MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 03-11-2008, 08:46 AM   #1
beaterR6
they call me Chunk
 
beaterR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: alvin, tx
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 83


Bike(s):
lookin to trade my truck for your...









Send a message via MSN to beaterR6
R6 cluster

I have a 2000 r6 that i purchased in pcs. It now runs beatifully and rides great, except the cluster does not work. All of the back lights and indicators ( for the high beam and stuff ) work fine, but the led display and the tach are dead. I assumed it was a problem with the cluster so i purchased on from ebay. The new cluster does EXACTLY the same thing. I am now thinking it might be a cdi box issue but i hate to spend over $300.00 on another guess. Any ideas? Is there any way to "test" the cdi box?
__________________
The C.M.A. Fast Lane
beaterR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Instrument cluster ecclissiass How To's and Q & A's 0 10-14-2013 09:22 AM
Led Cluster kit TribalBlade General Discussion (Moto Related) 6 11-15-2008 09:37 PM
2000 r6 cluster beaterR6 How To's and Q & A's 3 05-22-2008 06:23 PM
Question about my cluster Psych0ninja General Discussion (Moto Related) 1 03-25-2008 08:52 AM
help with cluster for gsxr!!! HoustonGixxer How To's and Q & A's 4 12-10-2007 12:08 AM
Advertisement
Old 03-11-2008, 08:49 AM   #2
OMEGA
good eenin *****es
 
OMEGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: se houston
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 7,971

Experience: 6 years

Bike(s):
2001 sv650(totalled) 01 yzfr6 now 2003sv1000




Member Garage





i would say check fuses look for striped wires, is there any wires no connecting to something?, my buddy has the same problem with the same kind of bike im curious to see your outcome, good luck
__________________
GU flag
SUPPORT YOUR LOCAL POLICE AND FIRE DEPARTMENTS!
OMEGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 09:01 AM   #3
beaterR6
they call me Chunk
 
beaterR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: alvin, tx
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 83


Bike(s):
lookin to trade my truck for your...









Send a message via MSN to beaterR6
all of the connections seem to be good. and i dont see any stripped wires. I've checked all of fuses multiple times and they are all good.
__________________
The C.M.A. Fast Lane
beaterR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 09:15 AM   #4
GSXR FTW
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NW Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 703












User is banned

.
GSXR FTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 11:41 AM   #5
beaterR6
they call me Chunk
 
beaterR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: alvin, tx
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 83


Bike(s):
lookin to trade my truck for your...









Send a message via MSN to beaterR6
ok so i just talked to the guy who was working on the bike before i purchased it....

he said, that he replaced all of the front fairings and stuff and hooked up all the wiring and everything worked fine. then, he hit the HORN button and got the sh*t shocked out of him , and now the cluster no worky. he said, that he chased wires, checked all fuses and everything seemed fine.

As of right now everything on the bike works EXCEPT-- the headlight switch is backwards and the cluster ( lcd display and tach ) doesnt work, and the neutral light does not come on, but the kill switch works on the kickstand.

the on/ off , start , horn, and both brake light switches all work correctly.

any ideas??????

ive got a wiring diagram and i guess tonight ill start trying to chase grounds and stuff and make sure everything is plugged in and hooked up again. i really hate to tear into the harness to search for wire problems.
__________________
The C.M.A. Fast Lane

Last edited by beaterR6; 03-11-2008 at 11:43 AM.
beaterR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 03:01 PM   #6
gunshotwound
You have been warned!
 
gunshotwound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bullard, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 5,540

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
YAMAHA R6
YAMAHA FZ6



Member Garage





I have an 01 R6 and the only thing that works on my cluster is the tach and the neutral lite
__________________


CMRA #106
gunshotwound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 04:00 PM   #7
beaterR6
they call me Chunk
 
beaterR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: alvin, tx
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 83


Bike(s):
lookin to trade my truck for your...









Send a message via MSN to beaterR6
i dont mind mechanical work or body work but i hate electrical work.

anybody had this problem and been able to FIX it?
__________________
The C.M.A. Fast Lane
beaterR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 04:53 PM   #8
stunterdude
Senior Member
 
stunterdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: cypress
Feedback Rating: (6)
Posts: 2,156

Experience: 6 years

Bike(s):
04 zx10,03 gsxr600,2001 f4i, 03 gsxr 1000, 2006 yzf250,2004crf150,2006 crf 450r,2001 929,06 klx 110




Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to stunterdude
i have a 2001 r6 and the gauges are the only thing that work on the whole bike!!!!!!
__________________
Please contact Solracer about sponsorship
stunterdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 05:19 PM   #9
Blue91
10.13.07
 
Blue91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Houston
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 2,217

Experience: 7 years

Bike(s):
2010 White R6
2003 Silver R6 (sold)



Member Garage





Send a message via Yahoo to Blue91
Try posting your question on the forums at www.r6messagenet.com. There's got to be others on there that have experienced your issues.
__________________
gixxerbill - MotoHouston.com's Lifetime Intolerance Award Winner

Blue91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 05:10 PM   #10
beaterR6
they call me Chunk
 
beaterR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: alvin, tx
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 83


Bike(s):
lookin to trade my truck for your...









Send a message via MSN to beaterR6
I see that alot of ppl have had problems with the clusters but i cant find where someone had a the exact same problem as me. Also, i cant get anyone to respond to a post.......??

im lost at this piont.i hate the idea of taking it to the dealer....
__________________
The C.M.A. Fast Lane
beaterR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 05:16 PM   #11
njay1984
3 for 11
 
njay1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: League City
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 6,411

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'07 Yamaha Warrior
03 SV650 track hoe








go to Patrick

BTW for teh sig
__________________
Those who can do......
those who can't Moderate
njay1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 05:20 PM   #12
beaterR6
they call me Chunk
 
beaterR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: alvin, tx
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 83


Bike(s):
lookin to trade my truck for your...









Send a message via MSN to beaterR6
hahahahaha i was wondering how long till u saw it.........hahahahahaha

maybe it'll come to that.
__________________
The C.M.A. Fast Lane
beaterR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 06:23 PM   #13
1FastMF
Guest
 
Posts: n/a







Member Garage





I have an R6 cluster if you want to try and see if it works ??? Maybe someone u on e-bay and sold u their bad one ??? Pm me and let me know
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2008, 07:35 AM   #14
beaterR6
they call me Chunk
 
beaterR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: alvin, tx
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 83


Bike(s):
lookin to trade my truck for your...









Send a message via MSN to beaterR6
pm sent
__________________
The C.M.A. Fast Lane
beaterR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy