MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > General Discussion > Taking it to the Track
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 06-03-2008, 12:14 AM   #1
Pre-K
Senior Member
 
Pre-K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Tomball
Feedback Rating: (11)
Posts: 3,413

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2012 CBR1000RR
2014 Specialized








kickstand killswitch BYPASS... HOW?

WTF?

Can I just cut the wires and twist 'em together to complete the circuit???????

I was told I could just unplug the quick-disconnect, but that didn't work.
Pre-K is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
V.A.T.S System bypass wolverine1 Car Forum 15 10-10-2014 10:30 AM
How to bypass kickstand switch? jakeg How To's and Q & A's 4 10-17-2012 06:19 PM
Killswitch Engage Vividkid Off Topic 13 04-22-2011 07:10 AM
Anyone know how to bypass an ignition? Slingblade92 General Discussion (Moto Related) 26 02-13-2007 11:54 AM
Bouncer Bypass Ramius Off Topic 1 09-04-2006 05:05 AM
Advertisement
Old 06-03-2008, 12:23 AM   #2
TheMagicMan
SBN Mechanic
 
TheMagicMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NW Houston
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 4,294

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'97-DR650 '01-RC51 '03-XR250R '83-XR80R '93-XR80R '03-XR50









Quote:
Originally Posted by Pre-K View Post
WTF?

Can I just cut the wires and twist 'em together to complete the circuit???????

I was told I could just unplug the quick-disconnect, but that didn't work.
I did it on my DR650. I cut it and crimped it. Worked fine.
TheMagicMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 01:41 AM   #3
Pre-K
Senior Member
 
Pre-K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Tomball
Feedback Rating: (11)
Posts: 3,413

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2012 CBR1000RR
2014 Specialized








Sliced, diced, and spliced... works great! No more gheyness!!!

A 'lil electrical heat-shrink-wrap-stuff to make sure it stays nice and snug, and I'm done!
Pre-K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 01:55 AM   #4
Princess
MH's ex fake mod
 
Princess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Clear Lake
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 7,982

Experience: 6 years
Trackdays: 4

Bike(s):
06 ZX-6R
09 Santa Cruz SL
Serotta Legend Ti







Send a message via AIM to Princess
Why would you wanna disable it?
Princess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 05:44 AM   #5
Grinchy
Senior Member
 
Grinchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Seabrook
Feedback Rating: (15)
Posts: 15,535

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'prila









Quote:
Originally Posted by Go! Ninja Go! View Post
Why would you wanna disable it?
If you remove the side stand on most modern Japenese bikes and don't bypass the sidestand sensor switch the bike will not start on the button.
race bikes and dedicated track bikes have the stand removed because of the whole weight and safety issue.

Last edited by Grinchy; 06-03-2008 at 05:47 AM.
Grinchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 08:00 AM   #6
dhdrider
Senior Member
 
dhdrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,719


Bike(s):
08 KTM 300 XC-W









If you don't want to cut it, you might be able to keep the switch in the "up" postition. I used zip ties on mine to keep it in the proper place.
__________________
- Jason

2008 KTM 200 XC

Klim Technical Riding Gear
Maine Root Handcrafted Beverages
Retail Resource Group
Primus Real Estate Services
TORCS #301
TSCEC #1114
dhdrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 09:42 AM   #7
Princess
MH's ex fake mod
 
Princess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Clear Lake
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 7,982

Experience: 6 years
Trackdays: 4

Bike(s):
06 ZX-6R
09 Santa Cruz SL
Serotta Legend Ti







Send a message via AIM to Princess
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grinchy View Post
If you remove the side stand on most modern Japenese bikes and don't bypass the sidestand sensor switch the bike will not start on the button.
race bikes and dedicated track bikes have the stand removed because of the whole weight and safety issue.


I just saw what forum it was in.
Princess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 09:48 AM   #8
federal20
up and comer
 
federal20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: alvin
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 505

Experience: 6 years

Bike(s):
2004 crf 50 stunted (sold)
2008 crf 50 stunted (sold)
2005 gsxr 600 streetfighter stunted (sold)







Send a message via Yahoo to federal20
dont do this

Quote:
Originally Posted by dhdrider View Post
If you don't want to cut it, you might be able to keep the switch in the "up" postition. I used zip ties on mine to keep it in the proper place.
i did this on my 05 and at about 110 on the freeway one of the zip ties came off turning off the bike and i almost lost it had i not grabed the clutch. i cut the switch off and now its on a toggles switch in my fairings so i can turn it on or off whenever i want
__________________
white walls make me famous
robbo2
federal20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 09:49 AM   #9
Pyrofallout
<<<< S.B.N. >>>>
 
Pyrofallout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Feedback Rating: (31)
Posts: 25,364

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Pretty sure you gotta keep the circuit completed, since that indicates that the kickstand is up, or the switch is in the on position.
__________________
A government big enough to give you everything you want, is big enough to take away everything you have.
"The course of history shows that as a government grows, liberty decreases."
-Thomas Jefferson
Pyrofallout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 09:51 AM   #10
houseofpaint
PM for BESTPRICE on parts
 
houseofpaint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Spring, TX
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 9,486

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2010 Yamaha R1 racebike
2012 GSXR750 Racebike
2003 DRZ125 semiflattracker


Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to houseofpaint
yep, gotta jump those two wires together.
__________________
www.facebook.com/HouseOfPaintDesigns
Follow us on Instagram @hopdesigns

Custom Paint, Powdercoating, and Collision repair (Cars and bikes)[/b]
houseofpaint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 10:01 AM   #11
TheMagicMan
SBN Mechanic
 
TheMagicMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NW Houston
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 4,294

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'97-DR650 '01-RC51 '03-XR250R '83-XR80R '93-XR80R '03-XR50









I had to do it on my dr650 becuase on some hard bumps and jumps the kick stand would come down a little and the engine would cut out. Its not fun having no power when you land.
TheMagicMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 10:22 AM   #12
dbuck
Stayin' Young
 
dbuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NW Houston BW8/290
Feedback Rating: (5)
Posts: 19,632

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
02 Honda Superhawk









Send a message via AIM to dbuck
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhdrider View Post
If you don't want to cut it, you might be able to keep the switch in the "up" postition. I used zip ties on mine to keep it in the proper place.
Quote:
Originally Posted by federal20 View Post
i did this on my 05 and at about 110 on the freeway one of the zip ties came off turning off the bike and i almost lost it had i not grabed the clutch. i cut the switch off and now its on a toggles switch in my fairings so i can turn it on or off whenever i want
+1, jump the wires to ensure they won't come loose at some point. Losing power mid turn is a !
dbuck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 10:28 AM   #13
dhdrider
Senior Member
 
dhdrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,719


Bike(s):
08 KTM 300 XC-W









Quote:
Originally Posted by dbuck View Post
+1, jump the wires to ensure they won't come loose at some point. Losing power mid turn is a !
Depends on the switch. My RC51 has a rotary switch and it really can't come off. If you have a push-button style switch, then yes, jumping it would be best.

Another way to keep the OEM connector in place is to use 2 of those blue crimp-style connecters that go on over the wires and run a jumper wire in between them.
__________________
- Jason

2008 KTM 200 XC

Klim Technical Riding Gear
Maine Root Handcrafted Beverages
Retail Resource Group
Primus Real Estate Services
TORCS #301
TSCEC #1114
dhdrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 10:47 AM   #14
GLD
track junkie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: clear lake
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 361


Bike(s):
F2 w/ F3 engine 2001 RC51









The original thread starter has had his problem solved but others might want to read this...

When you remove the switch/stand you need to complete the circuit. Sometimes this is as easy as just crossing the two wires. In other one needs to place a resistor in the loop. The reason some bikes need this is the manufacturer designed the circuit to look for a certain drop in voltage across the circuit as opposed to just open/closed circuit. You do this to make sure it hasn't simply been an unplanned short circuit.
GLD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 10:53 AM   #15
Pre-K
Senior Member
 
Pre-K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Tomball
Feedback Rating: (11)
Posts: 3,413

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2012 CBR1000RR
2014 Specialized








Quote:
Originally Posted by GLD View Post
The original thread starter has had his problem solved but others might want to read this...

When you remove the switch/stand you need to complete the circuit. Sometimes this is as easy as just crossing the two wires. In other one needs to place a resistor in the loop. The reason some bikes need this is the manufacturer designed the circuit to look for a certain drop in voltage across the circuit as opposed to just open/closed circuit. You do this to make sure it hasn't simply been an unplanned short circuit.
Know any specific brand/models the resistor would be req'd on?

I did the mod on an '07 Suzuki... FWIW
Pre-K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 11:35 PM   #16
K5GSXR1000
Member
 
K5GSXR1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: dallas
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 85


Bike(s):
06 GSXR 1000 & 06 636 For Sale









put a pin into it so it would be connected. tape it up and you're down. you could later put it back to stock if you please/need
K5GSXR1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 11:45 PM   #17
monkeyfist
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Japan
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 1,075

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
yours









User is banned

.
monkeyfist is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy