MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > General Discussion > Taking it to the Track
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 02-08-2009, 01:22 PM   #1
MadMax143
Senior Member
 
MadMax143's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chilton,WI (now)
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 117

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
A bunch of F2/F3s.









PC3 Programmer?

Installing an ignition module and quickshifter to an 03 600RR. Bike already had the PC3.

The destruction manual states I MUST update the PC3 in order for the ignition module to work. The programmer looks like a little black box that plugs into the PC3 and the USB plugs into the little black box.

Anybody have one of these?
MadMax143 is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need a Dynojet programmer gixxre750 General Discussion (Moto Related) 6 03-17-2011 05:24 AM
Pc3 chapaholic Performance and Modifications 7 05-18-2010 10:05 PM
Anyone have a F-150 Programmer? Flasher? Chip? Mr. Unassailable How To's and Q & A's 9 07-27-2008 01:24 PM
pc3 Q sixerSLYGUY General Discussion (Moto Related) 5 05-01-2008 03:53 PM
Advertisement
Old 02-08-2009, 09:48 PM   #2
tomLSTD
LSTD Mob Cappo
 
tomLSTD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 6,798

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 1






Member Garage





You can update the PCIII off their website, you have to dl the quickshift enabling program to enable the Quick Shifter. I just use my laptop, I don't know about that little black box you have.

The Quick Shifter simply plugs in to the PCIII once you're ready.
__________________
I am Tyler Durdin's bad attitude.
tomLSTD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 09:49 PM   #3
bluewave18
Safety Third
 
bluewave18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: S.E.
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 34,098

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
08 Busa
03 XR 50








You can let them get on your lap top remotely and they will update and program. Its easy and takes a few mins. Have the comp ready and give tech at DJ a call.
bluewave18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 09:58 PM   #4
MadMax143
Senior Member
 
MadMax143's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chilton,WI (now)
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 117

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
A bunch of F2/F3s.









I don't have that little black box (programer cable w/the box)...that was my issue.

The RR is one of those bike that require the ignition module piggied on the PC3. The destructions said I had to 'update' the PC3 using that missing programmer cable.

I'll check out their website again and see if I overlooked the 'update' download.

Thanks guys.
MadMax143 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 10:06 PM   #5
Solracer
MotoHouston.com Owner.
 
Solracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kemah Area
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 28,865

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2006 YZF600R (Street)
2009 Iron 883



Member Garage


all that cable is is a mini-usb cable... unless you have an old pcIII which is serial.

If you need a cable, you can buy them for like 3 bux.
__________________
Chris
Solracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 10:28 PM   #6
MadMax143
Senior Member
 
MadMax143's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chilton,WI (now)
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 117

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
A bunch of F2/F3s.









Thanks Solracer...

That's part of what was confusing me (beyond my normal state of confusion). The USB plugged into the black box which connected to the white connector on the PC3. I didn't understand why it would do that.

I have the PC3 w/USB. Now I just need to be smarter than the software.
MadMax143 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 10:32 PM   #7
Solracer
MotoHouston.com Owner.
 
Solracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kemah Area
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 28,865

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2006 YZF600R (Street)
2009 Iron 883



Member Garage


what side of town are you on?

Ive got an 03 with it as well...
__________________
Chris
Solracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 10:37 PM   #8
MadMax143
Senior Member
 
MadMax143's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chilton,WI (now)
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 117

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
A bunch of F2/F3s.









Humble.

I'm SURE we've seen each other at the track before. You going to GSS on the 14th? I've gotta shake this thing down. It's our endurance 'B' bike.
MadMax143 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 10:41 PM   #9
tomLSTD
LSTD Mob Cappo
 
tomLSTD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 6,798

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 1






Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by MadMax143 View Post
Thanks Solracer...

That's part of what was confusing me (beyond my normal state of confusion). The USB plugged into the black box which connected to the white connector on the PC3. I didn't understand why it would do that.

I have the PC3 w/USB. Now I just need to be smarter than the software.
The white connector should be for the Quick Shifter, the USB plugs straight in to the PCIII.

Total connections should be the PCIII connects in between the wiring harness and stock ECU. The USB cable plugs in to the "mini USB" port on the PCIII, and the Quick Shifter plugs in to the white 6 pin receptacle plug.
__________________
I am Tyler Durdin's bad attitude.
tomLSTD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 10:46 PM   #10
MadMax143
Senior Member
 
MadMax143's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chilton,WI (now)
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 117

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
A bunch of F2/F3s.









I know what you are saying Tom.

The pic in the destructions was what I was going by. It was telling me to connect it as I described BEFORE plugging in the quickshifter & ignition module. Do the 'update' then remove said cable...then plug in the IM & QS.

On the RR (with ignition module)...the IM plugs into the white connector on the PC and the QS plugs into the 'other' female white connector. Just FYI (add to your infinate wisdom).
MadMax143 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 10:56 PM   #11
Solracer
MotoHouston.com Owner.
 
Solracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kemah Area
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 28,865

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2006 YZF600R (Street)
2009 Iron 883



Member Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by MadMax143 View Post
Humble.

I'm SURE we've seen each other at the track before. You going to GSS on the 14th? I've gotta shake this thing down. It's our endurance 'B' bike.
Im sure Ill be there in some form or fashion...
__________________
Chris
Solracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 11:49 PM   #12
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,367

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






You may need a boot logger box.
I've got an extra one you can borrow to update the hardware.
Also, make sure your ignition controller is plugged into the PCIII when you enable the quick shifter.
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 12:16 AM   #13
Pabst214
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 143












Quote:
Originally Posted by MadMax143 View Post
Installing an ignition module and quickshifter to an 03 600RR. Bike already had the PC3.

The destruction manual states I MUST update the PC3 in order for the ignition module to work. The programmer looks like a little black box that plugs into the PC3 and the USB plugs into the little black box.

Anybody have one of these?

What they are asking you to do is update the firmware of the PC3. You can do one of two ways depending on how old your PC3 is. It will also be benificial to update the firmware on ignition module itself to. Most of the ones I have seen lately are not up to date with what with the current firmware versions so I would plan on doing both.

Give Patrick a call and we can do it for you at the shop.
Pabst214 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy