MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 08-12-2008, 10:26 AM   #1
Duck84
bikeless....at the moment
 
Duck84's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: humble
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 2,583


Bike(s):
03 600rr--> sold









signal wiring

So on my way home last night I notice that my left signal wouldn't blink so I thought "".

I got home took the fairing out and there it was the front left signal is disconnected and it doesn't look like a big deal is just that the colors from the wires of the signal are different than the wires that come from the bike so....I got a black and red on the signal (left) and I got green and orange coming from the bike....can somebody help me and tell me which goes with which I don't wanna burn anything here

Thankx ppl
Duck84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is GPS signal independent of phone signal? Helios Off Topic 35 04-27-2013 08:46 AM
Turn signal wiring r6racer Performance and Modifications 10 01-07-2013 02:20 AM
06 gsxr 600 turn signal wiring??? Tyco_18 General Discussion (Moto Related) 1 06-11-2010 06:48 PM
Turn Signal help Pachuco How To's and Q & A's 22 06-17-2009 12:03 PM
SIGNAL!!!!! speed_racer General Discussion (Moto Related) 11 07-15-2008 09:56 AM
Advertisement
Old 08-12-2008, 10:42 AM   #2
puertorico600r
Senior Member
 
puertorico600r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 367

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
R6









if you have a test light just put one side to ground turn your signal light on when you touch the test light to the wire the positive one will blink and that wire goes to red and the other to black. but i think orange was positive on my 600rr, hopefully that helps
puertorico600r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 10:46 AM   #3
Duck84
bikeless....at the moment
 
Duck84's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: humble
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 2,583


Bike(s):
03 600rr--> sold









Quote:
Originally Posted by puertorico600r View Post
if you have a test light just put one side to ground turn your signal light on when you touch the test light to the wire the positive one will blink and that wire goes to red and the other to black. but i think orange was positive on my 600rr, hopefully that helps
No man I don't have a test light....so if I do it wrong what could possibly happen??? Would it burn anything???
Duck84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 10:50 AM   #4
SiG239
Senior Member
 
SiG239's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Houston
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 399












black on the signal goes to green on the bike. Green will typically be the ground on most of your bikes wiring.
SiG239 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 10:51 AM   #5
CaligoneTx
Forest Gnome Tour Guide
 
CaligoneTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Valhalla
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 21,558

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
Triumph 675r
Ducati 748
Hyosungs (250r + 650r)
Honda 900rr
Suzuki Busa1300r (+2 bikes)






Send a message via AIM to CaligoneTx Send a message via Yahoo to CaligoneTx
if its leds, it wont burn them up... only power to ground w no load burns up a wire/components.
__________________
triumphsig
CaligoneTx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 11:30 AM   #6
Duck84
bikeless....at the moment
 
Duck84's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: humble
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 2,583


Bike(s):
03 600rr--> sold









Quote:
Originally Posted by SiG239 View Post
black on the signal goes to green on the bike. Green will typically be the ground on most of your bikes wiring.
Yes sir u got that right its working now.....thankx
Duck84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 11:39 AM   #7
m109runner
lighting guru
 
m109runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: pearland
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 581


Bike(s):
2007 suzuki m109r ltd









Send a message via Yahoo to m109runner
If they are regular incandesant bulbs it shouldn't matter on polarity. As long as the circuit is completed. Led's are different. They do need to be wired pos to pos, neg to neg. Wiring an LED backwards won't burn anything up, the lights just won't work. But since you got them working.....nevermind
__________________
keeping the shiny side up........

lighting the world one bike at a time!!!
m109runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 12:02 PM   #8
Duck84
bikeless....at the moment
 
Duck84's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: humble
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 2,583


Bike(s):
03 600rr--> sold









Ok so I just tried it and it works but now sometimes it will bkink and sometimes it will just stay on...althou if I turn the right signal first then switch to the left it will always go....I dunno what's going on but it works so ill just turn on the right one and then just switch it real quick to the left.... it
Duck84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 12:03 PM   #9
Duck84
bikeless....at the moment
 
Duck84's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: humble
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 2,583


Bike(s):
03 600rr--> sold









O yea they are LED's by the way
Duck84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 12:35 PM   #10
hotcknstrips
Bevo's royal guard.
 
hotcknstrips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tomball
Feedback Rating: (8)
Posts: 15,696

Experience: 7 years
Trackdays: 7

Bike(s):
09 Buell 1125CR









I can give you detailedd instrucctions on how to fix it
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Godsuki
I am going to kiss your my friend!!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by NY Weird Lady
Mucus Membrane!
hotcknstrips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 12:40 PM   #11
dbuck
Stayin' Young
 
dbuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NW Houston BW8/290
Feedback Rating: (5)
Posts: 19,624

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
02 Honda Superhawk









Send a message via AIM to dbuck
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duck84 View Post
Ok so I just tried it and it works but now sometimes it will bkink and sometimes it will just stay on...althou if I turn the right signal first then switch to the left it will always go....I dunno what's going on but it works so ill just turn on the right one and then just switch it real quick to the left.... it
you need a relay possibly....something to break the signal. From what I understand, LED's require less amperage and thus appear to staying solid. Same thing happened on my ZX7.
dbuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 12:56 PM   #12
CaligoneTx
Forest Gnome Tour Guide
 
CaligoneTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Valhalla
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 21,558

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
Triumph 675r
Ducati 748
Hyosungs (250r + 650r)
Honda 900rr
Suzuki Busa1300r (+2 bikes)






Send a message via AIM to CaligoneTx Send a message via Yahoo to CaligoneTx
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duck84 View Post
Ok so I just tried it and it works but now sometimes it will bkink and sometimes it will just stay on...althou if I turn the right signal first then switch to the left it will always go....I dunno what's going on but it works so ill just turn on the right one and then just switch it real quick to the left.... it
Factory wiring uses a running light; make sure your A/M wiring for the Leds arent crossed in any way. A resistor is used to increase the amperage of a circuit for Led-equiped vehicles.
__________________
triumphsig
CaligoneTx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 01:09 PM   #13
Duck84
bikeless....at the moment
 
Duck84's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: humble
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 2,583


Bike(s):
03 600rr--> sold









So if it was working fine before it might be only the wires touching or something????

Ill have to look into it later ojn tonight I gotta get ready for work
Duck84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 06:19 PM   #14
CaligoneTx
Forest Gnome Tour Guide
 
CaligoneTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Valhalla
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 21,558

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
Triumph 675r
Ducati 748
Hyosungs (250r + 650r)
Honda 900rr
Suzuki Busa1300r (+2 bikes)






Send a message via AIM to CaligoneTx Send a message via Yahoo to CaligoneTx
Factory wiring on your bike has three wires, ground, signal, parking.

A/M Leds dont use the parking light, only ground and signal; so if the light is staying on, there may be a short from the hot parking light wire to the signal wire before the Led assembly.
__________________
triumphsig
CaligoneTx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 09:02 PM   #15
Duck84
bikeless....at the moment
 
Duck84's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: humble
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 2,583


Bike(s):
03 600rr--> sold









Quote:
Originally Posted by CaligoneTx View Post
Factory wiring on your bike has three wires, ground, signal, parking.

A/M Leds dont use the parking light, only ground and signal; so if the light is staying on, there may be a short from the hot parking light wire to the signal wire before the Led assembly.
o ok i see what ur saying now....ill check that wen i get to the house
Duck84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 09:14 PM   #16
Pyrofallout
<<<< S.B.N. >>>>
 
Pyrofallout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Feedback Rating: (31)
Posts: 25,364

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Get a multimeter...will come in handy in the future!
__________________
A government big enough to give you everything you want, is big enough to take away everything you have.
"The course of history shows that as a government grows, liberty decreases."
-Thomas Jefferson
Pyrofallout is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy