MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Off Topic (everything else) > Off Topic
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 01-02-2008, 11:08 PM   #1
BrutusTx
Guest
 
Posts: n/a







Member Garage





Windows VISTA

Any VISTA pros on here? I want to ru two monitors and I guess I'm not smart enough to get it to work. HELP!!!!
  Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need A Windows Vista Boot / Recovery Disk Racer997 Off Topic 11 05-13-2011 02:53 PM
Need a Vista CD gtdrivr Off Topic 7 09-03-2010 10:28 PM
Windows Vista Candie Off Topic 8 08-06-2007 09:20 PM
Windows Vista (the new Windows) MadseasoN Off Topic 10 01-15-2007 01:34 PM
Windows Vista.......... Solracer Off Topic 25 03-29-2006 09:38 PM
Advertisement
Old 01-02-2008, 11:18 PM   #2
ormand
Deelish!
 
ormand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SE
Feedback Rating: (5)
Posts: 8,835

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 9

Bike(s):
2009 Ninja 650r
Total Mileage: 42,000





What GPU are you using?
__________________
ONET 1
ormand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 11:22 PM   #3
BrutusTx
Guest
 
Posts: n/a







Member Garage





CPU??? It's a AMD 64x2 4000+ 2.10 GHz
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 11:23 PM   #4
ormand
Deelish!
 
ormand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SE
Feedback Rating: (5)
Posts: 8,835

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 9

Bike(s):
2009 Ninja 650r
Total Mileage: 42,000





GRAPHICS card. I am assuming you are trying to connect two monitors through one graphics card?
__________________
ONET 1
ormand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 11:24 PM   #5
Los
Gang Member
 
Los's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Katy\NW
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 17,174

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
'04 Yamaha R6 Edition
'14 Yamaha R6








Send a message via AIM to Los
what video card and does it support dual monitors? Is it compatible with Vista?
__________________
4v82zk8
Koskesh....RIP Brotha.... 4/22/07
Los is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 11:26 PM   #6
BrutusTx
Guest
 
Posts: n/a







Member Garage





Well, I added a graphics card.......but it has a graphics cards that does support 2 monitors. I'm getting the same desktop on BOTH though.....
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 11:27 PM   #7
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,367

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






Oh ! Clyde got a new computer!

His last one was lucky to run Pong without overheating!

What was it Clyde, a 386?



j/k brother!

So, what did you wind up getting?
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 11:28 PM   #8
Los
Gang Member
 
Los's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Katy\NW
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 17,174

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
'04 Yamaha R6 Edition
'14 Yamaha R6








Send a message via AIM to Los
First off, does your current card offer dual monitor support? If not have you looked into buying a new Video card? Does your computer support PCI or PCI express?
__________________
4v82zk8
Koskesh....RIP Brotha.... 4/22/07
Los is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 11:28 PM   #9
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,367

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave C View Post
there is the big question lol.

just upgrade to XP and you'll be alright


__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 11:29 PM   #10
Los
Gang Member
 
Los's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Katy\NW
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 17,174

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
'04 Yamaha R6 Edition
'14 Yamaha R6








Send a message via AIM to Los
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrutusTx View Post
Well, I added a graphics card.......but it has a graphics cards that does support 2 monitors. I'm getting the same desktop on BOTH though.....
You need to configure ur current card then. At least its showing something. lol
__________________
4v82zk8
Koskesh....RIP Brotha.... 4/22/07
Los is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 11:29 PM   #11
ormand
Deelish!
 
ormand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SE
Feedback Rating: (5)
Posts: 8,835

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 9

Bike(s):
2009 Ninja 650r
Total Mileage: 42,000





Quote:
Originally Posted by BrutusTx View Post
Well, I added a graphics card.......but it has a graphics cards that does support 2 monitors. I'm getting the same desktop on BOTH though.....
Find the monitor program in your system tray and right click on it to open. Or right click on the desktop and select Personalize, Display. From there, you should find an option to isolate each monitor.

What GPU did you buy? And why AMD?
__________________
ONET 1
ormand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 11:36 PM   #12
ormand
Deelish!
 
ormand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SE
Feedback Rating: (5)
Posts: 8,835

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 9

Bike(s):
2009 Ninja 650r
Total Mileage: 42,000





Why do you need two monitors?
__________________
ONET 1
ormand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 11:39 PM   #13
Los
Gang Member
 
Los's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Katy\NW
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 17,174

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
'04 Yamaha R6 Edition
'14 Yamaha R6








Send a message via AIM to Los
one for and the other to order his ...

Sorry man... I had too hahahaa
__________________
4v82zk8
Koskesh....RIP Brotha.... 4/22/07
Los is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 11:39 PM   #14
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,367

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






He's old, he can't see it all on one screen!
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 11:41 PM   #15
BrutusTx
Guest
 
Posts: n/a







Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by ormand View Post
Why do you need two monitors?
....this is like asking Patrick what bike to buy

I have two 19in flat screen's..........so I want to use both of them like with XP and my old puter.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 11:42 PM   #16
BrutusTx
Guest
 
Posts: n/a







Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by Los View Post
one for and the other to order his ...

Sorry man... I had too hahahaa
I hate you........but your CLOSE!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 11:56 PM   #17
BigComfy
Senior Member
 
BigComfy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: under a rock
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 24,322

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
SV1k (sold)
CRB6 Track Bike (sold)
Daytona 1200 (parted)
1st Gen FZ1 (sold)
1st Gen SV650 (sold)

Member Garage


right click on your desktop background>properties>settings>should have an opt for dual monitors. call me if youneed more help...i'm playing poker
__________________
"I haven't seen the crash, but I think Marc needs to be penalized for two or three seasons! Until I stop racing!"-VR46
BigComfy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2008, 12:07 AM   #18
BrutusTx
Guest
 
Posts: n/a







Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by BigComfy View Post
right click on your desktop background>properties>settings>should have an opt for dual monitors. call me if youneed more help...i'm playing poker
I tried that already..........
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2008, 08:28 AM   #19
Irish
The Dogs Bollocks
 
Irish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tomball
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 508


Bike(s):
06 Suzuki 750









Send a message via MSN to Irish
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrutusTx View Post
I tried that already..........
Clyde just let me know and I'll come over and fix it for ya! O and a good excuse to get over and give you your gloves back
__________________
Sunny MotorSports
South Central Race Center
Tom's Paint & Body
Irish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2008, 09:13 AM   #20
CLETUS
Jungle Racing
 
CLETUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Cypress, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,275












Your new video card should have come with software to assist you with this. N-Vidia does and that is what I use.
I was able to configure Vista to run a 22" LCD on the desk and the 55" Sony LCD in the living room to surf from the couch.

You will have to insure the drivers and software are both installed correctly and that it functions. You can't leave it to the system programs to make it work.

Hope this helps...
__________________
Only a biker knows why a dog sticks his head out of a car window!
CLETUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy