MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > General Discussion > General Discussion (Moto Related)
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 11-21-2008, 09:42 PM   #1
2001antivenom
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cleveland TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 45












speedometer is off please help!

Alright i rode my bike last weekend for the first time in a few weeks. I noticed that my speedometer was off by alot. Like when im doing 65 it says like 20 or something. I put a -1 front sprocket but that shouldnt make it that far off. I have done some research and thought it was the speed sensor. so i bought a new one and its still the same. What could it be??? thanks in advance!
2001antivenom is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
speedometer 2l84luv General Discussion (Moto Related) 9 05-24-2013 11:27 PM
Looking for speedometer jacea7x Performance and Modifications 0 01-07-2013 01:24 PM
re calibrate speedometer twstit89 General Discussion (Moto Related) 8 05-28-2010 11:43 PM
speedometer? bioGuru General Discussion (Moto Related) 6 02-27-2009 05:09 PM
speedometer on track MudBug Taking it to the Track 52 02-27-2009 05:04 PM
Advertisement
Old 11-21-2008, 10:03 PM   #2
Pyrofallout
<<<< S.B.N. >>>>
 
Pyrofallout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Feedback Rating: (31)
Posts: 25,364

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





What bike do you have. You prolly have a transmission driven speedo's which are off factory but get incredibly off when you change sprockets. Buy a speedohealer FTW!
__________________
A government big enough to give you everything you want, is big enough to take away everything you have.
"The course of history shows that as a government grows, liberty decreases."
-Thomas Jefferson
Pyrofallout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 10:12 PM   #3
2001antivenom
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cleveland TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 45












lol sorry i have a busa
2001antivenom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 10:14 PM   #4
Pyrofallout
<<<< S.B.N. >>>>
 
Pyrofallout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Feedback Rating: (31)
Posts: 25,364

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





not sure if a busa is cable driven or transmission driven. i know when i changed sprockets i had more than a 15 percent error on the speedo on the R6. Speedohealer is a worth while investment.
__________________
A government big enough to give you everything you want, is big enough to take away everything you have.
"The course of history shows that as a government grows, liberty decreases."
-Thomas Jefferson
Pyrofallout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 10:22 PM   #5
2001antivenom
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cleveland TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 45












i will buy one but i want to be sure that it will fix it
2001antivenom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 10:28 PM   #6
2001antivenom
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cleveland TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 45












i only found one for 2001-2008 so i dont believe they have one for me
2001antivenom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 09:58 AM   #7
JP171
Senior Member
 
JP171's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sand Land
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 2,323

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
00' GSXR 750
05 636








is that speedo digital or the analogue, if its the analogue the little motor in the dial may be going bad the busa doesn't have a cable it has a electronic sensor same idea as the tach and if its digital try cleaning all the connections real good the signal may be gettin some interference
__________________
EMT-P for 18 yrs, EMT for 21, Fire Fighter since 1974

For those looking to give back to Texas and serve those in times of need, Join the Texas State Guard.
Locate a Recruiter http://www.gotxsg.com/join.php
JP171 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 12:07 PM   #8
ysr612
Senior Member
 
ysr612's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Beaumont
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 437


Bike(s):
Transalp, DRZ, Hurricane









Quote:
Originally Posted by 2001antivenom View Post
Alright i rode my bike last weekend for the first time in a few weeks. I noticed that my speedometer was off by alot. Like when im doing 65 it says like 20 or something. I put a -1 front sprocket but that shouldnt make it that far off. I have done some research and thought it was the speed sensor. so i bought a new one and its still the same. What could it be??? thanks in advance!
that much change would have had to have your front bigger then your back and there is not much room for that.
ysr612 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 05:22 PM   #9
2001antivenom
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cleveland TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 45












its not digital. so basically i need a new gauge or what?
2001antivenom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 09:00 PM   #10
Obliv
Senior Member
 
Obliv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Spring
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 133

Experience: 5 years

Bike(s):
2008 ZX-10R




Member Garage





I'd call up and talk to Patrick at Motorcycle's Unlimited. He would know what to do to fix your speedo.
Obliv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 09:25 PM   #11
BigComfy
Senior Member
 
BigComfy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: under a rock
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 24,335

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
SV1k (sold)
CRB6 Track Bike (sold)
Daytona 1200 (parted)
1st Gen FZ1 (sold)
1st Gen SV650 (sold)

Member Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by orboblivion View Post
I'd call up and talk to Patrick at Motorcycle's Unlimited. He would know what to do to fix your speedo.
ding ding ding!!!!

__________________
"I haven't seen the crash, but I think Marc needs to be penalized for two or three seasons! Until I stop racing!"-VR46
BigComfy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 10:48 AM   #12
2001antivenom
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cleveland TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 45












ttt...
2001antivenom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 02:28 PM   #13
ZXALAN
UR NXT
 
ZXALAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: League City Tx
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 4,254

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
2000 Turbo-Hayabusa
2013 BMW S1000RR








Check and make sure the plug for the speedo sensor is completely clean and dry inside. Once I washed my bike and the speedo started acting all screwy like that....it would be cruising at 80mph, then drop to 20 or 30mph, then come back to 60 mph then drop to 0. Some how water go into the plug for the speedo sensor.

A speedo healer will not solve your problem. If you are only -1 tooth up front, your speedo will read fast, not slow. At -1 up front, at 70mph on the speedo, you are actually going about 60mph.

I doubt its the speedo itself. Its some sort of connection problem. One thing you need to check is the speedo pickup itself. its a little paddle wheel that screws into the countershaft(on the outside of the sprocket) I have seen those screws come loose and the paddle wheel will just be free spinning there and the sensor will still pick up the signal, but its not spinning at the same speed of the countershaft. I would bet money the problem is either that or a connection issue.
__________________

319hp@14lbs(pump gas), 435hp@29lbs(race gas)
Texas Mile Mar 09, 225.906mph, 8.82@168.43 w/1.63 60'-14.5lbs
ZXALAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 09:34 PM   #14
2001antivenom
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cleveland TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 45












alright i will check thanks alot
2001antivenom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy