MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > General Discussion > General Discussion (Moto Related)
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 01-11-2008, 10:58 PM   #1
AhmadHasib
Turkey Sammich: Mmmm Good
 
AhmadHasib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sugar Land, Texas
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 807

Experience: 1 year











Question about a Power Commander

As I've read, a Power Commander "alters the air-fuel mixture and engine timing of on- and off-road motorcycles." My assumption would be that this is used to help tune a motorcycle engine to help it run smoother and/or faster.

My question is: Why not use the stock ECU in the motorcycle to tune the A/F mixture and timing? That is what I did with my car.

Edit: Do bikes even have ECU's?
__________________
AhmadHasib is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My new Power Commander V. with turbo and power shifter Gixxer Geezer Health and Fitness 24 08-11-2011 01:52 PM
power commander question? snoopy281 How To's and Q & A's 6 08-02-2010 10:49 PM
Power Commander landon05 General Discussion (Moto Related) 22 06-12-2009 09:32 AM
Power Commander Or Not is Good Performance and Modifications 26 09-16-2007 08:41 PM
question about a power commander? gsxrboi General Discussion (Moto Related) 3 05-31-2007 01:19 PM
Advertisement
Old 01-11-2008, 11:04 PM   #2
Mr.P
Driving Duh-Bus
 
Mr.P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sugarland
Feedback Rating: (5)
Posts: 4,759

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
CBR1000RR






PCIII is programmable from a PC. Most stock bikes have only one, maybe two, maps and are not tuneable. PCIII is the easiest way to tune, and many maps are available for common bikes.
__________________
Faster and Faster, Slowly! BRAWP it like its hot, BRAWP it like its hot.
Mr.P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 11:21 PM   #3
Princess
MH's ex fake mod
 
Princess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Clear Lake
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 7,982

Experience: 6 years
Trackdays: 4

Bike(s):
06 ZX-6R
09 Santa Cruz SL
Serotta Legend Ti







Send a message via AIM to Princess
Quote:
Originally Posted by AhmadHasib View Post
As I've read, a Power Commander "alters the air-fuel mixture and engine timing of on- and off-road motorcycles." My assumption would be that this is used to help tune a motorcycle engine to help it run smoother and/or faster.

My question is: Why not use the stock ECU in the motorcycle to tune the A/F mixture and timing? That is what I did with my car.

Edit: Do bikes even have ECU's?

Think of it like an S-AFC or something comparable(been out of the import world a while, don't know new software) Kawasaki actually sells KIT ECU's that pretty much do whatever a bike may need that any stand-alone for your car would do, and I'm sure most, if not all other manufacturers sell something comparable.
Princess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 08:11 AM   #4
Badzx14r
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: lagrange tx
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 4,746


Bike(s):
2many2list









User is banned

.
Badzx14r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 10:34 AM   #5
tomLSTD
LSTD Mob Cappo
 
tomLSTD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 6,798

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 1






Member Garage





Suzuki is the only stock tune-able ECU. You can tune a stock 'Zook, but none of the other ones can be.

As Shadman said, they are the easiest way to tune the bike, and you can do it from your home and pull maps off the web.

The BEST way to do it is to take the bike with a PCIII to a reputable tuner. The best in the area is Andy at Metric Cycles. In house dyno (eddy current), tons of technical knowledge, and he'll tune it to what you want exactly (throttle response, power delivery curves, etc).
__________________
I am Tyler Durdin's bad attitude.
tomLSTD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 01:37 PM   #6
Princess
MH's ex fake mod
 
Princess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Clear Lake
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 7,982

Experience: 6 years
Trackdays: 4

Bike(s):
06 ZX-6R
09 Santa Cruz SL
Serotta Legend Ti







Send a message via AIM to Princess
Quote:
Originally Posted by Badzx14r View Post
yeah ecu's is offer for 600's...khi don't offer for anything else ...but these are cool

http://www.bazzazperformance.com/ind...hk=1&Itemid=26

Yeah they do, the 08 10R.
Princess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 01:42 PM   #7
SecretAgent
The one and only
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: SW Houston
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 1,986


Bike(s):
08 Harley FXDB Street Bob









Send a message via AIM to SecretAgent
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbo_LS_Hatch View Post
Yeah they do, the 08 10R.
they also offer it for the 636, and all of the zx-10r models. just not your zx-14, lol.
__________________
"There are some things nobody needs in this world, and a bright-red, hunch-back, warp-speed 900cc cafe racer is one of them - but I want one anyway, and on some days I actually believe I need one. That is why they are dangerous. "
-Hunter S. Thompson
SecretAgent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 02:03 PM   #8
witchdoctor575
certified shutterbug
 
witchdoctor575's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Alvin
Feedback Rating: (11)
Posts: 23,547

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
07 triumph D675(sold)
05 busa LE (sold)
03 rc51 (sold)
99 superhawk (wrecked)
01 shadow 1100 (sold)

Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by Badzx14r View Post
yeah ecu's is offer for 600's...khi don't offer for anything else ...but these are cool

http://www.bazzazperformance.com/ind...hk=1&Itemid=26

that looks like a way cool set up. kinda pricey if you go with the closed loop self tune set up but to always be at optimal a/f ratio might be worth the extra dough. have you seen it used?
witchdoctor575 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 08:07 PM   #9
Zapata
a.k.a Dos Equis
 
Zapata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Katy/Conroe
Feedback Rating: (5)
Posts: 2,615

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
'13 Victory Cross Country
'13 Victory Judge



Member Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by AhmadHasib View Post
As I've read, a Power Commander "alters the air-fuel mixture and engine timing of on- and off-road motorcycles." My assumption would be that this is used to help tune a motorcycle engine to help it run smoother and/or faster.

My question is: Why not use the stock ECU in the motorcycle to tune the A/F mixture and timing? That is what I did with my car.

Edit: Do bikes even have ECU's?
You can do that with the TuneBoy System but is only available for some European bikes. (KTM, Aprilia, Moto Guzzi, MZ, Benelli, Triumph) and Buell.

http://www.tuneboy.com.au/index.htm
Zapata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 10:56 PM   #10
Badzx14r
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: lagrange tx
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 4,746


Bike(s):
2many2list









User is banned

.
Badzx14r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 10:57 PM   #11
Badzx14r
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: lagrange tx
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 4,746


Bike(s):
2many2list









User is banned

.
Badzx14r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 10:58 PM   #12
Badzx14r
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: lagrange tx
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 4,746


Bike(s):
2many2list









User is banned

.
Badzx14r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 11:03 PM   #13
witchdoctor575
certified shutterbug
 
witchdoctor575's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Alvin
Feedback Rating: (11)
Posts: 23,547

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
07 triumph D675(sold)
05 busa LE (sold)
03 rc51 (sold)
99 superhawk (wrecked)
01 shadow 1100 (sold)

Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by Badzx14r View Post
no i have not seen this in use yet...but my next bike build its going to get used
only way I would get that system is with the sensor for self tuning. kinda expensive but well worth it...
witchdoctor575 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy