MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 04-03-2008, 12:04 AM   #1
Blippin-Yellow
Blippin-Yellow
 
Blippin-Yellow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 40


Bike(s):
99' CBR 600F4









Post Need help taking off front sprocket on CBR/F4

Guys,
This newbie needs some advice to take off front sprocket. I have taken off chain and replaced rear sprocket.

Now i am moving to front sprocket. I am using my 14mm socket wrench and turning counterclockwise and instead of turning just the nut, i am turing the entire gear with the nut. I have the bike in 1st gear to keep the gear from turning, but the sprocket still turns when i use my wrench counterclockwise on the nut.

I dont want to strip any internal gears nor break anything in the process. I read the manual and it doesnt say much to take it off. Just tells me to undo nut and ta-da... thing is off.

Any advice?
Blippin-Yellow is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CBR 250r Front Sprocket Change Neon Samurai General Discussion (Moto Related) 9 09-16-2014 09:50 AM
cbr f4 i J-ryder How To's and Q & A's 2 11-26-2011 02:52 AM
CBR 600 F4 Help... Again. the_grey_john General Discussion (Moto Related) 11 08-21-2008 03:15 PM
steering bearing on cbr f4 v4lu3s How To's and Q & A's 9 07-01-2008 09:32 PM
just got cbr 600 f4 *look* Nightster Ridester General Discussion (Moto Related) 14 11-14-2006 05:35 PM
Advertisement
Old 04-03-2008, 12:21 AM   #2
andre3k
I see dead people...
 
andre3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 2,798












This is how I did mine.

1. Put bike in neutral
2. zip tied down rear brake
3. used a cordless impact wrench. it came right off.
andre3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 12:26 AM   #3
Japawhat02
02 Tona
 
Japawhat02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: P-land
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 6,939

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 3

Bike(s):
2002 Daytona









^^^^+1you wont break anything. If you dont have a impact wrench have someone hold the rear tire.
__________________
2002 Brittish Rocket
Japawhat02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 12:37 AM   #4
Blippin-Yellow
Blippin-Yellow
 
Blippin-Yellow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 40


Bike(s):
99' CBR 600F4









Doh!.. i just broke the old chain off too.
I guess i have to put on the new clean chain on the old greesy sprocket and then try it.
I dont have an impact wrench. Just got breaker bar and a socket wrench.

Ill just jerk it counterclockwise and hope the bolt moves without anything else flying off.

Stupid manuals.... why dont they tell me i need 4 hands to do 1 job?
Blippin-Yellow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 12:38 AM   #5
Princess
MH's ex fake mod
 
Princess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Clear Lake
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 7,982

Experience: 6 years
Trackdays: 4

Bike(s):
06 ZX-6R
09 Santa Cruz SL
Serotta Legend Ti







Send a message via AIM to Princess
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blippin-Yellow View Post
Doh!.. i just broke the old chain off too.
I guess i have to put on the new clean chain on the old greesy sprocket and then try it.
I dont have an impact wrench. Just got breaker bar and a socket wrench.

Ill just jerk it counterclockwise and hope the bolt moves without anything else flying off.

Stupid manuals.... why dont they tell me i need 4 hands to do 1 job?


Ya don't. You just need a good impact.
Princess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 12:49 AM   #6
Japawhat02
02 Tona
 
Japawhat02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: P-land
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 6,939

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 3

Bike(s):
2002 Daytona









you broke the chain???!!!!! Im going to go out on a limb and say whoever tightened it didnt use a toque wrench....lol
__________________
2002 Brittish Rocket
Japawhat02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 12:58 AM   #7
DvlRacer
cerca trova
 
DvlRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Feedback Rating: (52)
Posts: 16,440







Member Garage





Do you have stands? I have impact tools and need to use stands to do the front rotors on my F4 1999 as well on Friday. If you want you can come over use my tools and I'll use ur stands
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by rob78 View Post
nothing goes unmoderated....
"And so, this tiny metal deathtrap becomes known as the ultimate form of freedom. Like a steampunk cyborg, man and machine fuse to make a symbol of what you can become when style and speed matter more than safety and efficiency. Is it any wonder that some people just get mad every time they see a motorcycle go by? Because it challenges everything they have, while proving to them that they donít have enough."
DvlRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 01:35 AM   #8
Blippin-Yellow
Blippin-Yellow
 
Blippin-Yellow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 40


Bike(s):
99' CBR 600F4









Quote:
Originally Posted by Japawhat02 View Post
you broke the chain???!!!!! Im going to go out on a limb and say whoever tightened it didnt use a toque wrench....lol
I am replacing chain+sprocket. So i used a chain breaker to take off old chain. Don't ask. The old chain wouldnt come off....

Let me see how things go tomorrow...

I hope and hope holding the rear tire/pressing breaks works...

This seems so simple to have to go through the trouble of getting impact wrenches and etc..
Blippin-Yellow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2008, 01:16 AM   #9
Blippin-Yellow
Blippin-Yellow
 
Blippin-Yellow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 40


Bike(s):
99' CBR 600F4









I finally got it off.

Now i have another question.

I went from a 16 tooth gear in front to a 15 teeth gear.

The problem now is that i have the chain tension set to maximum and the chain is still loose. I compared the chain to the old one and the lenght is the same. Only difference now is that the sprocket is 1 tooth smaller.

Do you normally have to cut a link off if you go down a size in front sprocket?
Blippin-Yellow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2008, 01:32 AM   #10
AhmadHasib
Turkey Sammich: Mmmm Good
 
AhmadHasib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sugar Land, Texas
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 807

Experience: 1 year











sorry for jacking your thread, how many miles did your previous chain last?
__________________
AhmadHasib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2008, 01:41 AM   #11
dbuck
Stayin' Young
 
dbuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NW Houston BW8/290
Feedback Rating: (5)
Posts: 19,625

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
02 Honda Superhawk









Send a message via AIM to dbuck
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blippin-Yellow View Post
I finally got it off.

Now i have another question.

I went from a 16 tooth gear in front to a 15 teeth gear.

The problem now is that i have the chain tension set to maximum and the chain is still loose. I compared the chain to the old one and the lenght is the same. Only difference now is that the sprocket is 1 tooth smaller.

Do you normally have to cut a link off if you go down a size in front sprocket?
I've been drinking tonight, but here's my answer....

prior to setting the new chain and installing the master link, you should have adjusted the rear "tension" bolts to the front of the tick marks and then measured out the chain prior to installing the master link. If you have installed the master link (not sure if you used a clip on stlye or rivet style) cut it off and adjust accordingly and reinstall a new master clip.....

rule of thumb....measure twice, cut (or in your case, install) once. Hope this helps.

DBuck
dbuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2008, 02:02 AM   #12
Blippin-Yellow
Blippin-Yellow
 
Blippin-Yellow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 40


Bike(s):
99' CBR 600F4









Quote:
Originally Posted by dbuck View Post
I've been drinking tonight, but here's my answer....

prior to setting the new chain and installing the master link, you should have adjusted the rear "tension" bolts to the front of the tick marks and then measured out the chain prior to installing the master link. If you have installed the master link (not sure if you used a clip on stlye or rivet style) cut it off and adjust accordingly and reinstall a new master clip.....

rule of thumb....measure twice, cut (or in your case, install) once. Hope this helps.

DBuck
I got a RIVET chain. Man... i measured once against old chain. Now i have to install twice.

Why is it so hard to be handy with my own bike....
Why cant it be easy... lol
Blippin-Yellow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2008, 02:06 AM   #13
dbuck
Stayin' Young
 
dbuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NW Houston BW8/290
Feedback Rating: (5)
Posts: 19,625

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
02 Honda Superhawk









Send a message via AIM to dbuck
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blippin-Yellow View Post
I got a RIVET chain. Man... i measured once against old chain. Now i have to install twice.

Why is it so hard to be handy with my own bike....
Why cant it be easy... lol
You live and learn....'nough said. Your "old" chain may have been stretched. When installing a new chain (and I recommend new sprockets too) you should feed the chain through the front sprocket, over the rear, and then see where you need to cut the chain on the "bottom" (closest to the ground) to get an accurate measurement. Using the old chain (which is used, stretched, and sometimes abused) as a guidance should be a no-no.
dbuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2008, 07:02 AM   #14
RACER X
what R you lookin' at?
 
RACER X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Richmond, Tx
Feedback Rating: (26)
Posts: 33,486

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 8

Bike(s):
'14 Honda GROM! 181cc of fury!!
'10 Aprilia Tuono Factory-SOLD
'08 Busa - sold
A few more bought
A few more sold






did you replace the rear sprocket as well?
__________________
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
2014 GROM
181cc's BABY!
Trump/Zimmerman 2016
Make America Great Again!
RACER X is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2008, 07:56 AM   #15
FlipSideUp
This Flip Rides Nekkid
 
FlipSideUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston - Memorial
Feedback Rating: (13)
Posts: 4,605

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'03 Honda 919 Hornet
'89 Yamaha FZR400 Trackbike
'83 Honda CB650SC Nighthawk
'07 Step-2 (ok, it's my daughter's)






Quote:
Originally Posted by RACER X View Post
did you replace the rear sprocket as well?
did you read his first sentence?
FlipSideUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2008, 07:59 AM   #16
bumblebee
Yeah I'm flippin' YOU off
 
bumblebee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pearland
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 12,263


Bike(s):
'74 Suzuki GT380
'82 XS650 StreetTracker
'10 Ducati Streetfighter
'83 Yamaha Seca 900






Quote:
Originally Posted by Blippin-Yellow View Post
Guys,
This newbie needs some advice to take off front sprocket. I have taken off chain and replaced rear sprocket.

Any advice?
^^^
__________________
Asphalt is for racing... dirt is for growing potatoes. - J. Diester
When seconds count... the police are only minutes away.
Grow up and be a productive member of society already.
Bevo- "I lack skillz"
bumblebee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2008, 05:14 PM   #17
Blippin-Yellow
Blippin-Yellow
 
Blippin-Yellow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 40


Bike(s):
99' CBR 600F4









Everything is now set...
Finally i can move on....

Once the rain stops, i can really begin to ride. Hopefully i can tag with a group going to Fayettville soon.

Thanks all for listening to my pain...
Blippin-Yellow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2008, 10:07 AM   #18
texlurch
Official MH tag inspector
 
texlurch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Smack dab in the middle of Colo
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 10,236

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
04 ZX-10R
02 ZX-12R BOTM 12/11
00 ZX-12R
07 GSXR 600
00 TL1000R BOTM 07/12 (sold)

Member Garage





We should sticky this, for the "do's and don'ts" of chains; seems like there have been a few threads lately on chains and sprockets.

Here is a good tutorial with pics:

http://cbrworld.net/forums/thread/257864.aspx


I also like to clean the chain and bike before I start, to save all the mess.

Also a good time to clean the front sprocket cover and clutch pushrod of all the accumulated road grime and chain lube.

As stated above, break the front sprocket nut loose BEFORE removing the old chain. Also, don't trim or rivet the new chain until you have the sprockets installed and the tensioners backed up.

Another note is there are two different types of rivet master links: hollow and solid pin. The smaller rivet tool will not smash the solid type enough to keep them on, as Dbuck found out the hard way (sorry 'bout that, I didn't know either :/: )

Another thing to remember is the new chain and sprockets will wear in and stretch some over the first couple hundred miles, so check the adjustment regularly.
__________________
sig pic
A wise man once told me: "No matter how fine she is, just remember. Somewhere, someone is tired of her !"
.
.... Home of the "Black Ninja's"
texlurch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2008, 10:52 AM   #19
huyzel
Senior Member
 
huyzel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Lake Jackson
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 472


Bike(s):
2006 CBR 1000rr









What i would have done was loosen the front sprocket first by putting the bike in neutral and putting like a 2x4 through the rear wheel and turn it so that it is up against the swing arm and then bust the front nut loose. Then you proceed to disassemble the rear. Use an impact and see if that works. From factory the from sprocket is on there pretty good. Besure to use loctite when you re-assemble and torque everything to specs.
huyzel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy