MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Off Topic (everything else) > Off Topic
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 01-10-2008, 07:09 PM   #1
Mrs. ~T~
formerly known as C 1/2
 
Mrs. ~T~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 290 @ huffmeister
Feedback Rating: (8)
Posts: 12,989


Bike(s):
2006 GSXR 600









Send a message via AIM to Mrs. ~T~
PDA / SMARTPHONE help... need info...

i currently have ATT. i am using the RZR and wanting to go to a Blackberry 8700. will i be able to switch sim cards and go. or will it be more technical than that? i found a deal on CL for the phone. please help me!!!

Thank you!
Mrs. ~T~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lots of info on what kind of bike to start off with, but what about info on upgrading phrenetiK General Discussion (Moto Related) 46 03-08-2013 06:32 PM
question about pda phones... Azylum Off Topic 43 12-02-2008 02:39 PM
NEED QUICK PDA PHONE HELP!!!!! JSki Off Topic 12 05-28-2008 02:42 PM
PDA/Smartphone help arturo3rd Off Topic 18 01-16-2007 08:51 AM
mounting a pda. AznGoneNuts Performance and Modifications 10 11-02-2006 01:55 PM
Advertisement
Old 01-10-2008, 07:10 PM   #2
witchdoctor575
certified shutterbug
 
witchdoctor575's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Alvin
Feedback Rating: (11)
Posts: 23,547

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
07 triumph D675(sold)
05 busa LE (sold)
03 rc51 (sold)
99 superhawk (wrecked)
01 shadow 1100 (sold)

Member Garage





it will be more to it than that...the blackberry uses it's own blackberry service. It will cost more money per month to have the data service and email functions. But the sim card will swap out for basic phone service.
witchdoctor575 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 07:11 PM   #3
amber|alexis
Senior Member
 
amber|alexis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 11,367

Experience: 4 years






Member Garage





you may not be able to switch because there may be some features on the BB that aren't available on the RAZR. But with nextel i know you can swap them from a regular phone to a BB

amber|alexis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 07:13 PM   #4
witchdoctor575
certified shutterbug
 
witchdoctor575's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Alvin
Feedback Rating: (11)
Posts: 23,547

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
07 triumph D675(sold)
05 busa LE (sold)
03 rc51 (sold)
99 superhawk (wrecked)
01 shadow 1100 (sold)

Member Garage





when you initially swap in the new card the blackberry will say data connection refused. but you can still make phone calls.
witchdoctor575 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 07:20 PM   #5
Mrs. ~T~
formerly known as C 1/2
 
Mrs. ~T~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 290 @ huffmeister
Feedback Rating: (8)
Posts: 12,989


Bike(s):
2006 GSXR 600









Send a message via AIM to Mrs. ~T~
grrrrrrrrrrrrr
Mrs. ~T~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 07:21 PM   #6
witchdoctor575
certified shutterbug
 
witchdoctor575's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Alvin
Feedback Rating: (11)
Posts: 23,547

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
07 triumph D675(sold)
05 busa LE (sold)
03 rc51 (sold)
99 superhawk (wrecked)
01 shadow 1100 (sold)

Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by CarbonR 1/2 View Post
grrrrrrrrrrrrr
typically 25 bucks or so for unlimited data service.
witchdoctor575 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 07:35 PM   #7
witchdoctor575
certified shutterbug
 
witchdoctor575's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Alvin
Feedback Rating: (11)
Posts: 23,547

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
07 triumph D675(sold)
05 busa LE (sold)
03 rc51 (sold)
99 superhawk (wrecked)
01 shadow 1100 (sold)

Member Garage





FYI... any smart phone is the same way with att. They have "special" data plans for smart phones. also att will not insure smart phones so food for thought.
witchdoctor575 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 08:07 PM   #8
ZUlater
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Huffman
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 98


Bike(s):
2001 GSXR 600









The only smartphone that they insure is the Blackjack 2. You dont have to have the bb data package, it is optional. Your sim card should work fine in the Blackberry, just make sure before you buy it. Also, Blackberry is having good promotions on phones right now, go check out the 8310. I just got it and love it.
ZUlater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 08:09 PM   #9
witchdoctor575
certified shutterbug
 
witchdoctor575's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Alvin
Feedback Rating: (11)
Posts: 23,547

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
07 triumph D675(sold)
05 busa LE (sold)
03 rc51 (sold)
99 superhawk (wrecked)
01 shadow 1100 (sold)

Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by ZUlater View Post
The only smartphone that they insure is the Blackjack 2. You dont have to have the bb data package, it is optional. Your sim card should work fine in the Blackberry, just make sure before you buy it. Also, Blackberry is having good promotions on phones right now, go check out the 8310. I just got it and love it.
you do if you want internet on your phone and ability to send pics and receive pics.
witchdoctor575 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 09:55 PM   #10
ZUlater
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Huffman
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 98


Bike(s):
2001 GSXR 600









Quote:
Originally Posted by witchdoctor575 View Post
you do if you want internet on your phone and ability to send pics and receive pics.

Yeah. I was saying you don't have to have it in order to use a Black Berry.
ZUlater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 10:13 PM   #11
CaligoneTx
Forest Gnome Tour Guide
 
CaligoneTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Valhalla
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 21,558

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
Triumph 675r
Ducati 748
Hyosungs (250r + 650r)
Honda 900rr
Suzuki Busa1300r (+2 bikes)






Send a message via AIM to CaligoneTx Send a message via Yahoo to CaligoneTx
I use Tmobile but MMS and GPRS is the same data line regardless of carrier.

I went from a Treo smartphone, dropped down coverage for a couple rzrs, when to the 'my favs' where I dropped all internet down to the basic internet service.

Now I have an HTC Wing smartphone. Swapped the card and I don't have full internet, but I do have a basic internet service. Phone still checks for email randomly by itself, etc w/o paying the price for the unlimited, unrestricted internet of 20 dollars a month additional vs the 5/month I'm paying now.

Remember data receive is simply that. If the BB can't process the available service, it will be limited or unresponsive. Then you would know you require the full service for GPRS vs the partial service. Make friends w a rep and swap ur card over for a moment... Usually the smaller kiosk stores will entertain you...
__________________
triumphsig
CaligoneTx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 12:03 AM   #12
arturo3rd
OG Sheriff/ Boss
 
arturo3rd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Meadows Place, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 14,068

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2015 HD Forty Eight









att has a deal for $99 for new pda/smartphones
__________________
motobanner new
arturo3rd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 12:06 AM   #13
Azylum
The Chosen One
 
Azylum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ellington
Feedback Rating: (23)
Posts: 39,629

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 2











depends on the sim card too. dunno what the RAZR uses, but when i bought my blackjack, i had to get a whole new G3 sim card. the old one couldnt just be swapped.
__________________
motohoustonlogo
Bringing back the old school.
Azylum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 10:07 AM   #14
marimirez
PW Reformed...
 
marimirez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Far North
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 3,617


Bike(s):
2000 Can a tuna ~sold~ 06 Gixxer 600









Quote:
Originally Posted by Azylum View Post
depends on the sim card too. dunno what the RAZR uses, but when i bought my blackjack, i had to get a whole new G3 sim card. the old one couldnt just be swapped.
+1 I went from the HTC8125 to the New HTC8525 and I had to get the new sims card.
marimirez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy