MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > General Discussion > General Discussion (Moto Related)
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 11-26-2008, 11:34 AM   #1
Spectre5922
Grumpy old fart
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Dickinson
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 1,372

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
'92 GSXR 750









Flat tire

Well here I am at work, 27 miles from home and I have a flat back tire (picked up a nail). Can I use a standard plug kit to fix it for now? I don't want to ruin a brand new M3. I know not to use fix-a-flat on a bike tire, but will the plug be okay?
__________________
Spectre5922 is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flat Tire Prothos General Discussion (Moto Related) 10 05-01-2011 11:30 PM
flat tire, need help. Vicious Vic Dirtbikes, Mini's, ATV's..... 5 06-09-2010 06:10 PM
Flat tire SpeedCheeser General Discussion (Moto Related) 15 04-25-2009 04:07 PM
Flat Tire D-Mo How To's and Q & A's 8 03-18-2008 12:09 AM
Flat tire....need help RRCBR General Discussion (Moto Related) 25 04-20-2006 11:43 AM
Advertisement
Old 11-26-2008, 11:35 AM   #2
Hooligan
Presrvtionthrudestruction
 
Hooligan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The funky ghetto
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 6,698

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
08 CBR 600rr
06 GSXR600
07 Honda crf50 (stunt)
Your mom






Send a message via AIM to Hooligan
Yes. For real, you can


We plugged a few tires on SMR's way out on some backroads and they made it home and to the shop the next day.



Obviously, ride carefull on it

Last edited by Hooligan; 11-26-2008 at 11:38 AM.
Hooligan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 11:43 AM   #3
Spectre5922
Grumpy old fart
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Dickinson
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 1,372

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
'92 GSXR 750









The only problem that I'm having is finding a shop in my area that will do a "plug patch". Stubbs said NOT to use fix a flat on a bike tire, so I'm not, but no one seems really comfortable fixing it. The tire is one month old and I really can't afford to spend another $200 on a rear tire right before Christmas. The nail is barely off the centerline, so sidewall isn't a problem.
__________________
Spectre5922 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 11:46 AM   #4
dhdrider
Senior Member
 
dhdrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,719


Bike(s):
08 KTM 300 XC-W









You can plug it yourself w/ a plug kit from any auto parts store...
__________________
- Jason

2008 KTM 200 XC

Klim Technical Riding Gear
Maine Root Handcrafted Beverages
Retail Resource Group
Primus Real Estate Services
TORCS #301
TSCEC #1114
dhdrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 11:46 AM   #5
CarbonJames
LSTD/TTBC Instructor
 
CarbonJames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: ELLIS TD
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 13,769

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
13 250sx
13 350sxf
12 150sx
07 CRF 230
04 CRF 50/70

Member Garage





ohh, just go to the auto parts store, get a plug kit and get it over with, very simple job.BUT, don't trust it for high speeds and def. not for longer than possible, need to change the tire ASAP.
CarbonJames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 11:46 AM   #6
Pyrofallout
<<<< S.B.N. >>>>
 
Pyrofallout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Feedback Rating: (31)
Posts: 25,364

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Where you work at?
__________________
A government big enough to give you everything you want, is big enough to take away everything you have.
"The course of history shows that as a government grows, liberty decreases."
-Thomas Jefferson
Pyrofallout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 12:07 PM   #7
JP171
Senior Member
 
JP171's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sand Land
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 2,323

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
00' GSXR 750
05 636








if your close to south houston take it to discount motorcycle tire and have it fixed, also called south of the border MC sales
__________________
EMT-P for 18 yrs, EMT for 21, Fire Fighter since 1974

For those looking to give back to Texas and serve those in times of need, Join the Texas State Guard.
Locate a Recruiter http://www.gotxsg.com/join.php
JP171 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 12:07 PM   #8
Pyrofallout
<<<< S.B.N. >>>>
 
Pyrofallout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Feedback Rating: (31)
Posts: 25,364

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





If your in the galleria area lemme know. I have a patch kit in my truck and can drop by and help ya.
__________________
A government big enough to give you everything you want, is big enough to take away everything you have.
"The course of history shows that as a government grows, liberty decreases."
-Thomas Jefferson
Pyrofallout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 12:09 PM   #9
Unleaded_Buell
Long Stroke; Low RPM
 
Unleaded_Buell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Friendswood if you cood
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 476

Experience: 4 years

Bike(s):
2008 Buell XB9




Member Garage





Discount MC tire in Pasadena will do a patch if you can get it there. They won't do a second patch, though, and they'll send you home with a flat if it doesn't look safe. 1 is OK for a while, some guys will ride with 2 or 3 but then some guys will ride without gear.

Start pricing a new tire for XMas!
__________________
__

Timidi mater non flet.
Unleaded_Buell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 12:10 PM   #10
Skid
Senior Member
 
Skid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 777

Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
CBR600RR









I just plug them and run the out of them until the wearbars are gone. I probably wouldn't do a track day on one, but I certainly wouldn't get a new tire because of it.
__________________
Skid
__________________
www.D1-Racing.com

"When you do things right, people won't be sure you've done anything at all."
Skid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 12:11 PM   #11
RojerLockless
member of NO MA`AM
 
RojerLockless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: I"M FROM TEXAS, Clear Lake
Feedback Rating: (10)
Posts: 10,903

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 3

Bike(s):
Honda CB919




Member Garage


meh just plug it and ride it.. I have a plug in the front AND rear tire of my 1000RR and I pluged them both with a $4.95 ATV tire plug set from warlmart. it works Perfectly. 2000 miles later on both tires and they work just fine.
__________________
I kissed a girl and I liked it!

RojerLockless@Motohouston.com
BRING BACK GIXXERBILL!!!
CRBsig 2
RojerLockless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 12:11 PM   #12
RojerLockless
member of NO MA`AM
 
RojerLockless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: I"M FROM TEXAS, Clear Lake
Feedback Rating: (10)
Posts: 10,903

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 3

Bike(s):
Honda CB919




Member Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by Skid View Post
I just plug them and run the out of them until the wearbars are gone. I probably wouldn't do a track day on one, but I certainly wouldn't get a new tire because of it.
exactly.
__________________
I kissed a girl and I liked it!

RojerLockless@Motohouston.com
BRING BACK GIXXERBILL!!!
CRBsig 2
RojerLockless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 12:15 PM   #13
Phydeaux
Flat Black > Rash
 
Phydeaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,533

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
'01 F4i




Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to Phydeaux
I put 3k on my rear tire with a plug. Just be sure to get the "rope" style plugs, not the plastic cheap .
__________________
'Tis Dirtay Party season!!!
Phydeaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 12:16 PM   #14
Pyrofallout
<<<< S.B.N. >>>>
 
Pyrofallout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Feedback Rating: (31)
Posts: 25,364

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Actually I think I still have my air compressor in the truck too.
__________________
A government big enough to give you everything you want, is big enough to take away everything you have.
"The course of history shows that as a government grows, liberty decreases."
-Thomas Jefferson
Pyrofallout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 12:49 PM   #15
MudBug
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Most northern tip of the southside
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 20,878

Experience: 6 years
Trackdays: 6

Bike(s):
1994 kawi zx7
1991 DR250



Member Garage





User is banned

.
MudBug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 12:52 PM   #16
GABRIEL
Senior Member
 
GABRIEL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SW/SE Houston
Feedback Rating: (14)
Posts: 7,182

Experience: 1-3 months











I have had both patch and plug fail. Just dont run at hight speeds with a plug. You can make the tire last but at higher speeds the pug can be tossed.
GABRIEL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 12:57 PM   #17
JRxGRUBZx
.............
 
JRxGRUBZx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: h**town
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 14,325

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
O-six six durty six (r.i.p)
07 zx6r (rip)
o-five six durty six (rip)
01 f4i - yes yes im a trader .






Quote:
Originally Posted by Spectre5922 View Post
Well here I am at work, 27 miles from home and I have a flat back tire (picked up a nail). Can I use a standard plug kit to fix it for now? I don't want to ruin a brand new M3. I know not to use fix-a-flat on a bike tire, but will the plug be okay?
yeah i have a plug in my tire and i ride my bike to work and stunt in the lot so you will be ok ... where do you work ?? i have some plugs and tools on me if you need help

p.s. i rode with a patch in my tire for 2 months so you will be ok just make sure your always checking it ..

Last edited by JRxGRUBZx; 11-26-2008 at 01:01 PM.
JRxGRUBZx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 01:08 PM   #18
RojerLockless
member of NO MA`AM
 
RojerLockless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: I"M FROM TEXAS, Clear Lake
Feedback Rating: (10)
Posts: 10,903

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 3

Bike(s):
Honda CB919




Member Garage


I'm going on 5 months with a front tire plug and speeds from 60-140


i'm craazzzzyyy!



na it's worked fine just as good as a new tire since the day I put it in.
__________________
I kissed a girl and I liked it!

RojerLockless@Motohouston.com
BRING BACK GIXXERBILL!!!
CRBsig 2
RojerLockless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 01:29 PM   #19
blends
NYYYYYYEAAOWWWWWW
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: mission bend
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 7,307

Experience: 2 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to blends
where do you get your patch kits from guys?
__________________
ಠ_ಠ
blends is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 02:00 PM   #20
Spectre5922
Grumpy old fart
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Dickinson
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 1,372

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
'92 GSXR 750









Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyrofallout View Post
Where you work at?
I work off 288 and West Orem.
__________________
Spectre5922 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy