Welcome back to us :/ Our hosts data center was down for the entire day.
MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 08-30-2007, 05:40 PM   #1
andre3k
I see dead people...
 
andre3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 2,798












Carb question for 2001 R6

I bought a tank off ebay and installed it on my track bike, low and behold its full of rust and mildew. Should have looked into it before the install. Anyway, Bike runs good for about 5 mins and then its sputters and dies. Tried to restart and its gas out the vent tube, and my whole garage smells like a fuel dump. This is when I checked the tank and saw the rust.

Take everything off and pull the carbs and the float bowls are nasty. I disassemple the carbs but don't mess with the air mixture screws or anything, as my bike was jetted and running perfect before this whole mess. I cleaned them in a parts washer taking out floats, needles, jets, slide, etc. Carbs are now spotless, plus I put in a new fuel filter. I put it all back together and my bike now starts but idles rough, it's certainly rideable but it idles like it wants to die. the idle speed screw really doesn't help much.

Do I need to synchronize the carbs after pulling them apart and cleaning. I read over on the R6 forum that its mandatory after doing a carb job, but that means buying that carb sync tool, which I'll probably only use this one time.
Any ideas on the carb sync?
andre3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
R1 Carb Question sborris How To's and Q & A's 3 09-29-2011 12:17 AM
carb problem question paniro187 Dirtbikes, Mini's, ATV's..... 20 03-29-2011 04:06 AM
r6 carb tuning beaterR6 How To's and Q & A's 8 04-14-2008 10:24 AM
Carb Question derrex How To's and Q & A's 24 03-21-2008 09:33 PM
Carb question 90 5.0 How To's and Q & A's 10 11-19-2007 09:36 AM
Advertisement
Old 08-30-2007, 06:08 PM   #2
indoMLA
If it's free, it's for me
 
indoMLA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The Dirty Third
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 908

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
'02 Yamaha R6 - SOLD









to be on the safe side, I would sychronize the carbs... they are real easy to come out of sync...
but you can always try and see if you can go without the sync...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clayton9698
...... but when i have problems being able to screw other things i normally tie them up and lube the out of it. dont be afraid do get rough with it. if you cant handle it with the tool you have maybe the task is to hard for you. in which case if could be time for some tag team action and maybe even a foursome...
indoMLA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 06:42 PM   #3
level5
moving chicane
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 5,825












You probably mess the float and now it has a little too much of gas. Floats needs to be where the specs says or flooding the carb is an issue. You don't need to sync if you haven't loosen any butterfly screws.
level5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 07:22 PM   #4
andre3k
I see dead people...
 
andre3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 2,798












Quote:
Originally Posted by level5 View Post
You probably mess the float and now it has a little too much of gas. Floats needs to be where the specs says or flooding the carb is an issue. You don't need to sync if you haven't loosen any butterfly screws.
What are butterfly screws?
andre3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 07:26 PM   #5
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,368

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






Billy,
Give me a call in the a.m. and I'll walk you through it. Also, check to make sure you don't have a vacuum leak. R6's are a pain to get the boots all of the way tight, especially #3.
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 07:45 PM   #6
level5
moving chicane
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 5,825












Quote:
Originally Posted by andre3k View Post
What are butterfly screws?
screws that adjust the opening of throttle valve
level5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 08:12 PM   #7
andre3k
I see dead people...
 
andre3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 2,798












Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick View Post
Billy,
Give me a call in the a.m. and I'll walk you through it. Also, check to make sure you don't have a vacuum leak. R6's are a pain to get the boots all of the way tight, especially #3.

I may just drop it off and let your guys work on it. But the boots practically disappear when you put the carbs back on. But I tightened them best I could. TWS (Texas World Speedway) is coming up and I need to get this thing running by then.
andre3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 08:48 PM   #8
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,368

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






Bring it by, I'll get it fixed for you in time for the track day.
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 09:37 PM   #9
H2447INTX
H2447INTX-he is legendary
 
H2447INTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: angleton tx
Feedback Rating: (12)
Posts: 5,070

Experience: 6 years

Bike(s):
2011 kingquad 750axi
08 H.D.Softail Deluxe



Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by level5 View Post
You probably mess the float and now it has a little too much of gas. Floats needs to be where the specs says or flooding the carb is an issue. You don't need to sync if you haven't loosen any butterfly screws.
THIS IS MOST LIKELY THE PROBLEM, CHECK THE FLOAT LEVEL IN EACH CARB, CHECK ALL THE NEEDLES TOO, WORST CASE HAVE PATRICK TUNE IT FOR YA!
__________________
H2447INTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy