MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 10-22-2008, 04:12 PM   #1
CaligoneTx
Forest Gnome Tour Guide
 
CaligoneTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Valhalla
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 21,558

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
Triumph 675r
Ducati 748
Hyosungs (250r + 650r)
Honda 900rr
Suzuki Busa1300r (+2 bikes)






Send a message via AIM to CaligoneTx Send a message via Yahoo to CaligoneTx
Question PCMIII on bike adjustment?

Im at a complete loss to figure out how to adjust the PCMIII manually to lean it out on the bike... I remember reading the instructions somewhere but since then have not been able to find anything through web searches.

Im about to redownload the PCM manual... I thought u turned the bike on, connected the external battery, held the outside buttons until the two leds lit up then adjust which of the three ranges you wanted to by selecting them.

Problem.... been told I have a puff of smoke that leaves the bike when im cruising around 4k and roll the throttle aggressively(about 3/4)


Yes, it needs a tune, but also some other maintenance items first so I just wanted to minimize the richness a little till then.

Thanx guys/gals!
__________________
triumphsig
CaligoneTx is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How much for a valve adjustment? aznconquerer General Discussion (Moto Related) 4 06-20-2012 04:32 PM
Valve Adjustment Branden9182 Performance and Modifications 6 06-20-2012 03:11 PM
valve adjustment blue46 General Discussion (Moto Related) 10 09-21-2009 06:42 AM
Adjustment specterunseen General Discussion (Moto Related) 5 05-30-2008 05:13 PM
valve adjustment Azylum Motorcycles Unlimited 11 05-28-2007 09:21 PM
Advertisement
Old 10-22-2008, 04:37 PM   #2
CaligoneTx
Forest Gnome Tour Guide
 
CaligoneTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Valhalla
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 21,558

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
Triumph 675r
Ducati 748
Hyosungs (250r + 650r)
Honda 900rr
Suzuki Busa1300r (+2 bikes)






Send a message via AIM to CaligoneTx Send a message via Yahoo to CaligoneTx
I know Redline is adjustable manually but that isn't my desires.

We did it on the first dyno day for someone w a slip on. I dont recall how it was done... Someone help out a fellow two-wheeled nerd lol
__________________
triumphsig
CaligoneTx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 04:43 PM   #3
lisiecki1
survivor of 7/4/08 ride..
 
lisiecki1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Feedback Rating: (5)
Posts: 4,084

Experience: 10+ years






Member Garage





if you can come out to the house we can throw the laptop on it......
__________________
"DON'T START VAST PROJECTS WITH HALF VAST IDEAS."
Remember the average response time to a 911 call is over 4 minutes.
The average response time of a 357 magnum is 1400 FPS.
lisiecki1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 04:45 PM   #4
CaligoneTx
Forest Gnome Tour Guide
 
CaligoneTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Valhalla
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 21,558

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
Triumph 675r
Ducati 748
Hyosungs (250r + 650r)
Honda 900rr
Suzuki Busa1300r (+2 bikes)






Send a message via AIM to CaligoneTx Send a message via Yahoo to CaligoneTx
I can do that here but I'd rather just adjust it down a tad. If Im not mistaken, a long time ago I set it a little richer for the drag strip. Well, not sure where the manual it now. Friday I may mess w it w the laptop; tonight if there's time I'll use the external battery and see if I cant figure it out.
__________________
triumphsig
CaligoneTx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 09:22 AM   #5
ZXALAN
UR NXT
 
ZXALAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: League City Tx
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 4,254

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
2000 Turbo-Hayabusa
2013 BMW S1000RR








Stock bike with a full muzzy right? Just pull the PCIII off all together. Until you get it tuned on your bike, its just killing power. The stock busa tuning is rich enough to support a full system. Just try it, disconnect it....its gonna run a ton better. IF you get any lean spots, it will be under 4k probably.... but I got money that says on the stock busa ecm tune alone, its gonna run 2x better.

Prebuilt maps are a waste of time, especially if you don't know how rich your bike was running stock. I have dynoed a ton of them, they are all rich as .
__________________

319hp@14lbs(pump gas), 435hp@29lbs(race gas)
Texas Mile Mar 09, 225.906mph, 8.82@168.43 w/1.63 60'-14.5lbs
ZXALAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 03:03 PM   #6
CaligoneTx
Forest Gnome Tour Guide
 
CaligoneTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Valhalla
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 21,558

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
Triumph 675r
Ducati 748
Hyosungs (250r + 650r)
Honda 900rr
Suzuki Busa1300r (+2 bikes)






Send a message via AIM to CaligoneTx Send a message via Yahoo to CaligoneTx
ya, took the stacks off so just the airbox mod and filter and the exhaust minus pair valve. I'll try that on the ride tomorrow and see how she feels. I remembered a change when Patrick put the map in but I dont recall what the difference was... was too long ago.
__________________
triumphsig
CaligoneTx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 10:38 AM   #7
Mr.Jones
Senior Member
 
Mr.Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Channelview
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 458

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
02 f4i
09 Raider(dads bike)








Why would you put the battery to adjust on the bike? I think I read somewhere that you just hold the three buttons to put it into program mode, then press the part you want to adjust LOW-MID-HIGH (RPM)???
Mr.Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 10:46 AM   #8
tomLSTD
LSTD Mob Cappo
 
tomLSTD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 6,798

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 1






Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by ZXALAN View Post
Stock bike with a full muzzy right? Just pull the PCIII off all together. Until you get it tuned on your bike, its just killing power. The stock busa tuning is rich enough to support a full system. Just try it, disconnect it....its gonna run a ton better. IF you get any lean spots, it will be under 4k probably.... but I got money that says on the stock busa ecm tune alone, its gonna run 2x better.

Prebuilt maps are a waste of time, especially if you don't know how rich your bike was running stock. I have dynoed a ton of them, they are all rich as .
+1

Besides, doing the "manual" adjust on the PCIII is a waste of time and won't be much help at all.
__________________
I am Tyler Durdin's bad attitude.
tomLSTD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy