Welcome back to us :/ Our hosts data center was down for the entire day.
MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > Performance and Modifications
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 09-07-2007, 08:51 PM   #1
is Good
Happy Boy
 
 is Good's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 68


Bike(s):
1000









Power Commander Or Not

Hey I just put a M-4 pipe on my GSXR-1000 and need to know what a power commander does....
 is Good is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My new Power Commander V. with turbo and power shifter Gixxer Geezer Health and Fitness 24 08-11-2011 01:52 PM
Power commander big750 General Discussion (Moto Related) 16 04-22-2011 09:21 AM
Power Commander landon05 General Discussion (Moto Related) 22 06-12-2009 09:32 AM
Should I REALLY get a Power Commander?? rod3rickj General Discussion (Moto Related) 7 08-25-2008 04:05 PM
Power Commander 03.gsxr.1000 Performance and Modifications 17 11-30-2007 04:10 PM
Advertisement
Old 09-07-2007, 09:15 PM   #2
Romeo36
Mother****ersi'llkillyou
 
Romeo36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: stinkadena
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 5,329

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
sv650,rc51,gsxr750,6oo,sdg107









Send a message via AIM to Romeo36
it allows you to change the fuel map so the bike runs more efficient with aftermarket exhausts and filters. basically mo power
Romeo36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 10:01 PM   #3
J-Row
Gold MemberŪ
 
J-Row's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Pearland
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 2,406

Experience: 8 years

Bike(s):
2007 1000RR, 2006 1000RR (STOLEN)









I kinda had the same question but when u put on an aftermarket pipe is it necessary or not really?!?
__________________
http://www.myspace.com/jrow1000rr
PGR #121546
J-Row is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 10:03 PM   #4
camaroz2866
Senior Member
 
camaroz2866's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 4,142

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 2

Bike(s):
2008 cbr1000rr









it will make the bike run a lot smoother and tune it for the modifications. even on a stock bike it will smooth out the rpm band. it alows to fine tune closed all the way to wot(wide open throttle) positions if you have any other questions call Motorcycles Unlimited and we can answer any questions you may have and get you prices and install and map it for you. hope that helps
also depending on the mods without pc3 the bike may run very poor, and when you get the pc3 it needs to be mapped properly
__________________
2008 cbr1000rr , 95 camaro z28, 2007gsxr750, 2003 busa le,99 r1,
97 gsxr 600(shrad)sold2005 r6 (sold)2001 camaro ss(sold),98 r1(sold), 00 f4(sold), ninja 250(sold),01 r6(sold)

Last edited by camaroz2866; 09-07-2007 at 10:04 PM. Reason: left out some things
camaroz2866 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 10:29 PM   #5
is Good
Happy Boy
 
 is Good's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 68


Bike(s):
1000









Thanks for the tip !!!!!!!!!!!!!
 is Good is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 10:38 PM   #6
Zrob25
Senior Member
 
Zrob25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 501












Go to www.fuelmotousa.com I got mine for like $250 and it came with a map specific to what I had on my bike. They are an authorized Dyno Jet testing facilaty. Beats paying $330 for the unit, then another $200 for a custom map. Another advantage is that if you keep your invoice # you can get different maps in the future.
__________________
"I'm your Huckleberry!"
Zrob25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 10:39 PM   #7
is Good
Happy Boy
 
 is Good's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 68


Bike(s):
1000









Cool will do
 is Good is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 10:51 PM   #8
camaroz2866
Senior Member
 
camaroz2866's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 4,142

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 2

Bike(s):
2008 cbr1000rr









every bike is diff. sometimes you have to play with the maps to get one that runs perfect on each specific bike, so yes sometimes that would work, but not all the time, just fyi, thats why when we put a map on the bike we test it and if its not perfect we finde the perfect one.
__________________
2008 cbr1000rr , 95 camaro z28, 2007gsxr750, 2003 busa le,99 r1,
97 gsxr 600(shrad)sold2005 r6 (sold)2001 camaro ss(sold),98 r1(sold), 00 f4(sold), ninja 250(sold),01 r6(sold)
camaroz2866 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 11:34 PM   #9
is Good
Happy Boy
 
 is Good's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 68


Bike(s):
1000









That is good to know....I will do that.........
 is Good is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 11:56 PM   #10
K5GSXR1000
Member
 
K5GSXR1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: dallas
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 85


Bike(s):
06 GSXR 1000 & 06 636 For Sale









go to the dealer or somebody that can change up your ecu for that pipe. Add all your goodies first and go tune it. A dealer wanted to charge $35 for it. Only suzuki has a reprogramable ecu I believe. call your dealer and check it out Just giving you another option

Last edited by K5GSXR1000; 09-08-2007 at 12:00 AM.
K5GSXR1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2007, 12:08 AM   #11
houseofpaint
PM for BESTPRICE on parts
 
houseofpaint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Spring, TX
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 9,486

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2010 Yamaha R1 racebike
2012 GSXR750 Racebike
2003 DRZ125 semiflattracker


Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to houseofpaint
Quote:
Originally Posted by K5GSXR1000 View Post
go to the dealer or somebody that can change up your ecu for that pipe. Add all your goodies first and go tune it. A dealer wanted to charge $35 for it. Only suzuki has a reprogramable ecu I believe. call your dealer and check it out Just giving you another option
go to sleep....your giving bad advice.

pc3 is a better option

will definately smooooth out your power band. but for the street, i'm not sure if it's a "necessary" item.
__________________
www.facebook.com/HouseOfPaintDesigns
Follow us on Instagram @hopdesigns

Custom Paint, Powdercoating, and Collision repair (Cars and bikes)[/b]
houseofpaint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2007, 01:26 AM   #12
camaroz2866
Senior Member
 
camaroz2866's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 4,142

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 2

Bike(s):
2008 cbr1000rr









when u start modding or want a smoother better running bike, yes it is well worth every penny, u spend say 10grand on a new bike and u would like to have it last as long as possible and run the best, so get a programer that can alow it to run its best and SAFELY, pc3 the way to go!!!!
__________________
2008 cbr1000rr , 95 camaro z28, 2007gsxr750, 2003 busa le,99 r1,
97 gsxr 600(shrad)sold2005 r6 (sold)2001 camaro ss(sold),98 r1(sold), 00 f4(sold), ninja 250(sold),01 r6(sold)
camaroz2866 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 03:25 PM   #13
jscstar13
Couldnt think of anything
 
jscstar13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Spring, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 245

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
05 R6, 400EX (sold), R1 - soon to come









my computer is in the 2nd story of my apartment and its a desktop. my garage is like 75 yards from me. can you down load the software from your computer to the usb p/c and then hook the p/c to the bike or does it all have to be installed before you can download the program? if so might be easier if I get a laptop computer.
jscstar13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 04:27 PM   #14
Slowkat
Nutty Buddy
 
Slowkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: North Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 791












Send a message via AIM to Slowkat
If you only installed a slip-on you shouldn't need a PC but with a full system, the bike runs like sh*t without one.
__________________
2003 GSX-R 750
Slowkat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 04:56 PM   #15
H2447INTX
H2447INTX-he is legendary
 
H2447INTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: angleton tx
Feedback Rating: (12)
Posts: 5,070

Experience: 6 years

Bike(s):
2011 kingquad 750axi
08 H.D.Softail Deluxe



Member Garage





^YES THEY DO, GET IT MAPPED, TAKE IT TO PATTRIC! AND PAY TO HAVE IT DYNO TUNED!
__________________
H2447INTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 09:38 PM   #16
camaroz2866
Senior Member
 
camaroz2866's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 4,142

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 2

Bike(s):
2008 cbr1000rr









Quote:
Originally Posted by Slowkat View Post
If you only installed a slip-on you shouldn't need a PC but with a full system, the bike runs like sh*t without one.



actualy with the way bikes are now they run crapy even with just a slip on, to make it run perfect you need pc3
__________________
2008 cbr1000rr , 95 camaro z28, 2007gsxr750, 2003 busa le,99 r1,
97 gsxr 600(shrad)sold2005 r6 (sold)2001 camaro ss(sold),98 r1(sold), 00 f4(sold), ninja 250(sold),01 r6(sold)
camaroz2866 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 09:48 PM   #17
houseofpaint
PM for BESTPRICE on parts
 
houseofpaint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Spring, TX
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 9,486

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2010 Yamaha R1 racebike
2012 GSXR750 Racebike
2003 DRZ125 semiflattracker


Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to houseofpaint
Quote:
Originally Posted by camaroz2866 View Post
actualy with the way bikes are now they run crapy even with just a slip on, to make it run perfect you need pc3
actually....they run crappy factory....without any mods, the pc3 will still smooth the power of the bike out.

if i were to get another bike, i think the first mod would have to be a pc3
__________________
www.facebook.com/HouseOfPaintDesigns
Follow us on Instagram @hopdesigns

Custom Paint, Powdercoating, and Collision repair (Cars and bikes)[/b]
houseofpaint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 10:15 PM   #18
eugene
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SW Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,446












i say for a street application...very unnecessary. not really worth the money to get the pciii and then get it tuned. if for track use...then yes you should. but i would recommend getting all the modifications you want on it first, then get it tuned, therefore you save money. if you just get the slip on now...tune it and then add something else, you would most likely have to retune it to get the best results.
eugene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 05:41 AM   #19
camaroz2866
Senior Member
 
camaroz2866's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 4,142

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 2

Bike(s):
2008 cbr1000rr









eigene:if your refering to dynotuning it that gains you maybe 1or 2 more hp that a already done up tune for your specific aplication. so you could either a pay 250-500 to get it dyno tuned for that exra 1hp that you will never feel or see. and yes as houseofpain stated even factory getting a pc3 will make a big difference, if u want proof,..... buy one and get it mapped correctly by someone who knows how to set it up right and you will notice a diff.
__________________
2008 cbr1000rr , 95 camaro z28, 2007gsxr750, 2003 busa le,99 r1,
97 gsxr 600(shrad)sold2005 r6 (sold)2001 camaro ss(sold),98 r1(sold), 00 f4(sold), ninja 250(sold),01 r6(sold)
camaroz2866 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 08:08 AM   #20
eugene
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SW Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,446












oh, then i stand corrected
eugene is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy