MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > General Discussion > General Discussion (Moto Related)
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 09-10-2007, 04:59 AM   #1
darkcloud
Here comes the rooster
 
darkcloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: 1960 and hardy toll
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 64


Bike(s):
CBR 600 F4









BIG AIR

So after a ride with hellfroze and northhoustoncbr i stoped at walmart on 1960 and 59 upon leavn walmart i got to a part of lot that was empty so i did some wheelies than i hit a ramp that i didnt see connecting the lots and caught like 4 feet of air on my bike witch was cool had i been expecting it so i landed it and kept going i got like 2 miles down the road and my bike take a no power to anything but when i hooked it up to car batt i got all power right when i pull the cables it dies does anyone have any idea what happen?????? please help
__________________
Engineers lead the way
darkcloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BMX Big Air Crash with Chad Kagy cobrakiller02 Off Topic 4 10-25-2011 03:16 PM
Air dryer for air compressor recommend? bioGuru Off Topic 6 03-28-2011 06:40 PM
Jake Broiwn 720 on BIG AIR Solracer Off Topic 4 08-04-2007 08:05 PM
BIG AIR FastLine General Discussion (Moto Related) 13 07-21-2005 12:21 AM
Advertisement
Old 09-10-2007, 08:21 AM   #2
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,367

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






The impact could have broken one of the intercell connectors inside the battery, pretty much turning it to nothing more than a lead weight.

Double check all of your electical connections and battery cables just to make sure you don't have anything loose.

If you have a volt meter, check the battery and see what it's output is.
It shoud be at least 12.2 volts with the key on, bike not running.

If it's 0 volts of very low volts, the battery is probably toast.
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 09:08 AM   #3
gixxerbill
Senior Member
 
gixxerbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Corpus Christi
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 6,534

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
K5 GSXR 1000
2008 Goldwing 1832 cc
Bourget Low Blow Chopper







Jumping a sportbike is a blast. Sorry about your battery.
gixxerbill is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 11:04 AM   #4
darkcloud
Here comes the rooster
 
darkcloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: 1960 and hardy toll
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 64


Bike(s):
CBR 600 F4









tested batt its good cant find any loose wires any other key spots to look at when i get the covers off??
__________________
Engineers lead the way
darkcloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 11:10 AM   #5
darkcloud
Here comes the rooster
 
darkcloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: 1960 and hardy toll
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 64


Bike(s):
CBR 600 F4









had the batt tested taken off the bike didnt know if that mattered
__________________
Engineers lead the way
darkcloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 11:12 AM   #6
FLYIN'DUC
Senior Member
 
FLYIN'DUC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cleveland, Texas
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 6,254


Bike(s):
07 Ducati, 99 Busa









Prolly mad at U for parking it by my duc the other dayPM sent
FLYIN'DUC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 11:54 AM   #7
Chris24
Thread Savior
 
Chris24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 4,635

Experience: 8 years

Bike(s):
1979 Yamaha XS1100 Special









Send a message via AIM to Chris24 Send a message via MSN to Chris24 Send a message via Yahoo to Chris24
have it tested with an actual battery tester. a voltmeter doesnt tell the whole story. a real battery tester looks something like this:

BT2101

after you connect the leads, it tells you the the voltage. after that you use the buttons to tell the tester what type of battery it is (for example ytx12-bs, etc) then it will tell you not only the voltage, but also the state of charge and the state of health as a percentage. battery must be fully charged for it to test properly, or else it will say "charge and retest" as a result. these testers are ubre expensive, hundreds and hundreds, but you should be able to find a shop with one.

we have one at stubbs sw, just come in and ask for me or john in parts, we will test it for you for free.
__________________
Brought to you by Carls Jr.!
Chris24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 12:31 PM   #8
GABRIEL
Senior Member
 
GABRIEL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SW/SE Houston
Feedback Rating: (14)
Posts: 7,184

Experience: 1-3 months











Pics or it didnt happen!
GABRIEL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 01:39 PM   #9
darkcloud
Here comes the rooster
 
darkcloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: 1960 and hardy toll
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 64


Bike(s):
CBR 600 F4









Quote:
Originally Posted by 97900rr01f4i View Post
Pics or it didnt happen!
i was by myself but i will show you were its at so you can try it
__________________
Engineers lead the way
darkcloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 01:41 PM   #10
darkcloud
Here comes the rooster
 
darkcloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: 1960 and hardy toll
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 64


Bike(s):
CBR 600 F4









Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris24 View Post
have it tested with an actual battery tester. a voltmeter doesnt tell the whole story. a real battery tester looks something like this:

BT2101

after you connect the leads, it tells you the the voltage. after that you use the buttons to tell the tester what type of battery it is (for example ytx12-bs, etc) then it will tell you not only the voltage, but also the state of charge and the state of health as a percentage. battery must be fully charged for it to test properly, or else it will say "charge and retest" as a result. these testers are ubre expensive, hundreds and hundreds, but you should be able to find a shop with one.

we have one at stubbs sw, just come in and ask for me or john in parts, we will test it for you for free.
i took it to shop and they used one of those but it said the batt was only 55% and i had 12 volts
__________________
Engineers lead the way
darkcloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 05:38 PM   #11
bdmpastx
The Cripple
 
bdmpastx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Pearland
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 5,771

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2009 Nissan GTR - sold
2015 Nissan GTR





Sounds like the RR isn't working. Check the plugs on the RR and see if they are melted.
__________________
My wheelchair doesn't have chicken strips
sigpic
bdmpastx is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 06:19 PM   #12
Chris24
Thread Savior
 
Chris24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 4,635

Experience: 8 years

Bike(s):
1979 Yamaha XS1100 Special









Send a message via AIM to Chris24 Send a message via MSN to Chris24 Send a message via Yahoo to Chris24
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkcloud View Post
i took it to shop and they used one of those but it said the batt was only 55% and i had 12 volts
it said 55% charge or 55% health?

the one we have also tells you either:
-charge and retest
-good battery
-replace battery
__________________
Brought to you by Carls Jr.!
Chris24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 03:56 PM   #13
ScooterTrash
ConroePowderCoating.com
 
ScooterTrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Cut n Shoot
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 17,239


Bike(s):
lots of em






Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris24 View Post
have it tested with an actual battery tester. a voltmeter doesnt tell the whole story. a real battery tester looks something like this:

BT2101

after you connect the leads, it tells you the the voltage. after that you use the buttons to tell the tester what type of battery it is (for example ytx12-bs, etc) then it will tell you not only the voltage, but also the state of charge and the state of health as a percentage. battery must be fully charged for it to test properly, or else it will say "charge and retest" as a result. these testers are ubre expensive, hundreds and hundreds, but you should be able to find a shop with one.

we have one at stubbs sw, just come in and ask for me or john in parts, we will test it for you for free.
yup, test it with a load tester, it will still show voltage but be useless as the on my skanky suckretary
__________________
[COLOR="Lime"][B]Highway HorrorS c.c.[/B][/COLOR]



[QUOTE=Mr.D;2764337]
I respect scootertrash because well... He's like the Jesus of building and fixing .
[/QUOTE]
ScooterTrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 04:29 PM   #14
Mr.P
Driving Duh-Bus
 
Mr.P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sugarland
Feedback Rating: (5)
Posts: 4,759

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
CBR1000RR






Try hooking one jumper cable to the negative terminal and the other end to a hard part on the bike. If it works, you simply lost your ground from the motor.
__________________
Faster and Faster, Slowly! BRAWP it like its hot, BRAWP it like its hot.
Mr.P is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy