MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Off Topic (everything else) > Off Topic
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 01-21-2008, 07:05 PM   #1
flip326
No likey, no bikey
 
flip326's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: League City
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 5,509

Experience: 7 years
Trackdays: 9

Bike(s):
'07 GSXR-750 (sold)
'05 zx6r Monster (sold)
'03 600rr track (sold)
'04 600rr Eurobet (sold)
'05 gsxr 600 (sold)






AT&T vs. Comcast

So my 1 year contract wth comcast is up. Don't get me wrong, I haven't had any problems with comcast at all. The internet has been fast, and the cable and HD stations are good.

But I've been hearing that AT&T Uverse internet and cable seems to be a better deal.

A coworker says he pays about $96/month on a 1 year contract for DSL and cable.



if anyone's made the swtich....what made you do it....and how do you like it so far.
__________________
flip326 is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comcast chasee69 Off Topic 47 03-28-2015 08:33 AM
Who works at comcast??? flip326 Off Topic 17 12-31-2012 09:18 PM
Is anybody here a Comcast Rep? yellowjacket Off Topic 4 11-13-2010 01:51 PM
Comcast in Katy? ryanp77 Off Topic 5 06-15-2008 10:03 AM
comcast trouble? wlgorman Off Topic 10 11-16-2007 09:40 PM
Advertisement
Old 01-21-2008, 07:07 PM   #2
OMEGA
good eenin *****es
 
OMEGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: se houston
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 7,971

Experience: 6 years

Bike(s):
2001 sv650(totalled) 01 yzfr6 now 2003sv1000




Member Garage





my cousin did ,att uses fiber optics and his cable and internet are on this pretty sweet lookin router, everythings connected to one cool looking box
__________________
GU flag
SUPPORT YOUR LOCAL POLICE AND FIRE DEPARTMENTS!
OMEGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 07:31 PM   #3
txferrari
Banned
 
txferrari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Katy
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 10,090

Experience: 10+ years











User is banned

.
txferrari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 07:32 PM   #4
lilmckee
Not part of the wannbes
 
lilmckee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 28,009

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+











THANK YOU


i was about to make this thread today


cable tv and internet from comcast goes out all the time for me

it sucks
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by OMEGA View Post
man [mckee] does not exist


where is mckee?
lilmckee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 07:39 PM   #5
mekrew
naaaaaw i sayin
 
mekrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 9,778

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to mekrew
my comcast has been good for a while now, but when i first moved into my house and it was time warner (Even though they are the same) i wanted to blow them up

have 2 co-workers try uverse, ones loves it , the other cancelled it
mekrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 07:41 PM   #6
HoustonGixxer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Feedback Rating: (17)
Posts: 5,225

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





i had comcast and switched about a month ago to the uverse......love it, internet is faster, more secure, and ITS CHEAPER
HoustonGixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 07:47 PM   #7
flip326
No likey, no bikey
 
flip326's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: League City
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 5,509

Experience: 7 years
Trackdays: 9

Bike(s):
'07 GSXR-750 (sold)
'05 zx6r Monster (sold)
'03 600rr track (sold)
'04 600rr Eurobet (sold)
'05 gsxr 600 (sold)






Quote:
Originally Posted by HoustonGixxer View Post
i had comcast and switched about a month ago to the uverse......love it, internet is faster, more secure, and ITS CHEAPER
how much did they charge for installation, cause they run fiber optics instead of coax right???
__________________
flip326 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 07:49 PM   #8
lilmckee
Not part of the wannbes
 
lilmckee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 28,009

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+











Quote:
Originally Posted by flipboy326 View Post
how much did they charge for installation, cause they run fiber optics instead of coax right???
Im pretty cure your neighbor hood needs to have fiberoptics installed
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by OMEGA View Post
man [mckee] does not exist


where is mckee?
lilmckee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 07:58 PM   #9
HoustonGixxer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Feedback Rating: (17)
Posts: 5,225

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





depends is it a new house or old house or an apartment. Fibre may already be in the ground in your neighborhood. If its an old house or apartment the fibre is run from the node(box outside the complex) then from the node to the room is the phone jack, but they change the outlet during installation, kinda complicated once it gets inside the house, but i know it doesnt come out the exsisting coax cable for sure.

You can check on att's website if your house or apartment is available for uverse. the installation is free (well as of 1/8/08).
The fibre optics are either layed or not layed in your area
HoustonGixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 08:01 PM   #10
HoustonGixxer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Feedback Rating: (17)
Posts: 5,225

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





i used to do sales for uverse so i know a lil. they are saying that in about 6 months all the tv receiver boxes are going to be wireless, frickin sweet. You can go online to see all of the newest stuff for this technology.

i just think its sweet how you can get on the internet on your phone login to your att account and program your dvr to record a show without you even using a remote control
HoustonGixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 08:46 PM   #11
madtuna
addict with no drug
 
madtuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cypress
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 18












Send a message via Yahoo to madtuna
If anyone has questions about the Uverse service you can PM me. I work for AT&T and do Uverse repairs.
madtuna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 08:52 PM   #12
Azylum
The Chosen One
 
Azylum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ellington
Feedback Rating: (23)
Posts: 39,629

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 2











ive never had a problem with comcast. when they bought out time warner, the cable speed actually increased. i love comcast.
__________________
motohoustonlogo
Bringing back the old school.
Azylum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 08:55 PM   #13
HoustonGixxer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Feedback Rating: (17)
Posts: 5,225

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





when i was doing the sales it was kinda weird....2 houses on the left side of the street would be able to get uverse and then the next 3 or 4 houses weren't available. they have fixed a lot of the problems tho with the uverse since it came out! but the technology is absolutely badass!!!!
HoustonGixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 08:56 PM   #14
ketta
Guest
 
Posts: n/a







Member Garage





i have had nothing but issues with comcast. i had to threaten to sue them before they started getting my stuff straight. i havent had problems with them for a couple months. but i'm seriously thinking about switching
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 08:57 PM   #15
Azylum
The Chosen One
 
Azylum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ellington
Feedback Rating: (23)
Posts: 39,629

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 2











on a side note: i friggin hate DSL. id almost rather have dial up than go back to it. JMO.
__________________
motohoustonlogo
Bringing back the old school.
Azylum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 09:10 PM   #16
HoustonGixxer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Feedback Rating: (17)
Posts: 5,225

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





uverse isnt DSL.

its fibre optics
HoustonGixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 09:31 PM   #17
RinasDaddy
When in doubt, restart!
 
RinasDaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,563


Bike(s):
10 Speed :(









I got comcast for cable and ATT for internet lol pay about 90 something....maybe i should switch
RinasDaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 10:04 PM   #18
RBLCHIC
599 Chic
 
RBLCHIC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Friendswood
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 367


Bike(s):
2006 Honda 599









I switched from Comcast to Att U Verse in November and I LOVE it! Comcast was nothing but problems. I had the $99 promo package and was getting charged like $130 every month. And a lot of the stations never came in. That's when I decided to make the switch. I have internet and tv and spend a little over $100. Tons more chanels and the internet is wicked fast. Switching channels is lots faster and it has picture in picture when you are flipping through the guide. Never any problems! And they give you three boxes no extra charges like comcast. Basically, if it's available in your neighborhood I would def get it...
RBLCHIC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 10:13 PM   #19
madtuna
addict with no drug
 
madtuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cypress
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 18












Send a message via Yahoo to madtuna
If you in a neighborhood that is less than a year old you probably have fiber to the house. Uverse is in the baby stages. They are adding new features every couple of quarters. I wish I could get it.
madtuna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 10:04 AM   #20
txferrari
Banned
 
txferrari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Katy
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 10,090

Experience: 10+ years











User is banned

.
txferrari is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy