MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 05-14-2008, 08:31 PM   #1
FKNA
Senior Member
 
FKNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 6,707

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 3

Bike(s):
2005 Yamaha R1
2008 Goldwing








?? How to enable Pro Race Mode - R1

I saw this link in another thread, however the video is all blacked out. I have no idea how the PRM is being enabled. Anyone have instructions? A better video? If you already have a PCIII, does enabling the PRM still help?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vTCkyHTor7o
FKNA is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TMGP Go-Pro Footage Race # 9 & 16 TomballD Taking it to the Track 16 03-10-2013 11:59 AM
enable right click for FIREFOX Scatter Off Topic 35 07-23-2009 09:23 PM
pro stunt+pro twisty+pro offroad+pro bull fighter Din General Discussion (Moto Related) 15 12-26-2005 11:25 PM
Advertisement
Old 05-14-2008, 08:38 PM   #2
DvlRacer
cerca trova
 
DvlRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Feedback Rating: (52)
Posts: 16,440







Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by FKNA View Post
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by rob78 View Post
nothing goes unmoderated....
"And so, this tiny metal deathtrap becomes known as the ultimate form of freedom. Like a steampunk cyborg, man and machine fuse to make a symbol of what you can become when style and speed matter more than safety and efficiency. Is it any wonder that some people just get mad every time they see a motorcycle go by? Because it challenges everything they have, while proving to them that they donít have enough."
DvlRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2008, 08:59 PM   #3
CaligoneTx
Forest Gnome Tour Guide
 
CaligoneTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Valhalla
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 21,558

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
Triumph 675r
Ducati 748
Hyosungs (250r + 650r)
Honda 900rr
Suzuki Busa1300r (+2 bikes)






Send a message via AIM to CaligoneTx Send a message via Yahoo to CaligoneTx
http://www.r1-forum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=232719

Anyone else not getting this?

the 147 to 151 hp comparison.... not far, I understand one has a slip on the other has a full system; but not set up right or the simple fact that a full system wont work magic at lower rpms(considering the stock header is that restrictive) I don't see a 50hp gain....

so you're saying the r1 only has 100hp from the factory...

Im sorry, but that really sux...
__________________
triumphsig
CaligoneTx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2008, 09:03 PM   #4
CaligoneTx
Forest Gnome Tour Guide
 
CaligoneTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Valhalla
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 21,558

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
Triumph 675r
Ducati 748
Hyosungs (250r + 650r)
Honda 900rr
Suzuki Busa1300r (+2 bikes)






Send a message via AIM to CaligoneTx Send a message via Yahoo to CaligoneTx
They eliminated that feature in 07 Sorry bro.

from page 2
__________________
triumphsig
CaligoneTx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2008, 09:25 PM   #5
CaligoneTx
Forest Gnome Tour Guide
 
CaligoneTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Valhalla
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 21,558

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
Triumph 675r
Ducati 748
Hyosungs (250r + 650r)
Honda 900rr
Suzuki Busa1300r (+2 bikes)






Send a message via AIM to CaligoneTx Send a message via Yahoo to CaligoneTx
All US Yamaha YZF-R1 models are restricted by the DOT by as much as 27-50hp and 37-62mph top speed (dependant upon state purchase). To over ride the preset restricter and/or enable "YEC Pro Race Mode" in the ECU, you have to show proof of a valid AMA race license or expert trackday certification. You can easily gain 50hp and 37-62mph top speed by swapping your midwest ECU for a Canadian ECU but than you have to reset your speedo from KPH to MPH. You also need to calibrate your speedometer because the manufacturer builds a speedometer error into the guage to essentially fool you into thinking you have reached maximum velocity (when in fact you have not) THIS IS NOT RECOMMENDED. It is recommended that you get the necessary qualifications and your dealer will plug a chip into your ecu that will enable "YEC Pro Race Mode"

that's a chip replacement... the guy who posted the video posted this to prove that his jumper wire works... everyone else missed the chip swap... so if you have a 50 state bike, so far, if it is real(doubting 50hp because that is wrong on yamaha to withold that from consumers) you need a chip
__________________
triumphsig
CaligoneTx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2008, 09:32 PM   #6
DvlRacer
cerca trova
 
DvlRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Feedback Rating: (52)
Posts: 16,440







Member Garage





It's a myth
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by rob78 View Post
nothing goes unmoderated....
"And so, this tiny metal deathtrap becomes known as the ultimate form of freedom. Like a steampunk cyborg, man and machine fuse to make a symbol of what you can become when style and speed matter more than safety and efficiency. Is it any wonder that some people just get mad every time they see a motorcycle go by? Because it challenges everything they have, while proving to them that they donít have enough."
DvlRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 12:56 AM   #7
CaligoneTx
Forest Gnome Tour Guide
 
CaligoneTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Valhalla
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 21,558

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
Triumph 675r
Ducati 748
Hyosungs (250r + 650r)
Honda 900rr
Suzuki Busa1300r (+2 bikes)






Send a message via AIM to CaligoneTx Send a message via Yahoo to CaligoneTx
Quote:
Originally Posted by DvlRacer View Post
It's a myth
Had me laughing for a good amount of time... I don't doubt there are bypasses to make it run leaner or increase progressive throttle control so the throttle doesn't need to be rolled so far to obtain full throttle, being the 06s on are becoming FBW on models lately
__________________
triumphsig
CaligoneTx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 05:34 PM   #8
Zapata
a.k.a Dos Equis
 
Zapata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Katy/Conroe
Feedback Rating: (5)
Posts: 2,615

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
'13 Victory Cross Country
'13 Victory Judge



Member Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by FKNA View Post
I saw this link in another thread, however the video is all blacked out. I have no idea how the PRM is being enabled. Anyone have instructions? A better video? If you already have a PCIII, does enabling the PRM still help?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vTCkyHTor7o
LOL...!!!!! He turn the lights off...!!!!! Unles you are planning to dedicate the bike to only racing at the track I do not see any advantage of doing this for street riding.
Zapata is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy