MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > Performance and Modifications
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 01-24-2008, 03:48 PM   #1
bignmz04
My better is better
 
bignmz04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sugarland
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 4,997


Bike(s):
too many to list. but dreaming and waiting on the ktm RC8.









Send a message via AIM to bignmz04 Send a message via Yahoo to bignmz04
vortex clipons.

i want to install my vortex clipons over the weekend. i see that they dont have any holes drilled for the start button and the highbeam switch. so just drill a hole
where i want them put? i also dont see anyway to install barends. do i have to take one of the black caps of off the clipon bars?
bignmz04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AM clipons: pro-con, school me. mx6er General Discussion (Moto Related) 7 05-04-2012 01:10 PM
aftermarket clipons - bar ends - vibration mekrew How To's and Q & A's 2 10-17-2010 03:30 PM
converting from a traditional handlebar to clipons loosenoose Performance and Modifications 14 12-03-2008 02:39 PM
vortex clipons gixxerman Taking it to the Track 7 08-27-2008 11:54 AM
Installing GP Tech Clipons Swift E How To's and Q & A's 13 03-07-2008 07:34 PM
Advertisement
Old 01-24-2008, 04:12 PM   #2
gunshotwound
You have been warned!
 
gunshotwound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bullard, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 5,540

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
YAMAHA R6
YAMAHA FZ6



Member Garage





Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by bignmz04 View Post
i want to install my vortex clipons over the weekend. i see that they dont have any holes drilled for the start button and the highbeam switch. so just drill a hole
where i want them put? i also dont see anyway to install barends. do i have to take one of the black caps of off the clipon bars?
i dont know about the switch stuff, but vortex sells bar ends that just push in for your clip ons.
__________________


CMRA #106
gunshotwound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2008, 05:04 PM   #3
Duck84
bikeless....at the moment
 
Duck84's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: humble
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 2,583


Bike(s):
03 600rr--> sold









i had the same question cuz they dont have thread at the end for bar ends, and also u have to remove the triple tree clamp right
o and i bought them used...and they came with a little drill hole...i wonder what it was for,...so i guess ur right u might have to drill them
Duck84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2008, 05:05 PM   #4
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,368

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






Just mark where the pins go and drill the hole, don't drill it too large or through both sides where you'll weaken the bars integrity.
As fas as bar ends, typically most of us stay with the hard plastic ones that come in them.
The biggest thing to watch out for during installation is that nothing contacts when steering lock to lock.
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2008, 05:08 PM   #5
Duck84
bikeless....at the moment
 
Duck84's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: humble
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 2,583


Bike(s):
03 600rr--> sold









Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick View Post
Just mark where the pins go and drill the hole, don't drill it too large or through both sides where you'll weaken the bars integrity.
As fas as bar ends, typically most of us stay with the hard plastic ones that come in them.
The biggest thing to watch out for during installation is that nothing contacts when steering lock to lock.
Duck84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2008, 05:29 PM   #6
bignmz04
My better is better
 
bignmz04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sugarland
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 4,997


Bike(s):
too many to list. but dreaming and waiting on the ktm RC8.









Send a message via AIM to bignmz04 Send a message via Yahoo to bignmz04
thanks partick and gunshotwound. i am making sure they dont touch lock to lock. want then tucked in as much as possible. so i dont think that will be a problem
bignmz04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2008, 05:40 PM   #7
Duck84
bikeless....at the moment
 
Duck84's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: humble
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 2,583


Bike(s):
03 600rr--> sold









Quote:
Originally Posted by bignmz04 View Post
thanks partick and gunshotwound. i am making sure they dont touch lock to lock. want then tucked in as much as possible. so i dont think that will be a problem
r u gonna remove the triple tree clamp?
Duck84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2008, 02:39 AM   #8
bignmz04
My better is better
 
bignmz04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sugarland
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 4,997


Bike(s):
too many to list. but dreaming and waiting on the ktm RC8.









Send a message via AIM to bignmz04 Send a message via Yahoo to bignmz04
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duck84 View Post
r u gonna remove the triple tree clamp?
i dont think i need to do that for mine. or do i? anybody know?
bignmz04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy