MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > Performance and Modifications
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 12-28-2008, 11:33 AM   #1
c2duevas
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ft. Hood
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 965

Experience: 4 years

Bike(s):
07 suzuki gsxr600
02 kawasaki zrx1200r - RIP
94 suzuki gsx600f - sold
07 cool sports 150 - wrecked
97 bmw 740il (cage)

Member Garage


User is banned

.
c2duevas is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tach reading 0 at idle lazyhomie How To's and Q & A's 0 07-11-2011 11:44 AM
LCD Tach Racer General Discussion (Moto Related) 1 02-13-2008 03:58 PM
600rr tach Duck84 How To's and Q & A's 4 01-21-2008 11:54 PM
R6 Tach Prob gunshotwound How To's and Q & A's 6 01-21-2008 09:27 PM
g35 speedo/tach malfunction flip326 Off Topic 8 08-23-2007 07:46 AM
Advertisement
Old 12-28-2008, 11:38 AM   #2
level5
moving chicane
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 5,825












Quote:
Originally Posted by c2duevas View Post
anyone have any experience on installing a tach on their bike... i wanna put a bigger one than the stock one... its made by sunco... jus wonderin if all i need to do is to cut strip and put the wires together... and do i have to calibrate it? need some input
Follow instruction that comes with the tach you bought. Just curious, how big of tach is it compared to the one that is on your bike?
level5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 11:40 AM   #3
c2duevas
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ft. Hood
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 965

Experience: 4 years

Bike(s):
07 suzuki gsxr600
02 kawasaki zrx1200r - RIP
94 suzuki gsx600f - sold
07 cool sports 150 - wrecked
97 bmw 740il (cage)

Member Garage


User is banned

.
c2duevas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 11:47 AM   #4
bumblebee
Yeah I'm flippin' YOU off
 
bumblebee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pearland
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 12,261


Bike(s):
'74 Suzuki GT380
'82 XS650 StreetTracker
'10 Ducati Streetfighter
'83 Yamaha Seca 900






Is this tach made for a bike or a car?
__________________
Asphalt is for racing... dirt is for growing potatoes. - J. Diester
When seconds count... the police are only minutes away.
Grow up and be a productive member of society already.
Bevo- "I lack skillz"
bumblebee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 12:34 AM   #5
c2duevas
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ft. Hood
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 965

Experience: 4 years

Bike(s):
07 suzuki gsxr600
02 kawasaki zrx1200r - RIP
94 suzuki gsx600f - sold
07 cool sports 150 - wrecked
97 bmw 740il (cage)

Member Garage


User is banned

.
c2duevas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 12:45 AM   #6
Pyrofallout
<<<< S.B.N. >>>>
 
Pyrofallout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Feedback Rating: (31)
Posts: 25,364

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





lol. wtf. why?
__________________
A government big enough to give you everything you want, is big enough to take away everything you have.
"The course of history shows that as a government grows, liberty decreases."
-Thomas Jefferson
Pyrofallout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 12:46 AM   #7
c2duevas
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ft. Hood
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 965

Experience: 4 years

Bike(s):
07 suzuki gsxr600
02 kawasaki zrx1200r - RIP
94 suzuki gsx600f - sold
07 cool sports 150 - wrecked
97 bmw 740il (cage)

Member Garage


User is banned

.
c2duevas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 12:55 AM   #8
level5
moving chicane
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 5,825












Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyrofallout View Post
lol. wtf. why?

flavor flav in motorcycle?
level5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 12:55 AM   #9
Pyrofallout
<<<< S.B.N. >>>>
 
Pyrofallout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Feedback Rating: (31)
Posts: 25,364

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by level5 View Post
flavor flav in motorcycle?
__________________
A government big enough to give you everything you want, is big enough to take away everything you have.
"The course of history shows that as a government grows, liberty decreases."
-Thomas Jefferson
Pyrofallout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 12:56 AM   #10
Pyrofallout
<<<< S.B.N. >>>>
 
Pyrofallout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Feedback Rating: (31)
Posts: 25,364

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by c2duevas View Post
jus wonderin if i can install it on there... dunno.. jus wanted to change the look
dont do it. there is no need and it will make your bike look retarded. just my 2c.
__________________
A government big enough to give you everything you want, is big enough to take away everything you have.
"The course of history shows that as a government grows, liberty decreases."
-Thomas Jefferson
Pyrofallout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 12:59 AM   #11
c2duevas
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ft. Hood
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 965

Experience: 4 years

Bike(s):
07 suzuki gsxr600
02 kawasaki zrx1200r - RIP
94 suzuki gsx600f - sold
07 cool sports 150 - wrecked
97 bmw 740il (cage)

Member Garage


User is banned

.
c2duevas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 01:02 AM   #12
Pyrofallout
<<<< S.B.N. >>>>
 
Pyrofallout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Feedback Rating: (31)
Posts: 25,364

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by c2duevas View Post
ok the tach aint rediculously big... but ok... i prolly wont get it...
is there a need though really? does your stock tach not work? thats like the guys that slap the 6 inch tachs on their dash for looks. just kinda pointless.
__________________
A government big enough to give you everything you want, is big enough to take away everything you have.
"The course of history shows that as a government grows, liberty decreases."
-Thomas Jefferson
Pyrofallout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 01:04 AM   #13
c2duevas
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ft. Hood
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 965

Experience: 4 years

Bike(s):
07 suzuki gsxr600
02 kawasaki zrx1200r - RIP
94 suzuki gsx600f - sold
07 cool sports 150 - wrecked
97 bmw 740il (cage)

Member Garage


User is banned

.
c2duevas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 04:09 AM   #14
The_Gunslinger
Kamakasi
 
The_Gunslinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: southeast houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 591

Experience: 9 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'07 zx6r
'02 xr250r








rofl.

most cars can't hit 16krpm...that'll confuse the out of a tach.....

but, if it's for a 4 banger, just run the signal from the #1 cyl. coil.

do it, but do it right...mount it backwards so everyone can see your shift light.
The_Gunslinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 04:19 AM   #15
RojerLockless
member of NO MA`AM
 
RojerLockless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: I"M FROM TEXAS, Clear Lake
Feedback Rating: (10)
Posts: 10,903

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 3

Bike(s):
Honda CB919




Member Garage


You dont even need a tach on a bike anyway.
__________________
I kissed a girl and I liked it!

RojerLockless@Motohouston.com
BRING BACK GIXXERBILL!!!
CRBsig 2
RojerLockless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 09:20 AM   #16
Mr Richards
Insert Clever Quote Here
 
Mr Richards's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: League City
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 1,256

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
2005 Yamaha R1 (Street)
2005 Yamaha R1 (Track)



Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by RojerLockless View Post
You dont even need a tach on a bike anyway.
Yeah, just use the rev limiter like the squids who start their bikes up at PP1 and bounce off of it. Don't forget to do it as soon as you start it so that there is no oil up there yet.

Don't the rotary engines rev real high (like the RX7's)? I think some of their gauges go to like 11K.
__________________
I am a Nobody. Nobody is Perfect. Therefore, I am perfect.
Mr Richards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 10:07 AM   #17
JRxGRUBZx
.............
 
JRxGRUBZx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: h**town
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 14,325

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
O-six six durty six (r.i.p)
07 zx6r (rip)
o-five six durty six (rip)
01 f4i - yes yes im a trader .






Quote:
Originally Posted by c2duevas View Post
ok the tach aint rediculously big... but ok... i prolly wont get it...
get it ...
JRxGRUBZx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 10:19 PM   #18
c2duevas
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ft. Hood
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 965

Experience: 4 years

Bike(s):
07 suzuki gsxr600
02 kawasaki zrx1200r - RIP
94 suzuki gsx600f - sold
07 cool sports 150 - wrecked
97 bmw 740il (cage)

Member Garage


User is banned

.
c2duevas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 10:38 PM   #19
mattj0206
Senior Member
 
mattj0206's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Baytown
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 498

Experience: 4 years

Bike(s):
02 R1









unless its wideband its useless and imo its useless unless you changed your tune
mattj0206 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 10:58 PM   #20
CaligoneTx
Forest Gnome Tour Guide
 
CaligoneTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Valhalla
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 21,558

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
Triumph 675r
Ducati 748
Hyosungs (250r + 650r)
Honda 900rr
Suzuki Busa1300r (+2 bikes)






Send a message via AIM to CaligoneTx Send a message via Yahoo to CaligoneTx
Look for a indigo overlay for the gauges. It will light itself at night. I have a reverse indigo; chemically white during the day and at night the guages are black, the numbers and lines are blue/green or whatever colors I choose.
__________________
triumphsig
CaligoneTx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy