zero4o3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 08:13 PM   #36
Swift E
Senior Member
 
Swift E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Katy
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 11,046

Experience: 6 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
Triumph 675









I WONDER IF THESE NEW SETS COME WITH MIDI I/O :d
__________________
obama1
I'll keep my freedom, my guns and my money and you can keep The Change!
Swift E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 08:15 PM   #37
ImG
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: SouthEast
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 341












Send a message via AIM to ImG
like everyone say..since you gonna sit it on the table get a DLP.
ImG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 09:28 PM   #38
UrMyStlkAl
Senior Member
 
UrMyStlkAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,086


Bike(s):
93 CBR F2 600









Send a message via AIM to UrMyStlkAl Send a message via MSN to UrMyStlkAl Send a message via Yahoo to UrMyStlkAl
I was talking to one guy about all of this and he said if your getting projection than DLP is better to get than LCD. If you don't care what kind than LCD will be the best picture (LCD thin-hang on wall types). You can get stands so you dont have to hang them on the wall and you can put them on a tv stand also. BUT....I'm pretty sure LCD's only come as large as 40" so if you want bigger go DLP.

I could be wrong on all of this, just what I was told when I was looking at TV's. I won't be getting one for a couple more months so I haven't done much research yet.
UrMyStlkAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 09:45 PM   #39
fuknrobert
the necessary villain
 
fuknrobert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Hideout
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 14,959

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'04 R6, '05 70, '04 fiddy!









only problem i had with my t.v. is that fry's wanted to charge my like $650 just to install the wallmount. that. i still haven't had it put up, i figured i could do it.... but noooooo... i'm a dumbass. so it's sittin on my dresser :-\
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by bentgixxer
im not a midget , i was actually born with a type of dwarfism, but i took medication for 12 yrs to reach just 5'6"
fuknrobert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 09:59 PM   #40
nvmy04r6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Feedback Rating: (6)
Posts: 257












Quote:
Originally Posted by bmc350
Sony DLP HD here.

Sony doesn't make DLP's... Just LCD projections.
nvmy04r6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy