MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 11-11-2007, 12:18 PM   #1
wlgorman
Senior Member
 
wlgorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Missouri City, TX/Angleton, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,025


Bike(s):
'06 CBR600RR









elect. problem plz help

Last night a buddy of mine put my flush mounts on. I didnt look at it until this morning. They dont blink, the blinkers show a steady light whenever you hit right/left blinker. The running lights dont work. There is nothing unless you hit the blinker. I tried to start it up this morning and the lights come on, and the guage cluster, but when you hit the ignition there is a clicking sound kind of under and behind the seat and it wont start. Any answers?
__________________
'06 CBR600RR (Red)

defeat
wlgorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
president elect chasee69 The Circus 8 11-05-2008 02:24 PM
Who elect the supreme court judges? hotcknstrips The Circus 28 10-27-2008 08:34 AM
cbr600rr elect. problems...again wlgorman How To's and Q & A's 15 12-10-2007 06:52 PM
Same elect. problem. wlgorman How To's and Q & A's 4 11-21-2007 10:27 PM
Advertisement
Old 11-11-2007, 12:19 PM   #2
NO MORE F4I
my hand hurts
 
NO MORE F4I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: downtown h-town
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 9,755

Experience: 5 years

Bike(s):
bikeless now
my bmx p.o.s.








did he hook up the running light instead of the blinking? i dont know why it wont start though. did he plug the tip sensor back in?
__________________
It Drive On
NO MORE F4I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 12:21 PM   #3
FLYIN'DUC
Senior Member
 
FLYIN'DUC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cleveland, Texas
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 6,254


Bike(s):
07 Ducati, 99 Busa









sounds like he wired it wrong and may also be a drain running the battery down, possibly
FLYIN'DUC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 12:23 PM   #4
wlgorman
Senior Member
 
wlgorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Missouri City, TX/Angleton, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,025


Bike(s):
'06 CBR600RR









yeah im sure its a wiring issue...problem is I dont know about elect's...ill get someone to come by and set me up though. Thanks guys
__________________
'06 CBR600RR (Red)

defeat
wlgorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 07:31 PM   #5
CaligoneTx
Forest Gnome Tour Guide
 
CaligoneTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Valhalla
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 21,558

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
Triumph 675r
Ducati 748
Hyosungs (250r + 650r)
Honda 900rr
Suzuki Busa1300r (+2 bikes)






Send a message via AIM to CaligoneTx Send a message via Yahoo to CaligoneTx
Quote:
Originally Posted by FLYIN'DUC View Post
sounds like he wired it wrong and may also be a drain running the battery down, possibly
Flush mount? as in only two wires to wire the leds to, correct? I hope he didn't have too much apart..........:/:
__________________
triumphsig
CaligoneTx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 07:40 PM   #6
maskale
Senior Member
 
maskale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lake Jackson, TX
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 2,319

Experience: 4 years
Trackdays: 6

Bike(s):
2005 CBR600RR Trackbike
2007 Warrior Midnight








wired wrong

if you put led's front and back at the same time without resitors they can blink so fast they look like they are on constant, they may not even be blinking.
maskale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 08:05 PM   #7
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,367

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






On Hondas there is a 3 wire plug per side.
The color code is as follows:
Blue: Turnsignal +
Blue w / White Stripe: Turnsignal Running Light +
Green: Negative

Orange: Turnsignal +
Orange w / White Stripe: Turnsignal Running Light +
Green: Negative

On most aftermarket turnsignals you won't use the blue w/white stripe or orange with white stripe.
As was already mentioned, you'll probably need a load equalizer to make the signals flash properly. I keep them in stock if you need one.

Lastly it sounds like the battery might have just run down while he was working on it if he had the key on.
Try putting the battery on a 2 amp charge and see if it comes up.

If you're still having problems on Tuesday, give me a shout at the shop.
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 08:23 PM   #8
bumblebee
Yeah I'm flippin' YOU off
 
bumblebee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pearland
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 12,264


Bike(s):
'74 Suzuki GT380
'82 XS650 StreetTracker
'10 Ducati Streetfighter
'83 Yamaha Seca 900






Once again valuable free advice... Patrick you are the man!
__________________
Asphalt is for racing... dirt is for growing potatoes. - J. Diester
When seconds count... the police are only minutes away.
Grow up and be a productive member of society already.
Bevo- "I lack skillz"
bumblebee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 09:09 PM   #9
wlgorman
Senior Member
 
wlgorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Missouri City, TX/Angleton, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,025


Bike(s):
'06 CBR600RR









wow thanks Patrick i'll let you know what happens!!!
__________________
'06 CBR600RR (Red)

defeat
wlgorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 09:10 PM   #10
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,367

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






No problem!
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2007, 11:33 AM   #11
wlgorman
Senior Member
 
wlgorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Missouri City, TX/Angleton, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,025


Bike(s):
'06 CBR600RR









my buddy is coming over this wkend to see if we cant get it taken care of. Ill pull this thread up and let him see. However, he asked me to find out how to get to the fuse box to check fuses...

if I just got an LED flush mount kit from Stubbs, do I need to go purchase a resistor? if so what exactly do I need?
__________________
'06 CBR600RR (Red)

defeat
wlgorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2007, 11:41 AM   #12
dbuck
Stayin' Young
 
dbuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NW Houston BW8/290
Feedback Rating: (5)
Posts: 19,628

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
02 Honda Superhawk









Send a message via AIM to dbuck
Quote:
Originally Posted by wlgorman View Post
my buddy is coming over this wkend to see if we cant get it taken care of. Ill pull this thread up and let him see. However, he asked me to find out how to get to the fuse box to check fuses...

if I just got an LED flush mount kit from Stubbs, do I need to go purchase a resistor? if so what exactly do I need?
I had some sort of resistor box I purchased to make my turn signals flash. I think the brand name was Badlands. However, I have heard of people just putting an inline resistor (the kind from Radioshack) in the wiring and it serves the same purpose.
dbuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy