MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > General Discussion > General Discussion (Moto Related)
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 09-29-2008, 09:03 AM   #1
blends
NYYYYYYEAAOWWWWWW
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: mission bend
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 7,307

Experience: 2 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to blends
need help with programming a key

So here's the situation. My girl had the only copy of my car key for a grand total of 3 hours and managed to lose it. Now my car is stranded in her driveway in Spring Cypress and I live over in the alief/katy area.

The problem is that GM says they need to have the car in their service dept to program a key to start my car. I don't wanna pay a tow bill.

I had a locksmith come out and cut me a key that will lock/unlock the door, but it won't start the car because it's not programmed.

Is there a quicky way to program this key without the hassle of dealing with a stealership?
__________________
ಠ_ಠ
blends is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honda Transponder key programming cychotic Car Forum 0 11-30-2011 01:53 PM
Website Programming? brisingr23 Off Topic 1 03-13-2011 07:33 PM
2005 R6 lost my only key. Key code location? rickybobbi How To's and Q & A's 1 06-29-2010 08:37 PM
speed tv programming RACER X Off Topic 0 12-09-2009 11:10 AM
Advertisement
Old 09-29-2008, 09:04 AM   #2
blends
NYYYYYYEAAOWWWWWW
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: mission bend
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 7,307

Experience: 2 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to blends
btw it's a 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix GP
__________________
ಠ_ಠ
blends is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 10:07 AM   #3
buddha429
Reformed Track Addict
 
buddha429's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Feedback Rating: (6)
Posts: 2,884

Experience: 1-3 months

Bike(s):
at the junkyard









did he cut u a pk3 key with a chip or is it a regular metal key? try the 30 minute procedure.

Untitled 1a1
buddha429 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 10:09 AM   #4
gunshotwound
You have been warned!
 
gunshotwound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bullard, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 5,540

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
YAMAHA R6
YAMAHA FZ6



Member Garage





Cool

Sorry to inform you, but, you will have to get it to the dealer to be hooked up to their computer.
__________________


CMRA #106
gunshotwound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 10:14 AM   #5
blends
NYYYYYYEAAOWWWWWW
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: mission bend
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 7,307

Experience: 2 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to blends
buddha i'm not sure what the locksmith was doing but he spent a good 2.5 hours doing it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gunshotwound View Post
Sorry to inform you, but, you will have to get it to the dealer to be hooked up to their computer.
are there any mobile locksmiths equipped to do this?
__________________
ಠ_ಠ
blends is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 10:16 AM   #6
gunshotwound
You have been warned!
 
gunshotwound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bullard, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 5,540

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
YAMAHA R6
YAMAHA FZ6



Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by blends View Post
buddha i'm not sure what the locksmith was doing but he spent a good 2.5 hours doing it.



are there any mobile locksmiths equipped to do this?
Not unless they have a GM computer, and they don't.
__________________


CMRA #106
gunshotwound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 10:21 AM   #7
buddha429
Reformed Track Addict
 
buddha429's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Feedback Rating: (6)
Posts: 2,884

Experience: 1-3 months

Bike(s):
at the junkyard









Quote:
Originally Posted by gunshotwound View Post
Sorry to inform you, but, you will have to get it to the dealer to be hooked up to their computer.
that's the short way, then there's the long way. most cars are able to be manually programmed, but it will wipe out all previous programmed keys. the procedure must be followed to the dime or else it won't work. most times it takes me two or three tries to get the car reprogrammed with a new key.

blends, is the key all metal or does it have a plastic end where you hold it to turn the key? anyway to contact the locksmith and ask if the key they cut for you is programmable?
buddha429 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 10:26 AM   #8
blends
NYYYYYYEAAOWWWWWW
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: mission bend
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 7,307

Experience: 2 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to blends
Quote:
Originally Posted by buddha429 View Post
that's the short way, then there's the long way. most cars are able to be manually programmed, but it will wipe out all previous programmed keys. the procedure must be followed to the dime or else it won't work. most times it takes me two or three tries to get the car reprogrammed with a new key.

blends, is the key all metal or does it have a plastic end where you hold it to turn the key? anyway to contact the locksmith and ask if the key they cut for you is programmable?
i'm okay with it wiping out previous key programs cuz i don't have another key! lol

it's got the plastic end and yes he said it's got a chip that he's able to program. when he tried the first time he didn't get the car started so he gave me the key but didn't charge me anything. i think i'm gonna let him give it another shot today because he already told me i don't have to pay him until he gets the car running. Besides, the 180 he wants to charge is actually the same price the dealer wants to charge me for a key + programming and that doesn't even include a tow to the dealer.
__________________
ಠ_ಠ
blends is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 10:30 AM   #9
buddha429
Reformed Track Addict
 
buddha429's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Feedback Rating: (6)
Posts: 2,884

Experience: 1-3 months

Bike(s):
at the junkyard









well i attached the instructions in the first post, so try it out. it might take a couple tries to get it to work.
buddha429 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 10:32 AM   #10
blends
NYYYYYYEAAOWWWWWW
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: mission bend
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 7,307

Experience: 2 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to blends
Quote:
Originally Posted by buddha429 View Post
well i attached the instructions in the first post, so try it out. it might take a couple tries to get it to work.
just the part from '30 minute relearn procedure' to the end, right? do i need anything else that's written above that?
__________________
ಠ_ಠ
blends is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 10:33 AM   #11
blends
NYYYYYYEAAOWWWWWW
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: mission bend
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 7,307

Experience: 2 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to blends
also what is the option code (Z49) and how do i know if my car has that?
__________________
ಠ_ಠ
blends is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 10:33 AM   #12
buddha429
Reformed Track Addict
 
buddha429's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Feedback Rating: (6)
Posts: 2,884

Experience: 1-3 months

Bike(s):
at the junkyard









nope. but like the instructions said, if the car was equiped with option code z49, this won't work.
buddha429 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 10:35 AM   #13
buddha429
Reformed Track Addict
 
buddha429's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Feedback Rating: (6)
Posts: 2,884

Experience: 1-3 months

Bike(s):
at the junkyard









you'd need the build sheet on the car. some cars have it written in the glove box on a sticker.
buddha429 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 10:37 AM   #14
blends
NYYYYYYEAAOWWWWWW
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: mission bend
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 7,307

Experience: 2 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to blends
i'll give it a shot before i call the locksmith. can't hurt, right?

i really appreciate the help buddha.
__________________
ಠ_ಠ
blends is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 10:38 AM   #15
buddha429
Reformed Track Addict
 
buddha429's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Feedback Rating: (6)
Posts: 2,884

Experience: 1-3 months

Bike(s):
at the junkyard









no prob, let me know how it turns out.
buddha429 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 11:08 AM   #16
MudBug
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Most northern tip of the southside
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 20,878

Experience: 6 years
Trackdays: 6

Bike(s):
1994 kawi zx7
1991 DR250



Member Garage





User is banned

.
MudBug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 11:35 AM   #17
GQ*
Destiny's daddy!
 
GQ*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Friendswood
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 11,014

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
2008 Ninja 250r (sold)
2005 Suzuki SV650s (totaled)
2007 ZX6r (sold)


Member Garage





yeah, DIY towing FTMFW!
__________________
"Success is getting what you want. Happiness is wanting what you get." -Dale Carnegie
GQ* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 12:19 PM   #18
blends
NYYYYYYEAAOWWWWWW
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: mission bend
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 7,307

Experience: 2 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to blends
didn't work. the 'starting disabled due to theft' message would not go away after 30 minutes and it says it will turn off at approx 10 min. :/

maybe the blank i have is a PK2 chip. it has the circle with a plus sign in the middle and it doesn't say PK3 anywhere.

blah
__________________
ಠ_ಠ
blends is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 12:43 PM   #19
lilmckee
Not part of the wannbes
 
lilmckee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 28,009

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+











could you jump start it start from the starter? or would the computer not allow fuel delivery?



Might want to search the 'knowledge of the thieves', and see if there's a way to wire around the theft prevention

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by OMEGA View Post
man [mckee] does not exist


where is mckee?
lilmckee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 01:01 PM   #20
MudBug
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Most northern tip of the southside
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 20,878

Experience: 6 years
Trackdays: 6

Bike(s):
1994 kawi zx7
1991 DR250



Member Garage





User is banned

.
MudBug is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy