MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Off Topic (everything else) > Off Topic
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 02-07-2008, 06:25 PM   #1
RinasDaddy
When in doubt, restart!
 
RinasDaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,563


Bike(s):
10 Speed :(









Replacing Rear Wheel Studs on a "CAGE" haha

Anyone ever done it before? One of my wheel studs broke off when i was loosening them and i need it replaced. How hard is it? Im a big DIY'er so i'll probably google it and find out. Just wanted to know how much trouble im getting into here. Thanks! It's a 2004 Civic Coupe By the way
RinasDaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pit Bull rear stand Q: regular or "forward handle"? urbanXJ General Discussion (Moto Related) 7 06-25-2010 01:41 PM
12" rear wheel? Tiller1k Mini's, Motards & Flattrack Racing 0 09-01-2009 02:21 PM
2010 Camaro SS....26" on the rear 24" on the front darktoy02 Off Topic 21 07-17-2009 11:32 AM
Advertisement
Old 02-07-2008, 06:28 PM   #2
witchdoctor575
certified shutterbug
 
witchdoctor575's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Alvin
Feedback Rating: (11)
Posts: 23,547

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
07 triumph D675(sold)
05 busa LE (sold)
03 rc51 (sold)
99 superhawk (wrecked)
01 shadow 1100 (sold)

Member Garage





they should just hammer out. I am not familiar with your car so it might require the removal of the rotor. use a dead blow hammer to hammer them in and use the nut to install the new stud.
witchdoctor575 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 06:32 PM   #3
RinasDaddy
When in doubt, restart!
 
RinasDaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,563


Bike(s):
10 Speed :(









Yeah the rotor has to come off, it seems relatively easy. Im sure if i can change my brakes by googling it i can change a wheel stud. Honda quoted me 140 to fix it but i rather take care of it myself.
RinasDaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 06:34 PM   #4
witchdoctor575
certified shutterbug
 
witchdoctor575's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Alvin
Feedback Rating: (11)
Posts: 23,547

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
07 triumph D675(sold)
05 busa LE (sold)
03 rc51 (sold)
99 superhawk (wrecked)
01 shadow 1100 (sold)

Member Garage





take the rotor off then and hammer them out. push new stud up into the hole and install the nut. Tighten nut until the stud is in place...don't hammer on new stud.
witchdoctor575 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 07:16 PM   #5
BrutusTx
Guest
 
Posts: n/a







Member Garage





take the rotor off then and hammer them out. push new stud up into the hole and install the nut. Tighten nut until the stud is in place...don't hammer on new stud.


+1 exactly.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 07:26 PM   #6
RinasDaddy
When in doubt, restart!
 
RinasDaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,563


Bike(s):
10 Speed :(









Thanks guys im going to tackle this in the morning, gotta get parts in the morning to
RinasDaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 07:31 PM   #7
RinasDaddy
When in doubt, restart!
 
RinasDaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,563


Bike(s):
10 Speed :(









By the way should i use a DEADBLOW hammer to hammer it out ? and what should i use to hammer OUT the stud since it's broke off in the hub? A screwdriver? Metal pipe? any suggesstions?
RinasDaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 08:18 PM   #8
Azylum
The Chosen One
 
Azylum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ellington
Feedback Rating: (23)
Posts: 39,629

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 2











ya depends on the car. i had to replace some on a cavalier on the front (disk brakes) and they were threaded. just screwed right out.
__________________
motohoustonlogo
Bringing back the old school.
Azylum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 08:36 PM   #9
Radar
Senior Member
 
Radar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Near Corpus Christi
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,045


Bike(s):
CBR1000RR









Steel Hammer - Steel Punch - Safety Glasses - to remove "old stud" (I'm not referring to Brutus Tx)
Radar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 08:39 PM   #10
04RSVR
Professional Jack @ss
 
04RSVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: League City
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 3,195

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
BMW K1200 R Sport
Honda 305 Superhawk project bike
working on a motoped







Quote:
Originally Posted by Azylum View Post
ya depends on the car. i had to replace some on a cavalier on the front (disk brakes) and they were threaded. just screwed right out.
might want to do some research and see if your civic is that way. When you buy the new stud you should be able to tell of course.
__________________
I believe in luck. The harder I work the more luck I seem to have.

"It is better to ride a slow bike fast, than a fast bike slow." -- Mann
04RSVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 09:13 PM   #11
RinasDaddy
When in doubt, restart!
 
RinasDaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,563


Bike(s):
10 Speed :(









Well yeah im going to jack it up and analyze the situation. Of course mine is broke off into the hub so hopefully i don't have to drill it out or something like that. I have this steel pointy chisel that im going to use to hammer it out if possible
RinasDaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 10:58 PM   #12
hotnanas
i rock knobbies
 
hotnanas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 8,881

Experience: 10+ years











you post on any other forums? you should try there.

anyhow, i have done this, and I used a vice to push it out and the vice to press it in on a brake drum.
hotnanas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 05:18 PM   #13
Squanto84
Ruh Roh..
 
Squanto84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pearland
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 2,384

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





i just saw this thread...
Did you get 'er done?? Let me know if you need help still. I'd be more than happy to help out.
__________________
Roadracing a dirtbike..? Now that's just stupid! -Dad
Squanto84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 06:40 PM   #14
RinasDaddy
When in doubt, restart!
 
RinasDaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,563


Bike(s):
10 Speed :(









Quote:
Originally Posted by Squanto84 View Post
i just saw this thread...
Did you get 'er done?? Let me know if you need help still. I'd be more than happy to help out.
Yeah thanks for your offer though! Pretty much took the advice given here, and it went nice and smooth. Knew i could count on you guys
RinasDaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy