Welcome back to us :/ Our hosts data center was down for the entire day.
MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > General Discussion > Taking it to the Track
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 08-27-2008, 09:21 AM   #1
gixxerman
Track Junkie Racing
 
gixxerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Baytown TX.
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 597

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2007 GSXR1000
2002 GSXR1000
95 CBR900RR
89 ZX7R
YAMAHA RADIAN 600






Smile quick shifter/ignition module question

For you guys that run the dynojet quickshifter and ignition module I got a question for ya. When installing my ignition module to my 07 GSXR1000
can I first do the firmware update for the PCIII and install the ignition module software and quickshifter software to my PCIII usb without fully hooking up the Ignition Module to the coils or plugging it or the quickshifter in?
I donít have a lap top to take to my garage and want to roll the bike in the house close to my PC and do all my updates first then go back to the garage to finish the install.
Thanks for any help. I've tried asking dynojet, but there customer service sucks since it's like pulling teeth for them to answer the phone or return my emails.
gixxerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick Shifter Expansion Module Nuh_Uh Performance and Modifications 11 07-17-2014 11:26 AM
Quick Shifter: Who has one? Blanco General Discussion (Moto Related) 59 03-12-2013 05:29 AM
Need hepl with Quick Shifter set up $$ GixMike19 How To's and Q & A's 7 05-17-2011 10:47 AM
PC3 and Ignition Module Install THE DEAN OF LEAN General Discussion (Moto Related) 2 12-04-2008 02:20 PM
ignition module and quickshifter install gixxerman Taking it to the Track 8 09-03-2008 08:13 AM
Advertisement
Old 08-27-2008, 09:23 AM   #2
SCRC John
Why am I not a MH sponsor
 
SCRC John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Magnolia, Tx
Feedback Rating: (5)
Posts: 2,747

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





After 10AM, call Patrick and ask him
(281) 444-0545
SCRC John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2008, 09:27 AM   #3
Radar
Senior Member
 
Radar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Near Corpus Christi
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,045


Bike(s):
CBR1000RR









Quote:
Originally Posted by gixxerman View Post
For you guys that run the dynojet quickshifter and ignition module I got a question for ya. When installing my ignition module to my 07 GSXR1000
can I first do the firmware update for the PCIII and install the ignition module software and quickshifter software to my PCIII usb without fully hooking up the Ignition Module to the coils or plugging it or the quickshifter in?
I donít have a lap top to take to my garage and want to roll the bike in the house close to my PC and do all my updates first then go back to the garage to finish the install.
Thanks for any help. I've tried asking dynojet, but there customer service sucks since it's like pulling teeth for them to answer the phone or return my emails.
Yes - it will work the way you are wanting to do it.
Radar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2008, 09:49 AM   #4
gixxerman
Track Junkie Racing
 
gixxerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Baytown TX.
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 597

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2007 GSXR1000
2002 GSXR1000
95 CBR900RR
89 ZX7R
YAMAHA RADIAN 600






cool thanks. I was thinking it might since the PCIII is supposed to store the info even if unhooked from the battery.
gixxerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2008, 09:58 AM   #5
Buck Beasley
Older,Wiser,Faster
 
Buck Beasley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Kemah, Texas
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 2,446

Experience: 10+ years


'05 Suzuki SV 650,


'04 Vespa 150

Member Garage





Send a message via Yahoo to Buck Beasley
Quote:
Originally Posted by gixxerman View Post
cool thanks. I was thinking it might since the PCIII is supposed to store the info even if unhooked from the battery.
True but you may need the 9v power supply to power it up.
__________________
CCS expert # 13
CMRA expert #413
Get off the keyboard and on your bike for a change...
Buck Beasley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2008, 10:14 AM   #6
gixxerman
Track Junkie Racing
 
gixxerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Baytown TX.
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 597

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2007 GSXR1000
2002 GSXR1000
95 CBR900RR
89 ZX7R
YAMAHA RADIAN 600






ok. Yeah I finally found mine the other day.
Thanks
gixxerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2008, 10:38 AM   #7
tomLSTD
LSTD Mob Cappo
 
tomLSTD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 6,798

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 1






Member Garage





I did the "plug-n-play" with mine, and it worked fine with the Dynajet settings.
__________________
I am Tyler Durdin's bad attitude.
tomLSTD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2008, 11:01 AM   #8
bdubb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Houston
Feedback Rating: (10)
Posts: 2,563

Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
1961 Mustang Thoroughbred
'06 CBR1000RR (SOLD)



Member Garage





Be sure to use a BRAND NEW fully charged 9v battery as we experienced the fact that it can cause errors when using even a partially depleted battery on my install.
bdubb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2008, 11:03 AM   #9
gixxerman
Track Junkie Racing
 
gixxerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Baytown TX.
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 597

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2007 GSXR1000
2002 GSXR1000
95 CBR900RR
89 ZX7R
YAMAHA RADIAN 600






ok cool will do then. Anybody now the best setting to set the kill time? I'm not sure what it defaults at. The shift RPM I'm setting up high anyway.
gixxerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2008, 11:39 AM   #10
tomLSTD
LSTD Mob Cappo
 
tomLSTD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 6,798

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 1






Member Garage





I think the default was .4? I just left it at default and it works great.
__________________
I am Tyler Durdin's bad attitude.
tomLSTD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2008, 11:52 AM   #11
gixxerman
Track Junkie Racing
 
gixxerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Baytown TX.
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 597

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2007 GSXR1000
2002 GSXR1000
95 CBR900RR
89 ZX7R
YAMAHA RADIAN 600






Ok good. That's what I wanted to hear.
Thanks again for your help.
gixxerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2008, 02:06 PM   #12
bdubb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Houston
Feedback Rating: (10)
Posts: 2,563

Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
1961 Mustang Thoroughbred
'06 CBR1000RR (SOLD)



Member Garage





Different bike and trans, but mine is at 55 milliseconds right now. I think the stock was at 60.

It shifts very smooth, but I did have one instance where it felt like ti cut out too long or jerked. Not sure what really caused it, but it may have been me not engaging the shift lever enough.

You'll love it once it's installed! Gave me some nice big smiles the first time getting onto the back straight at MSRH with it still leaned over.
bdubb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2008, 02:08 PM   #13
tomLSTD
LSTD Mob Cappo
 
tomLSTD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 6,798

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 1






Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by bdubb View Post

You'll love it once it's installed! Gave me some nice big smiles the first time getting onto the back straight at MSRH with it still leaned over.
Even better at TWS (Texas World Speedway) bangin' gears on the banked front straight...




mmmmmmmmmmmmm mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm good!
__________________
I am Tyler Durdin's bad attitude.
tomLSTD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2008, 02:30 PM   #14
Radar
Senior Member
 
Radar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Near Corpus Christi
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,045


Bike(s):
CBR1000RR









Mine are set @ 65 milisec
Radar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy