MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > General Discussion > General Discussion (Moto Related)
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 06-02-2008, 09:35 PM   #1
THE DEAN OF LEAN
CMRA/WERA #171 AMA#771
 
THE DEAN OF LEAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 2,996

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
GSXR 600 Race Bike




Member Garage


do velocity stacks require a full system?

i was told that in order to put velocity stacks on my bike i needed a full system or ir would not run right. I understand the concept of taking more in but would it really make that much of a difference?

Anyone with knowledge please give me some insight!

Thanks MH!
__________________
tj
www.TRACK-JUNKIE.com
THE DEAN OF LEAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Velocity stacks order Mr.D How To's and Q & A's 14 02-22-2011 02:02 PM
what are velocity stacks texasmade1 Performance and Modifications 13 04-11-2010 11:32 AM
Velocity stacks?!?!? Busa_Bullet Performance and Modifications 31 12-02-2008 04:03 PM
Velocity Stacks questions?? HoustonGixxer Performance and Modifications 100 01-26-2008 12:56 AM
Velocity stacks instead of airbox? Metzzen1 General Discussion (Moto Related) 11 02-11-2007 10:31 AM
Advertisement
Old 06-02-2008, 09:40 PM   #2
klassik
Senior Member
 
klassik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rosharon Tx
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 7,984

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
929
rnz450








i put pods on my carbed bandit and i had to jump up on the needle and main a hella lot. with that fuel injected gsxr in ur picture u prolly need the programmer and maybe beef up your fuel delivery somehow like bigger injectors?
__________________
www.teamstunters.com
klassik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 09:40 PM   #3
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,367

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






No, they do not require a ful exhaust.

I had them on my '07 GSXR600 and experienced a nice mid range boost.
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 09:54 PM   #4
Gringo3825
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Katy,Tx
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 208

Experience: 5 years

Bike(s):
06 GSXR 600 sold!!!!
09 Buell XB1200Scg








They are already on your bike. They are just rubber. With billet ones will just smooth the air without distortion at high rpm cause the rubber can't handle the high rpm with out distorting. Will gain better ride quality and a few hp through out the rpm band. Good investment for a better ride and a little more mid power.
Gringo3825 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 10:10 PM   #5
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,367

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






The aluminum ones are actually different lengths as well.
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 10:18 PM   #6
liberator14
Senior Member
 
liberator14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 180












like patrick said the length is what will make a different. if i remember right the longer the more low end and the shorter will give more top end or its the other way around.
liberator14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 10:20 PM   #7
THE DEAN OF LEAN
CMRA/WERA #171 AMA#771
 
THE DEAN OF LEAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 2,996

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
GSXR 600 Race Bike




Member Garage


should I put them on before I get the power commander and get it tuned?
__________________
tj
www.TRACK-JUNKIE.com
THE DEAN OF LEAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 10:23 PM   #8
liberator14
Senior Member
 
liberator14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 180












i would. do all your upgrades before you go to the dyno to be on the safe side.
liberator14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy