MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Off Topic (everything else) > Off Topic
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 02-12-2008, 11:04 AM   #1
CubanGIXXER
R.I.P. Burns
 
CubanGIXXER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Houston / Sugarland / Katy
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 4,520


Bike(s):
'07 Suzuki GSXR 600




Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to CubanGIXXER Send a message via Yahoo to CubanGIXXER
Anyone Here Good at Hooking up Xbox 360 to a Wireless Network

Ok ... so I have an Xbox 360, and I have a Linksys wireless game adapter connected to it via ethernet cable, and I used to have a belkin wireless-g router and everything used to work fine. but my belkin broke, so I went to bestbuy and bought me a netgear wireless-n router (one of the best ones there). I installed it properly and the two laptops in the house were able to connect to it with no problem. then i started to connect my xbox 360 to it and i cant get it to work!!!
when i go into the network settings on the 360, everything is set up as before to pick up automatically. and when i go to check connection it goes as follows:

Connection - Wireless Bridge
Network - Connected
IP address - FAILED


WTF! Please ... I need help!
__________________
I got a fever....................and the only perscription....................is more cowbell!
NEWSIG22small
www.myspace.com/robbielay19
CubanGIXXER is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XBOX 360 WIRELESS HEADSET ForgottnSoul Off Topic 0 02-10-2010 10:23 PM
What's your wireless network name? Pyrofallout Off Topic 41 09-08-2009 02:59 PM
Is Moto Gp '08 for xbox 360 any good??? PimpDaub General Discussion (Moto Related) 7 08-15-2009 08:06 AM
wireless network meter blends Off Topic 4 07-23-2009 03:33 PM
Windows 7 64 Bit & wireless network w/ UVERSE???? Petro Off Topic 3 07-11-2009 06:23 AM
Advertisement
Old 02-12-2008, 11:09 AM   #2
S_M_J82
Prime Time!!!
 
S_M_J82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hutto TX
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 3,409

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+


2003 kawasaki z1000








Send a message via AIM to S_M_J82
i had the same problems man, after and hour i just got off and bought a long ethernet cable and ran it straight to the router itself. good luck though.
__________________
just trying to get by!
S_M_J82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 11:12 AM   #3
CubanGIXXER
R.I.P. Burns
 
CubanGIXXER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Houston / Sugarland / Katy
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 4,520


Bike(s):
'07 Suzuki GSXR 600




Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to CubanGIXXER Send a message via Yahoo to CubanGIXXER
Quote:
Originally Posted by S_M_J82 View Post
i had the same problems man, after and hour i just got off and bought a long ethernet cable and ran it straight to the router itself. good luck though.
LMAO!!!! I thought about that, but it would go from my office upstairs, halfway down the hall, up and over a halfway divider, down to the first floor, then along the wall for half the living room passing in front of another hallway!
Dont think the wife would approve!
__________________
I got a fever....................and the only perscription....................is more cowbell!
NEWSIG22small
www.myspace.com/robbielay19
CubanGIXXER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 11:19 AM   #4
JRxGRUBZx
.............
 
JRxGRUBZx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: h**town
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 14,325

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
O-six six durty six (r.i.p)
07 zx6r (rip)
o-five six durty six (rip)
01 f4i - yes yes im a trader .






man i KNEW how but i havent done it in so long
JRxGRUBZx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 11:41 AM   #5
wever411
Gunt Puncher
 
wever411's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: League City
Feedback Rating: (8)
Posts: 7,570

Experience: 3 years











move the modem and router to where the xbox is and just use a wire. you said the other two laptops are already wireless so nothing to worry about. plus your online gaming will probably speed up.
__________________
wever411 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 11:43 AM   #6
sbfuller
the crotch-rocketeer!
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Dickinson
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 15,918

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
2006 Hayabusa (totaled)2007 Hayabusa, 2004 CRF 50









Quote:
Originally Posted by wever411 View Post
move the modem and router to where the xbox is and just use a wire. you said the other two laptops are already wireless so nothing to worry about. plus your online gaming will probably speed up.
^^^ what he said, he DOES work at NASA
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by less_than_coop View Post
Its the stupidity. It gets added to our forum in normal and controlled doses which actually serves to the benefit of the website.
sbfuller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 11:45 AM   #7
SugarDaddy
Sugz Darko....
 
SugarDaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SugarTec Island
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 6,197












Send a message via Yahoo to SugarDaddy
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbfuller View Post
^^^ what he said, he DOES work at NASA
and he is azn....
SugarDaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 11:46 AM   #8
CubanGIXXER
R.I.P. Burns
 
CubanGIXXER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Houston / Sugarland / Katy
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 4,520


Bike(s):
'07 Suzuki GSXR 600




Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to CubanGIXXER Send a message via Yahoo to CubanGIXXER
Quote:
Originally Posted by wever411 View Post
move the modem and router to where the xbox is and just use a wire. you said the other two laptops are already wireless so nothing to worry about. plus your online gaming will probably speed up.
Well, the wireless router is in the office hooked up directly to my PC. I guess another option would be to buy a wifi reciever for the pc and then i can have the wireless router downstairs next to my xbox ... but Id rather not have to buy something else. Ill leave that as a last option. It has to work, because I used to be connected to my old wireless router!
__________________
I got a fever....................and the only perscription....................is more cowbell!
NEWSIG22small
www.myspace.com/robbielay19
CubanGIXXER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 11:47 AM   #9
RACER X
what R you lookin' at?
 
RACER X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Richmond, Tx
Feedback Rating: (26)
Posts: 33,501

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 8

Bike(s):
'14 Honda GROM! 181cc of fury!!
'10 Aprilia Tuono Factory-SOLD
'08 Busa - sold
A few more bought
A few more sold






Anyone Here Good at Hooking up Xbox 360 to a Wireless Network


my wife.......... she bought my halo xbox, and the wireless setup, and set it up.
__________________
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
2014 GROM
181cc's BABY!
Trump/Zimmerman 2016
Make America Great Again!
RACER X is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 11:50 AM   #10
CubanGIXXER
R.I.P. Burns
 
CubanGIXXER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Houston / Sugarland / Katy
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 4,520


Bike(s):
'07 Suzuki GSXR 600




Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to CubanGIXXER Send a message via Yahoo to CubanGIXXER
Quote:
Originally Posted by RACER X View Post
Anyone Here Good at Hooking up Xbox 360 to a Wireless Network


my wife.......... she bought my halo xbox, and the wireless setup, and set it up.
ROTFLMAOROTFLMAOROTFLMAO
__________________
I got a fever....................and the only perscription....................is more cowbell!
NEWSIG22small
www.myspace.com/robbielay19
CubanGIXXER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 12:07 PM   #11
HoustonGixxer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Feedback Rating: (17)
Posts: 5,225

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





check out the xbox help website. They always have the answers when I need them.
HoustonGixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 12:09 PM   #12
CubanGIXXER
R.I.P. Burns
 
CubanGIXXER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Houston / Sugarland / Katy
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 4,520


Bike(s):
'07 Suzuki GSXR 600




Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to CubanGIXXER Send a message via Yahoo to CubanGIXXER
Quote:
Originally Posted by HoustonGixxer View Post
check out the xbox help website. They always have the answers when I need them.
I was on there this morning and I went through the help wizard and put in all the info and pretty much all it says is hook it up this way and it should work ... well, i hooked it up that way and its not working ... they dont have a good troubleshooting guide for "what if it doesnt work!!!"
__________________
I got a fever....................and the only perscription....................is more cowbell!
NEWSIG22small
www.myspace.com/robbielay19
CubanGIXXER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 12:12 PM   #13
wever411
Gunt Puncher
 
wever411's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: League City
Feedback Rating: (8)
Posts: 7,570

Experience: 3 years











Quote:
Originally Posted by CubanGIXXER View Post
Well, the wireless router is in the office hooked up directly to my PC. I guess another option would be to buy a wifi reciever for the pc and then i can have the wireless router downstairs next to my xbox ... but Id rather not have to buy something else. Ill leave that as a last option. It has to work, because I used to be connected to my old wireless router!
oh nevermind then, just ask Racer X's wife
__________________
wever411 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 12:15 PM   #14
mekrew
naaaaaw i sayin
 
mekrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 9,778

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to mekrew
i can help you out with that .. i have xbox running wireless

if your getting a ip failed check your router

go into your router via a pc ... 192.168.1.1 probably
check to see if you have dhcp on/off

let me know and we can go from there

i notice from your 1st post it says wirelss bridge .... not wireless network
mekrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 12:22 PM   #15
CubanGIXXER
R.I.P. Burns
 
CubanGIXXER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Houston / Sugarland / Katy
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 4,520


Bike(s):
'07 Suzuki GSXR 600




Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to CubanGIXXER Send a message via Yahoo to CubanGIXXER
Quote:
Originally Posted by mekrew View Post
i can help you out with that .. i have xbox running wireless

if your getting a ip failed check your router

go into your router via a pc ... 192.168.1.1 probably
check to see if you have dhcp on/off

let me know and we can go from there

i notice from your 1st post it says wirelss bridge .... not wireless network
Yeah, when i set it up on the pc, i went in and checked that ... and it is set as DHCP - set up dynamically (or something like that)

yeah, on the xbox 360, when you go to network settings, and do test media or test xbox live, it goes into the step by step connections to make sure everything works. well, the first line says "bridged" which is the xbox just making sure that there is an ethernet cable connected to something. then the second line is to find the router, and it says "connected" , so it finds my wireless router and makes some kind of connection to it. and the thired line says IP Address, and thats when it says "FAILED" and stops right there.
__________________
I got a fever....................and the only perscription....................is more cowbell!
NEWSIG22small
www.myspace.com/robbielay19
CubanGIXXER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 12:27 PM   #16
mekrew
naaaaaw i sayin
 
mekrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 9,778

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to mekrew
your router is not assigning and ip address to the xbox

login to the router and when you test the connection see if you list of avaliable dhcp clients if the xbox is one of them

check your max # of dhcp clients make sure your not over the limit

disable the routers firewall then try it

are you running any aftermarket firmware on the router ?
mekrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 12:48 PM   #17
CubanGIXXER
R.I.P. Burns
 
CubanGIXXER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Houston / Sugarland / Katy
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 4,520


Bike(s):
'07 Suzuki GSXR 600




Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to CubanGIXXER Send a message via Yahoo to CubanGIXXER
your router is not assigning and ip address to the xbox

login to the router and when you test the connection see if you list of avaliable dhcp clients if the xbox is one of them
where do you find a list of dhcp clients ... i dont remember seeing any list

check your max # of dhcp clients make sure your not over the limit
i think i should have enough because under where it assigns ip's dynamically it shows - starting at ###.###.#.2 and ending at ###.###.#.251
but i might not know wtf im talking about! LOL


disable the routers firewall then try it
where do i go to disable the firewall? is that the wep or wpa?

are you running any aftermarket firmware on the router ?
nope ... strait out of the box and loaded up using its cd.
i have the NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch --- Model: WNDR3300-1BYNAS
from best buy
__________________
I got a fever....................and the only perscription....................is more cowbell!
NEWSIG22small
www.myspace.com/robbielay19
CubanGIXXER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 12:56 PM   #18
mekrew
naaaaaw i sayin
 
mekrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 9,778

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to mekrew
when u log into the router all the options i stated above should be there

i think the default to login to the router in 192.168.1.1 from a browser
mekrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 01:01 PM   #19
CubanGIXXER
R.I.P. Burns
 
CubanGIXXER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Houston / Sugarland / Katy
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 4,520


Bike(s):
'07 Suzuki GSXR 600




Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to CubanGIXXER Send a message via Yahoo to CubanGIXXER
Quote:
Originally Posted by mekrew View Post
when u log into the router all the options i stated above should be there

i think the default to login to the router in 192.168.1.1 from a browser
yeah, it is ... ok, I'll check on all that when i get home at 5:30. I'll PM you if (and prob when) I have trouble.

thanks!
__________________
I got a fever....................and the only perscription....................is more cowbell!
NEWSIG22small
www.myspace.com/robbielay19
CubanGIXXER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 01:24 PM   #20
CubanGIXXER
R.I.P. Burns
 
CubanGIXXER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Houston / Sugarland / Katy
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 4,520


Bike(s):
'07 Suzuki GSXR 600




Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to CubanGIXXER Send a message via Yahoo to CubanGIXXER
I JUST WANT TO PLAY MY COD4!!!
__________________
I got a fever....................and the only perscription....................is more cowbell!
NEWSIG22small
www.myspace.com/robbielay19
CubanGIXXER is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy