Welcome back to us :/ Our hosts data center was down for the entire day.
MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 10-17-2008, 10:45 AM   #1
Echo4Hotel
Senior Member
 
Echo4Hotel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SW Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 684

Experience: 4-8 months
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
03 R6




Member Garage





Send a message via Yahoo to Echo4Hotel
How do I readjust grips?

I was messing with a friends bike the other day and realized that his throttle is much more smooth than mine is. When I took a closer look it appears that my throttle side grip might be dragging on the inside some. I can see about a millimeter or two of the actual black plastic throttle sticking out from under the outside of my grip which leads me to believe my grip is pushed too far in. Not only does it "chatter" a little when I twist it slowly, but it is not as quick to release when I let go of it. Is there a way I can readjust it, or do I need to get new grips and start from a fresh set to get them to set up properly?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue October; Argue With a Tree
How did I get here? The little boy who'd argue with a tree. Just f***in' thump his head, he'll turn back to normal.
Echo4Hotel is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
best handlebar grips sullivan General Discussion (Moto Related) 22 06-06-2012 04:46 PM
Better grips??? Swat267 General Discussion (Moto Related) 7 09-30-2011 10:17 AM
Slipping Grips Help cdill35 How To's and Q & A's 15 11-06-2008 10:02 AM
Free grips Spectre5922 General Discussion (Moto Related) 0 10-24-2008 10:46 AM
GRIPS H2447INTX General Discussion (Moto Related) 30 08-04-2007 12:54 AM
Advertisement
Old 10-17-2008, 10:58 AM   #2
SPYDER BITE
Can-Am has arrived
 
SPYDER BITE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: I LIVE IN CLEVELAND, TEXAS
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 7,724

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 2

Bike(s):
2009 Can-Am Spyder 990









we used some cylicone when installing my new ones it helps keep them in place and is easier to remove than if you use super glue or something like that when you go to replace them. They soften up and stretch a bit with wear and are probably just moving around a bit. You can remove them and apply a small amount of cylicone to the bar itself then replace grips and peel away any cylicone that is pushed through during installation.
__________________
My Can_Am 990 is the Shiznit!
SPYDER BITE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 11:11 AM   #3
gunshotwound
You have been warned!
 
gunshotwound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bullard, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 5,540

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
YAMAHA R6
YAMAHA FZ6



Member Garage





Cool

The only way to fix your problem is to trade that ol R6 in on a shiny new 09!
__________________


CMRA #106
gunshotwound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 12:41 PM   #4
Echo4Hotel
Senior Member
 
Echo4Hotel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SW Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 684

Experience: 4-8 months
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
03 R6




Member Garage





Send a message via Yahoo to Echo4Hotel
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunshotwound View Post
The only way to fix your problem is to trade that ol R6 in on a shiny new 09!
But, but, I've only had it a month. :(
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue October; Argue With a Tree
How did I get here? The little boy who'd argue with a tree. Just f***in' thump his head, he'll turn back to normal.
Echo4Hotel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 12:54 PM   #5
bdubb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Houston
Feedback Rating: (10)
Posts: 2,563

Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
1961 Mustang Thoroughbred
'06 CBR1000RR (SOLD)



Member Garage





Yes, some compressed air between the grip and bar and you'll be able to move it around at ease. Then when it is where you like it put some safety wire around it to hold it in place.

Just another option...

I have heard of people using golf club grip tape under their grips to hold them in place better too. I just haven't tried this yet myself.
bdubb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy