MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 01-13-2008, 03:23 PM   #1
Old School RR
Senior Member
 
Old School RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Belton, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,061

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
1999 Honda 900RR....sold
2003 Z1000...currently on the disabled list








Send a message via Yahoo to Old School RR
gps

hope im not restarting an old thread, but.....

was wondering if anyone has installed a gps on their sportbike. My main question about this is: if you have installed it how or can you tap into the wiring safely to use a power cord instead of running strictly off of the gps's batteries.
Old School RR is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gps pester Off Topic 30 09-25-2015 06:05 PM
Stand alone GPS or Smartphone GPS for bike? hotcknstrips General Discussion (Moto Related) 17 12-01-2011 10:57 AM
GPS for your car GSXR_Bills_Kid Off Topic 13 03-12-2010 10:13 AM
GPS? H2447INTX General Discussion (Moto Related) 17 01-03-2008 05:44 PM
GPS? zero4o3 General Discussion (Moto Related) 36 04-24-2006 09:47 AM
Advertisement
Old 01-13-2008, 03:25 PM   #2
Vandals
Scooter
 
Vandals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: WACO
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 4,359

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
2003 Yamaha r1
1981 Honda Trail 110 -"The Tank"








Quote:
Originally Posted by Old School RR View Post
hope im not restarting an old thread, but.....

was wondering if anyone has installed a gps on their sportbike. My main question about this is: if you have installed it how or can you tap into the wiring safely to use a power cord instead of running strictly off of the gps's batteries.
i ran a 12v power outlet from the battery and just plugged my phone charger, or whatever i needed into it. never had any probems
Vandals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2008, 03:28 PM   #3
Old School RR
Senior Member
 
Old School RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Belton, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,061

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
1999 Honda 900RR....sold
2003 Z1000...currently on the disabled list








Send a message via Yahoo to Old School RR
cool..so you just hooked it straight up, one wire to pos. and one to neg. terminals?
Old School RR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2008, 03:38 PM   #4
Vandals
Scooter
 
Vandals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: WACO
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 4,359

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
2003 Yamaha r1
1981 Honda Trail 110 -"The Tank"








heres what i used.. except i made my own from i found in my garage

http://store.valueaccessories.net/in...OD&ProdID=1650
Vandals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2008, 03:40 PM   #5
dudewhrsmybike
Moderator
 
dudewhrsmybike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Galleria
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 12,665

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2011 Kawasaki ZX-10R ABS




Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to dudewhrsmybike
No this is a good thread actually. I've been wondering the same thing myself. I bought a GPS late November and still havent got a mount or attempted to wire it in
__________________


It's GREEN, it's FAST, and it says Ninja on it
dudewhrsmybike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2008, 03:42 PM   #6
dudewhrsmybike
Moderator
 
dudewhrsmybike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Galleria
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 12,665

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2011 Kawasaki ZX-10R ABS




Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to dudewhrsmybike
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vandals View Post
heres what i used.. except i made my own from i found in my garage

http://store.valueaccessories.net/in...OD&ProdID=1650
WTF that thing is like 70 Bucks. I'm gonna go buy something at Autozone that does the job just fine
__________________


It's GREEN, it's FAST, and it says Ninja on it
dudewhrsmybike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2008, 03:45 PM   #7
Old School RR
Senior Member
 
Old School RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Belton, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,061

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
1999 Honda 900RR....sold
2003 Z1000...currently on the disabled list








Send a message via Yahoo to Old School RR
Yeah i think ima look at the autozone idea myself...but thanks for the help.
Old School RR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2008, 03:45 PM   #8
Vandals
Scooter
 
Vandals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: WACO
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 4,359

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
2003 Yamaha r1
1981 Honda Trail 110 -"The Tank"








Quote:
Originally Posted by dudewhrsmybike View Post
WTF that thing is like 70 Bucks. I'm gonna go buy something at Autozone that does the job just fine
thats what i did
Vandals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2008, 03:47 PM   #9
dudewhrsmybike
Moderator
 
dudewhrsmybike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Galleria
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 12,665

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2011 Kawasaki ZX-10R ABS




Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to dudewhrsmybike
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vandals View Post
thats what i did
The 12V power source will come in handy. I carry a mini air compressor when I ride in case anyone gets a flat. That lil SOB works good too
__________________


It's GREEN, it's FAST, and it says Ninja on it
dudewhrsmybike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2008, 03:47 PM   #10
Old School RR
Senior Member
 
Old School RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Belton, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,061

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
1999 Honda 900RR....sold
2003 Z1000...currently on the disabled list








Send a message via Yahoo to Old School RR
any ideas for a mounting bracket? i want to put it on the upper fairing stay if i can.
Old School RR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2008, 03:48 PM   #11
dudewhrsmybike
Moderator
 
dudewhrsmybike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Galleria
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 12,665

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2011 Kawasaki ZX-10R ABS




Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to dudewhrsmybike
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old School RR View Post
any ideas for a mounting bracket? i want to put it on ht eupper fairing stay if i can.
I saw some bada$$ ones that clamp to your fork above the triple tree but they arent cheap. I've been havin trouble finding an inexpensive GPS mount myself
__________________


It's GREEN, it's FAST, and it says Ninja on it
dudewhrsmybike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2008, 04:13 PM   #12
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,367

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






If your unit has a direct wire cord you can wire the GPS into your taillight circuit so it's activated with your ignition key. I'd still wire a fuse inline for it as well.

As far as mounting it, check out www.techmount.com

We're a dealer and I keep several models in stock.
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2008, 04:40 PM   #13
dudewhrsmybike
Moderator
 
dudewhrsmybike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Galleria
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 12,665

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2011 Kawasaki ZX-10R ABS




Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to dudewhrsmybike
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick View Post
If your unit has a direct wire cord you can wire the GPS into your taillight circuit so it's activated with your ignition key. I'd still wire a fuse inline for it as well.

As far as mounting it, check out www.techmounts.com

We're a dealer and I keep several models in stock.
Fixed the url its techmounts.com Ima check it out
__________________


It's GREEN, it's FAST, and it says Ninja on it
dudewhrsmybike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2008, 04:41 PM   #14
dudewhrsmybike
Moderator
 
dudewhrsmybike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Galleria
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 12,665

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2011 Kawasaki ZX-10R ABS




Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to dudewhrsmybike
Oldschoolrr this is exactly what I was talking about

http://www.techmounts.com/products/i...product_id=129
__________________


It's GREEN, it's FAST, and it says Ninja on it
dudewhrsmybike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2008, 05:44 PM   #15
bignmz04
My better is better
 
bignmz04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sugarland
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 4,997


Bike(s):
too many to list. but dreaming and waiting on the ktm RC8.









Send a message via AIM to bignmz04 Send a message via Yahoo to bignmz04
wonder if you can use that mount for a radar detector as well? i wish my radar was a screw/bolt on.
bignmz04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2008, 06:19 PM   #16
dudewhrsmybike
Moderator
 
dudewhrsmybike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Galleria
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 12,665

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2011 Kawasaki ZX-10R ABS




Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to dudewhrsmybike
Quote:
Originally Posted by bignmz04 View Post
wonder if you can use that mount for a radar detector as well? i wish my radar was a screw/bolt on.
Use velcro, thats what ima do
__________________


It's GREEN, it's FAST, and it says Ninja on it
dudewhrsmybike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 11:02 AM   #17
abelrob
Senior Member
 
abelrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northwest Crew
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 669


Bike(s):
2004 Kawasaki ZX6RR, 2005 Hayabusa









Quote:
Originally Posted by dudewhrsmybike View Post
Use velcro, thats what ima do
I would use tie wraps "zip ties" so that it doesnt become road debris.
abelrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 11:05 AM   #18
Gixxer Geezer
All day long I'm shufflin
 
Gixxer Geezer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Alvin
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 20,618

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
06 honda vtx 1300
06 Busa limited. sold
2 Gixxer 600. sold
85 Honda Hurricane. sold
56 Triumph, 64 BSA, Thunderbolt, 66 BSA Lightning Bolt, 64 Honda Scrambler. all sold






i cut the bottom out of a cooozie and shove my radar detector in the coozie on top of the dash between it and the windscreen.. not the best angle but it works fine and i can pull it out and take it with me when i go inside places.
__________________
gixxergeezer 1



What part of "I Don't Care", Don't you Understand?
Gixxer Geezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 11:30 AM   #19
Ulric
Dirty Old
 
Ulric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Spring
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 9,633

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
05 FZ1









Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick View Post
As far as mounting it, check out www.techmount.com

We're a dealer and I keep several models in stock.

Get ir right Patrick, you're superman.
__________________
"new joke tomorrow..."
Ulric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 11:50 AM   #20
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,367

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






Quote:
Originally Posted by dudewhrsmybike View Post
Oldschoolrr this is exactly what I was talking about

http://www.techmounts.com/products/i...product_id=129

Thanks for fixing the link, we have those and the stem mounts as well.
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy