MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 09-15-2007, 08:51 PM   #1
knee_dragger
Senior Member
 
knee_dragger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Alief
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 1,917

Experience: 9 years

Bike(s):
crf450









Electrical question

Which electrical component usually burns out and leaves the whole bike without power? I checked the fuses and they're good.
__________________
R.I.P. Roger "Koskesh"
July 25, 1977 - April 22, 2007
R.I.P. Matt "Yankee R6"
December 2, 1980-October 13, 2007
You will be missed.
knee_dragger is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical question HoustonGSXR Off Topic 7 12-24-2013 02:01 AM
Electrical House Question mekrew Off Topic 20 05-13-2011 10:13 AM
electrical question on f4i Alpinestars102 General Discussion (Moto Related) 9 06-27-2010 10:33 AM
Sportbike Electrical Question. TxBritt08R1 General Discussion (Moto Related) 3 11-05-2009 10:36 PM
HELP, Need ELECTRICAL help Pachuco How To's and Q & A's 6 06-13-2009 08:38 PM
Advertisement
Old 09-15-2007, 09:16 PM   #2
Whoop
Mobile Bike Service!
 
Whoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Clear Lake
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 1,330

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
gsxr 1000






There's a fuse under the seat near the computer and battery.
Whoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2007, 09:20 PM   #3
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,367

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






Check the 30 amp main fuse by the starter relay. On your bike, follow the positive cable from the battery to the starter relay, under the red plug is a 30 amp fuse, it's green. That's probably your problem.

If not, give me a call Tuesday and I'll walk you through a few things.
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2007, 09:41 PM   #4
knee_dragger
Senior Member
 
knee_dragger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Alief
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 1,917

Experience: 9 years

Bike(s):
crf450









Thanks I'll check tomorrow. There were 2 wires(different colors) and when I turned the ignition key I heard a spark coming from under the seat. After that no power going through whatsoever.
__________________
R.I.P. Roger "Koskesh"
July 25, 1977 - April 22, 2007
R.I.P. Matt "Yankee R6"
December 2, 1980-October 13, 2007
You will be missed.
knee_dragger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2007, 09:44 PM   #5
FLYIN'DUC
Senior Member
 
FLYIN'DUC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cleveland, Texas
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 6,254


Bike(s):
07 Ducati, 99 Busa









Patrick is wright, but I wouldnt just plug a new one in, it blew for a reason, check for a short
FLYIN'DUC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2007, 09:45 PM   #6
knee_dragger
Senior Member
 
knee_dragger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Alief
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 1,917

Experience: 9 years

Bike(s):
crf450









How do I check for a short? lol Im not familiar with electrical stuff.
__________________
R.I.P. Roger "Koskesh"
July 25, 1977 - April 22, 2007
R.I.P. Matt "Yankee R6"
December 2, 1980-October 13, 2007
You will be missed.
knee_dragger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2007, 09:51 PM   #7
FLYIN'DUC
Senior Member
 
FLYIN'DUC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cleveland, Texas
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 6,254


Bike(s):
07 Ducati, 99 Busa









Look for any pinched or burned wires, could be routed where they would get cut on something sharp, just a quick inspection may reveal something, I think if u just plug a new one in either it will blow right away or very soon, if ur luck is like mine it will wait till ur a mile or more from home If U cant figure it out just check with Patrick or myself, either one of us could find the problem, Patricks the man, He prolly fixes this kinda stuff in his sleep at nite huh Pat
FLYIN'DUC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy